We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Marks! A real find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberystwyth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yr Hafod Guest House
Ranked #7 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our short stay in Aberystwyth turned out to be the perfect holiday - and not just because of the glorious weather! Yr Hafod and John provided all the things you hope you'll find in a good B&B. The sight and sound of the sea just a few yards away, wonderfully comfortable bed, quality furniture in a perfectly decorated room, spotlessly clean bathroom with fresh white towels and quality produce for breakfast (even the bread). We will definitely plan any trips to Aberystwyth around the availability of a room at Yr Hafod.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 111 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

On a day trip to Aberystwyth with my mother we decided to find a B&B and were really pleased to have been recommended Yr Hafod by tourist information.
Yr Hafod is situated on the seafront at the end of South Marine Terrace.
On entering it is obviously a very clean establishment. Don't be put off by signs of redecoration works............these are on going and wont impact on your stay.
We stayed in room 5 ,a twin, at the rear of 2nd floor. It was spotlessly clean, newly decorated and had the nicest en-suite shower room. Ample hanging space in the wardrobe, a vanity sink in the corner of the room, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and chocolates and bottled water , flat screen TV, all in all it was very comfortable.
Breakfast the following morning was plentiful and well cooked..............I didn't need to eat again until evening.
We found John the owner to be friendly and helpful and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Last minute decision to get to the beach one Friday evening saw me trawl through the web for guest houses in Aberystwyth (being the closest sea-side town to my home that has decent places to eat). I fired off emails to half-a-dozen B&Bs in the town and John at Yr Hafod was the first to reply with availability of a double room with a sea view. I snapped his hand off! On arrival on the hottest weekend of the year so far, we pulled up outside the Yr Hafod and was immediately happy at the location; next to the castle and facing the shoreline. We were shown to our room and was overjoyed at the aspect; a big bay window looking out to sea. The room was clean and well-appointed (better TV than mine at home). Good clean en-suite shower and WC and a bed with a mattress exactly as I like it. The weather was hot and sunny, so we crossed the road in font of the establishment and enjoyed the sea and sun. After a couple of hours, we wandered back up the room to shower and change then set off to find a place to eat (we found an excellent tapas place). Took a bottle of wine back to the room and sat and watched the sunset from our bay window. The room had two comfortable chairs located in the bay for this very purpose. It was wonderfully relaxing! After a great night's sleep, we wandered down to an excellent full Welsh breakfast with lashings of toast made with very good artisan bread and coffee just the way I like it. Here I met John who turned out to be a really nice bloke with an excellent sense of humour. We chatted for a good while and he made us feel right at home.

This was a perfect getaway for me. Nothing could be improved. The location and vista were worth the money on their own. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellingtonTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had to make a last minute booking for a busy weekend and found a twin en-suite room here. The room was lovely and the shower amazing! Breakfast was excellent and John is a very good and friendly host.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the sea view which is always a plus. Our en-suite was one of the best we hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great value considering that the guest house is directly opposite the beach!
Very clean and tidy. Served excellent breakfasts. Very friendly host. This is a highly recommended place to stay when in Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trek8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A very comfortable Guest House situated on the seafront with excellent views. We had an ensuite room with a bay window and seaview with two comfortable leather chairs to sit and enjoy the view. The room was very clean and well decorated with ample supplies including bottled water and chocolates.The host John was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for him.He provides a very good variety of breakfasts from Continental to full cooked.Comfortable,Clean,Friendly--What more can you want.We'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAZEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night in May.
The room was very comfortable, the bathroom as luxurious as most 5star hotels.
The breakfast was lovely with really delicious toast.
I believe it is run by a perfectionist as everything was very high quality.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn Garth Guest House
Glyn Garth Guest House
#2 of 36 in Aberystwyth
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maes-Y-Mor
Maes-Y-Mor
#6 of 36 in Aberystwyth
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yr Hafod Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yr Hafod Guest House

Address: 1 South Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 1JX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Hotel Class:4 star — Yr Hafod Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Yr Hafod Guest House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing