We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous as always”
Review of Y Ffarmers

Y Ffarmers
Ranked #10 of 148 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: British, Pub, Welsh, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A food-led pub in the pretty village of Llanfihangel y Creuddyn just outside Aberystwyth, serving good homemade meals using local, seasonal produce.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous as always”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Farmers Arms / Y Ffarmers is an atmospheric and cosy pub which offers excellent food set in a rural picturesque village. The restaurant is more up-market than your average traditional pub and the staff are always pleasant and helpful - definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    46
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy, clean and good food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose this place as it had good reviews on here and we were not disappointed. An average size menu with a good balanced choice of food (which I like because too many choices makes it difficult to choose something and makes one suspicious that no home-cooking is involved!)

My husband and I shared the delicious starter of home-made chicken liver pate and chutney with some gorgeous nutty bread which we found perfect in quantity as we wanted some space left for the puddings!!! For main meals we had the beer battered fish, the beef burger and the leek and butternut squash lasagne - all were excellent and served with home-cooked chips and peas /salad.

The puddings were all home-made too and were excellent. I will definitely be having the lemon cheesecake next time!

Would we return? Yes - excellent quality and very reasonably priced. Good prompt service too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueChapman39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“better than average pub meal”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

not what youd expect from the front, the pub is extended and bright and airy while retaining a traditional feel, meals were all delicious, good sized portions, served in a timely manner andby friendly staff. 4 of us had 3 courses and 2 drinks each and a bill of £100, excellent value for a more than decent meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jodiejoe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a meal for 2 and the atmosphere was good, restaurant was busy/lively and the food was excellent. Staff lovely. Can't fault it. Thanks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hootchersone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth the journey.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having read Trip Advisor reviews for places to eat in Ceredigion in advance of our holiday, we decided that Y Ffarmers would be well worth the 50 minute drive from where we were staying - and we weren't disappointed. The pub is located in very beautiful remote countryside and is very charming and welcoming with very friendly staff. The food was of excellent quality using fantastic local ingredients and good value for money - puddings (chocolate pot and lime posset) were especially amazing. It was a nice touch that all the breads and pickles are also made in the kitchen. Definitely worth the trip, we had a very special evening out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrst370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Ffarmers also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Y Ffarmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing