We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views”

Vale of Rheidol Railway
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Travelling on the Vale of Rheidol Railway is the finest way to see the stunning Rheidol Valley. We pass through wide open fields,woodland and rugged mountain scenery as the line twists and turns clinging to the hillside gradually climbing nearly 700ft (200m)from Aberystwyth to reach our destination at Devil’s Bridge. Birds of prey such as Red Kite and Buzzards are regularly seensoaring high above the valley floor and breathtaking views can beenjoyed by all.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time on the train, amazing views that you can't see from the roads on the mountains. Sit on the lefthandside on the way up otherwise you will be on the bank side. We had an ice cream at the shop opposite the station, took photos and waited for the train to go down again. We took the car another day to go to the falls, well worth the money as it takes one hour each way.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank womanofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rheidolrailway, Public Relations Manager at Vale of Rheidol Railway, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Thanks for your review. Pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit to the railway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    197
    32
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

A fun trip on a steam train. Worth paying extra for first class as smaller carriage with more 'discerning' clientèle! Didnt have time to do anything at Devils Bridge other that have a cream tea at the cafe, so would really need to get a later train back if you wanted to to walk to the punchbowl or waterfall without rushing. Try to sit on the left going out and right coming back for the best views.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmy-Lu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rheidolrailway, Public Relations Manager at Vale of Rheidol Railway, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Thanks for your review. Pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit to the railway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

July 11th was my second time making the journey on the train, but the first time I made the walk down to the falls. As usual, beautiful scenery through the Rheidol valley - and an equally stunning walk down to the Mynach falls. Keep in mind the nature of the walk if you're going down to the falls - the stone steps of Jacob's Ladder, etc. are extremely steep, and somewhat narrow. The walk is probably not suitable for the very young, or the elderly. I and my travelling companions aren't in the best of shape, and we found it difficult, though completely worth it! Wear sneakers or other appropriate walking shoes - I wouldn't risk going in flip-flops or flimsy sandals.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aleanbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rheidolrailway, Public Relations Manager at Vale of Rheidol Railway, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Thanks for your review. Pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit to the railway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Winding up the Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

On a very busy Monday for the railway with large number of visitors arriving the management reacted quickly to add additional carriages to the train to take there hundred passengers up the valley. The day was helped by fine weather and allowed spendid views across the valley and the adequate time was available to view the falls at the end of the line. One of the best days of the holiday!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rheidolrailway, Public Relations Manager at Vale of Rheidol Railway, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Thanks for your review. Pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit to the railway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

An amazing jurney to and from. We had a brilliant ride, even me getting covered in soot. Was the best day of the holiday

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmslc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rheidolrailway, Public Relations Manager at Vale of Rheidol Railway, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Thanks for your review. Pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit to the railway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vale of Rheidol Railway also viewed

 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Vale of Rheidol Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing