We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guest house with excellent service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glyn Garth Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glyn Garth Guest House
Ranked #5 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great guest house with excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Would definitely recommend, found the hotel to really welcoming, rooms are great, bathroom was superb and service was excellent.

I have stayed at this place three times and even at thhee most busiest time of year, the rooms have been thouroughly cleaned before my arrival

The hotel offers a range of breakfasts which you can ask to be cooked ready for you the next morning.

It is also situated right next to the beach, Castle ruins and the Castle pub, which is perfect for people who don't particular want to stray too far from the hotel

The only fault I can pick up on is the small toilet/shower room - Can be quite claustrophic for some, however the positive atmosphere, Tv, Wi-fi, quality furnishings combined with driink-making facilites would make this place a fine choice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicariousOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    24
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
42
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I recently stayed at the Glyn Garth Guest House as I had to visit Aberystwyth for a family occasion. I found the staff extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms were beautifully decorated and homely. The standard of the breakfast was excellent. The Glyn Garth is situated right by the castle remains so it is close to the town centre but also in a quieter location if that is what you are looking for. There are alot of stairs inside so it may not be suitable for the less mobile bur I'm sure that if notified in advance they would advise you and do whatever they could to assist you. I would definately stay here again and would happily recommend it. to others.
Sandra Fowler

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights to submit my dissertation. Very comfortable and affordable! Had everything you would need at an excellent price! Staff were very friendly and helpful, and they provided a lovely hearty breakfast despite the fact I overslept and missed normal serving times! Would fully recommend - I have stayed here twice now and the rooms were spotless and very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent just one night here this week and were delighted to find a clean, cosy, welcoming guest house, ideally located for the seafront and shops. Our twin room contained a double and single bed and was furnished for all our needs with comfortable chairs, flat-screen TV and ample tea/coffee making facilities. The bedding was clean and fresh.
The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was tasty and plentiful. We would highly recommend the Glyn Garth and will certainly go back again ourselves!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyWootton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great location. Stayed overnight to meet up with Grandson in Aber Uni. Fabulous room, comfy bed. Everything so clean and well looked after. Owner very helpful re our queries re launderette etc for grandson, plus other tips . Lovely breakfast. Would have liked a shower curtain/ shower holder over bath??

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesNathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I visited this b&b for a night stay whilst on business in the area. From the outside it was being renovated with new painting, windows and signing which looked like a fresh new look for the house, after seeing older photos on trip advisor. The room I stayed in had also been looked after just as well with fresh sheets and clean towels daily. The breakfast was a great start to my day...especially the fruit salad and is also within walking distance to the town centre and university and government offices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire120Falkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a brilliant time. The room was lovely with new recently installed windows, the owner was very nice and helpful, the breakfast was outstanding, but unfortunately the weather was not! Great location right next to the harbour, the castle and the beach. Good pubs with top quality ales only a 2 minute walk away and also some nice restaurants in the area too. Regardless of the weather it was still a lovely place to stay and we will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: The top floors lacked wifi access but I was assured that this would be installed for the upper rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLawson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
11.9 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maes-Y-Mor
Maes-Y-Mor
#6 of 36 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn Garth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn Garth Guest House

Property: Glyn Garth Guest House
Address: Glyn-Garth South Road, Aberystwyth SY23 1JS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn Garth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits all who find us at Glyn-Garth. This AA Four Star guest house has been run by the Evans Family for over 55 years, welcoming old and new guests to their well maintained establishment. Glyn-Garth is situated near to the quiet end of the promenade, adjacent to the South Beach. Close by are the Castle, Marina / Harbour, Town Centre & Bus / Railway Station. Glyn-Garth is a perfect base for exploring the delights of Mid Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Glyn Garth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn Garth Guest House Hotel Aberystwyth
Glyn Garth Guest House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing