We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberystwyth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shoreline Guest House
Ranked #2 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Comfortable room, nice breakfast, friendly hosts. Good value for money. Woke up to a wild and windy sea but the double glazing kept the weather out.
Very much a homage to the great passenger liners of the first half of the 20th century with interesting photographs

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front rooms, with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    114
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
106
148
70
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very friendly owners, brilliant location, nice breakfast - but in my opinion the whole place needs a really good 'fettling". Unfortunately my room wasn't ensuite (this had been explained before) but did have a useful wash basin. In the event, the high Trip Advisor rating surprised me and was at odds with the entirety of my previous experience. Value for money was just about reasonable.

But the owners are really nice people!

Room Tip: The location on the sea front is brilliant and it's close to the town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbie-Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at the shoreline hotel in July 2013 it was my partners 40th our friends came with us we had a fantastic time .candy and lenny were great they made us feel really well come and the breakfast was really good. we had a seaview room with ensuite which was very good and very clean.the hotel is on the seafront and only 5min walk from the town .will definitely be going back .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Son recommended this sea front hotel, was not disappointed. Owners were welcoming and very friendly. They made my stay friendly and relaxed, lovely touch of providing a welcome bowl of biscuits for my tired and aged mutt, and clean fresh towels everyday. Breakfast is a gastronomic feast, with wonderful views, this year shared with dolphins in the bay.

Ground floor room was clean, comfortable and homely, only downside was the noise from people going for breakfast but more an incentive to wake than an annoying intrusion.

I would book this hotel again and recommend it to anyone visiting Aber, it felt more like staying with friends than just a hotel. Can't wait to stay later in the year. Plus my dog loved the attention.

Room Tip: If you have a dog the ground floor room is brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were looking for a short break away and headed straight for the Shoreline again, hadn't been for 2 years, but the welcome was as warm as ever - the only difference being a new slim line Lenny!!!
Our en-suite was comfortable and welcoming with tea and coffee making facilities, as well as bottled water.
Lenny and Candi have also upgraded the dvd's to a booklet now, so you can pick and choose more easily.
The breakfast was as ever Fantastic, and left us fully charged for the day!!!
If you ever find your self in Aberystwyth and need a place to stay, I cannot recommend The Shoreline highly enough....It's a comfortable, friendly base to visit Wales, and a home from home if you're a more regular visitor.
Here's hoping we get more chances to visit in the future!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are rented very quickly, but the 'rear' rooms are just as comfortable, and sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bezzabsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having stayed in shoreline many times in the past; when I organized a conference in Aberystwyth this summer, I was naturally keen to book my international visitors into Shoreline to give them a great base from which to start each day. I knew they would enjoy the proximity to the beach, sea, castle and the harbor, all out of the way of traffic and pedestrians in a quiet environment, good for helping attendees formulate their thoughts before giving their lectures and taking on board new ideas from the other delegates. The delegates from the USA were particularly blown away by the close proximity of the sea and one from Michigan even gave an impromptu lecture stood on the beach with other delegates sat on the prom with their feet dangling down towards the pebbles beneath. The availability of WiFi let delegates catch up with their their colleagues around the world after breakfast and Shoreline was used as the meeting place for other delegates who were staying elsewhere in Aberystwyth to meet up prior to moving on to our conference venues. Candy was a great host to the additional visitors arriving after breakfast and even allowed us to start our discussions in the breakfast room with its bay window overlooking the beach and sea, before we all set out and even provided her additional visitors with tea and coffee as they arrived. The only problem I encountered as the conference organizer was keeping the attendees on the move as they left Shoreline, because they all had cameras and were so blown away by the views that they all wanted to take loads of photographs!

Room Tip: The rooms in the front having stunning views over the bay and some rooms have a bay window in which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

this hotel is in a great location overlooking the sea and just minutes away from the town centre. the rooms are cleaned everyday and although basic you do have your own tele and a wash basin, the showers are shared. the breakfast is excellent ,the owners are really nice , I would recommend this hotel for its location and value for money. we had a fantastic weekend and will be back next year.

Room Tip: because of its location the rooms are all quiet, but ask for a sea view if available because the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pudseybecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maes-Y-Mor
Maes-Y-Mor
#6 of 36 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Guest House

Property: Shoreline Guest House
Address: 6 South Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 1JX, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guesthouse for over 20yrs, situated on the south beach between the castle ruins and the harbour. 20 yds from the beach with unspoilt views of the picturesque cardigan bay, 5 minutes walk from town centre, 10 minutes from the bus and train station and 2 minutes walk to the rivers ystwyth and rheidol running into the harbour and marina. A Warm and Friendly Welcome Awaits ALL. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shoreline Guest House Hotel Aberystwyth
Shoreline Guest House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing