We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vale of Rheidol Railway

Vale of Rheidol Railway
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Travelling on the Vale of Rheidol Railway is the finest way to see the stunning Rheidol Valley. We pass through wide open fields,woodland and rugged mountain scenery as the line twists and turns clinging to the hillside gradually climbing nearly 700ft (200m)from Aberystwyth to reach our destination at Devil’s Bridge. Birds of prey such as Red Kite and Buzzards are regularly seensoaring high above the valley floor and breathtaking views can beenjoyed by all.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quaint and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The scenery from Aberystwyth to Devils Bridge, through Cwm Rheidol, is beautiful and the steam train journey in open carriages was huge fun. Friendly locals giving a welcoming wave as we passed and the glorious water falls a climax of the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doleos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rheidolrailway, Public Relations Manager at Vale of Rheidol Railway, responded to this review, April 5, 2016
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the railway and hope you'll visit us again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    194
    30
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

If you like steam train rides through beautiful rolling hillsides then this is for you. We took the dog and although a little difficult getting him out, he enjoyed it. We felt it was a bit expensive. Cafe at the other end, rustic but lovely. Took the 2pm train, after the hour journey we went to go around the waterfall walk but only just had time to rush around before the last train back at 4pm. Lovely looking hotel tea room opposite exit from walk but we'd no time left, shame.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 24ShaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rheidolrailway, Public Relations Manager at Vale of Rheidol Railway, responded to this review, April 5, 2016
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the railway and hope you'll visit us again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited the VoR Railway in October. It was easy to get to and easy to park.
The railway itself is good for enthusiast and non-enthusiast alike, there are stunning views throughout the train ride. Getting a seat on the enclosed coaches recommended when it's nippy is a good plan as the open coach is very exposed.
Once at the other end of the railway there are places to eat. Out of season you have either less than an hour or about four hours to spend exploring before the train returns. Going back on the first return train doesn't give you enough time but on a colder or rainy day waiting four hours for the second train leaves you with too much time.
My only criticism is they allow dogs onto the enclosed coaches which may not be to everyone's liking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moviegeek_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rheidolrailway, Public Relations Manager at Vale of Rheidol Railway, responded to this review, April 5, 2016
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the railway and hope you'll visit us again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“By far the best trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Try the veil of rheidol railway by far one of our best days out in aberystwyh.little cafe and a nice walk at the top can recomend highly worth every penny

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank loztheaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rheidolrailway, Public Relations Manager at Vale of Rheidol Railway, responded to this review, April 5, 2016
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the railway and hope you'll visit us again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Ride on Restored Steam Railway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Scenic 11 or so mile ride through forests and fields ending at Devils Bridge.. Restored steam powered locomotive and cars. Goes up a small mountain with scenic views of lakes and forests below. Red tailed kites were seen along the route. You can open the car windows and take pictures. Not much to see at Devils Bridge, a small falls visible from the bridge. However, you could take a scenic hike there if you had more time (train stops for less than one half hour). The cost was reasonable and we enjoyed the small restaurants and shops at the stop near Devil's Bridge. Overall this was one of the special highlights of our trip to Aberystwyth. We would do this again if we were in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank k_jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rheidolrailway, Public Relations Manager at Vale of Rheidol Railway, responded to this review, April 5, 2016
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the railway and hope you'll visit us again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vale of Rheidol Railway also viewed

 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Vale of Rheidol Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing