We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views - and great value!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberystwyth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yr Hafod Guest House
Ranked #8 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great views - and great value!”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

I stayed here in early April 2011 (so low season) with a friend. We hadn't booked anywhere in the town and so drove to the seafront and looked around there. Yr Hafod was perfect for us. They had availability for two single guests, and although neither room was en-suite, each was spotlessly clean and equipped with a basin and comfortable chair. No single supplements were charged, which was a pleasant surprise.

My single room overlooked the sea and had great views.

The breakfast in the morning was brilliant. We had the full Welsh breakfast, but other options were available.

All in all, I was very pleased to find Yr Hafod and will certainly stay there again, should I ever be in Aberystwyth again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevynselyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
41
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in September 2010. The room was modern , clean and with a great view over Cardigan Bay- We watched the dolphins one day and the storm and waves rolling in the next.

John has upgraded the hotel to a high standard. Nice touch having bottled water and chocolates on arrival. The room has tea making facilities and comfy Ikea chairs where we relaxed and watching the sunset.

John served a wonderful breakfast- a choice of cereals and egg and bacn. He is a wonderful host with a great sense of humour.

Plenty of parking just outside and a quick walk through the Castle and into town.

We have stayed in a number of places in Aberystwyth including on the Promenade- Yr Hafod is by far the best. We look forward to staying here again on our next visit .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaV11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
143 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

This place is being improved to a high and exacting standard. The rooms available are well appointed, spotless and the place is quiet. It is on the bay itself and a few minutes walk into town. The owner is attentive and evidently devoted to his B & B-the care and attention to detail in his work is exemplary. It is a place of high standards.
(On another note, of all the reviews of B&B accomodation in Aberystwyth, there are no more than 30 reviews per place, yet the one deemed to be number 2 has 147 reviews-that strikes me as not quite right and maybe Tripadvisor should investigate this huge disparity)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarksdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed two nights in the Yr Hafod Guest House during our Wales trip.
At our arrival, we were welcomed by out host John in German and with our name, a very warm welcome. We stayed in Room 6, which is on the second floor and which provides a very nice sea view.
The room was spacious and it apperas that it was just refurbished within the last monthes. The bathroom was also very mordern, and everything was very clean.
The room provides some tea and coffee making facilites.

There was refurbishing work going on in the guest house, the room besides us was completly redone and on the first floor several rooms were also under refurbishment. But there was no problem with noise the time we stayed there.

The Yr Hafod Guest House is located at the promenade directly besides the Castle, you can just walk along the promenade or find your way inside the town very quickly. Parking can be done on the street dreictly in fron of the guest house.

Breakfast is served in a room with sea view and is very tasty.

The only little drawback is that no WiFi is available, if this would be there, it would be the perfect place to stay. But nayway, we can always recomment this place, we would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoeNoeBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Clean room with great sea view - shame we couldn't see anything through the mist (but that's not Yr Hafod's fault!).

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knitteddiabolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, Surrey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Lovely room, with modern feel and recently re-done. Right on the sea front, which was a pleasant surprise.

Owner, John, has a brilliant sense of humour and the welcome manual is worth a read.

Would recommend and would suggest visiting Gannets Bistro nearby - what a feast!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs_frimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We arrived at Yr Hafod early one morning after booking three nights B&B at another guest house in Aberystwyth which was so bad we just couldn't stay there when we arrived
Luckily for us John had a vacancy at Yr Hafod and when we saw the wonderful sea view room we were overjoyed. The room was spacious and clean with a wash hand basin and a lovely bathroom close by. There were a few special touches in the room such as the chocolates and a bottle of complimentary Welsh water.
Th breakfast was also of a very good standard with a good choice of cereals, a full Welsh breakfast with plenty of toast and tea or coffee. On our last morning just to make a fantastic stay perfect we saw dolphins playing around in the sea as we were eating our breakfast.

  • Liked — The view from the bedroom window.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymraes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glyn Garth Guest House
Glyn Garth Guest House
#3 of 36 in Aberystwyth
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yr Hafod Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yr Hafod Guest House

Property: Yr Hafod Guest House
Address: 1 South Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 1JX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Hotel Class:4 star — Yr Hafod Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Yr Hafod Guest House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing