We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, with some niggles (would have given 3/4*)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodlands Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views, with some niggles (would have given 3/4*)”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at the campsite from Monday to Friday in the last week of July, and got an impression of the campsite with different numbers of people. I camped with two families who created the points below, with these views shared by all of them.

Pros:
-Beautiful views, rolling hills, stunning sunsets, and grazing sheep
-Very clean when campers are few
-The site is decorated with lovely statues
-Large area of open land good for playing and eating on
-Separated from caravan area
-Has a lovely cafe/restaurant
-Near to local attractions like "Devil's bridge"
-The weather was lovely and sunny almost constantly during our holiday
-Looks better than it does on the website

Cons:
-The toilets are not particularly clean in the peak times (Friday/weekend)
-The shower and toilet block is a portacabin, which does reduce the washing facility quality a little; they also struggle to facilitate the amount of people who come in peak times (a new shower block is being built for August 2014, with better washing facilities-it looks great even in construction-)
-The play area only consists of a climbing frame and slide (the children still really enjoyed the holiday however, and this equipment was great for them to use)
-The campsite rules were not enforced during peak times (i.e people were making loud noises at 12:30 at night when the campsite asks for people to make little noise after 10:30)
-There are swarms of biting midges- this can be made less prominent by lighting a disposable BBQ, or by using lots of midge repellent
-The sheep can be very loud at night, but do not seriously prevent sleep

Overall however, it was certainly one of the best sites for all ages and group sizes I've been to. The site itself was lovely for the most part, and the local attractions ( "Devils bridge", a waterfall, steam train, and the local seaside towns) were wonderful for all the family.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina H, General Manager at The Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. You certainly gave it some thought and we appreciate all your comments.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed the surrounding attractions and scenery.
We are always trying to improve to make peoples stay even better. We realise that our toilet facilities were outdated and we can't wait for the new shower block to be finished; hopefully by Easter 2014.
Keep enjoying your camping holidays and perhaps you will visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devil's Bridge (Pontarfynach), United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Have spend several holidays here. Great scenery and walks nearby. Very happy with our stay :)
The shower block is a bit dated.. But a wonderful new one is being build as I type this review!
No need to worry about what kids are up to. There is plenty for them to do, exploring and playing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambrianSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina H, General Manager at The Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your great review. The new toilet block is well under way and should make a huge difference to your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have just stayed for 3 nights with the caravan. Very quiet, very good for walking, lovely scenery. Waterfalls and devils bridge minutes away. Lovely getaway. Shower block and toilets were fine but do need to be updated which I know they have planned for next year.If you like the outdoors you will love it here. Its 12 miles from aberystwyth so not to far to travel by road or by train, which the station is just down the road. I would go back for a relaxing holiday again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Just had a fabulous weekend at The Woodlands Caravan Park, the weather was great, the Scenery stunning, and the site was welcoming and friendly, it has a really nice atmosphere, it was relatively quiet, although I can imagine it will start to get busier into the seasons but saying that the pitches are well spaced out, and although we didn't have children with us, it looks like a very child friendly site, there are some great walks directly from the site, and with the Devils Bridge waterfalls within a few minutes walking distance this site is really in a perfect position. I have read another trip advisor review complaining about being asked to keep noise down after 10.30 pm - well isn't this a good thing especially as it is a family site ? Also isn't it a legal requirement that caravan / tents etc have to be at least 20ft apart, who wants to be all bunched up together - I certainly don't so very glad that the site does stick to the legal rules!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mini05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We camped over a glorious sunny weekend in July 2011. The camping field has fantastic scenery and it is very peaceful. The pitches were good sized and relatively flat. The wardens were very friendly and the place was well kept. Toilet and washing facilities were in a portacabin type building but were clean and perfectly acceptable

The wildlife is great with Red Kites soaring overhead and woodpeckers could be heard in the distance. The kids (5 & 8) loved exporing the site and capturing minibeasts! The site also has c100 static caravans (privately owned and not for rent).

There is small cafe/shop at the entrance which is independent from the campsite - nice homemade cakes. Devils Bridge is not large but has the following, within a few minutes walk:

Hafod Hotel - this operates as an hotel, restaurant, tearooms and bar. Our experience of the food is good although the decor could be improved. Good outside seating area above the falls.

Post office & general stores - A really useful but small shop that stocks what you need. (The nearest supermarket is in Aberystwyth!)

A few cafes & station for the Rheidol railway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woody_clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The caravan park is suitable for tourers and tents who are staying short term and also has a small static area for dedicated customers. Not a particularly big site, you can walk around the whole perimeter within 5 mins.

There's an over priced shop/cafe at the entrance that serves hot breakfasts till noon.

Whilst the surrounding areas of the site are really scenic, and easy to access, there's nothing on the caravan park to keep you entertained. We were abit disappointed to find that all tents/tourers are ordered to silence after 10:30pm (abit difficult when there's 8 of you drinking and enjoying your hol)

There's a small activity walk about 50 meters from the site called Devil's Bridge. It costs £3.50 per person and takes about 90 mins to complete. Its a good laff and worth doing. Also, the mountain facing immediately south from the site can be accessed from the field you stay on, and has cracking views from the top.

We were also abit disappointed to find that on our 2nd day, we were ordered to move our tent because the warden had been told by a customer that our tent was 'too close' to their caravan (of which was 15 feet away).. so that took up the best part of 2 hours to fix.

There's loads of nats/mosquito's so don't forget your repellant. Dogs must be on leads and whilst their website promotes that there is a lake close by... there isn't !!

We made our own entertainment, and had a laugh, however, won't be returning again anytime soon. Its just too quiet for our liking. =)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jjh2588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberystwyth
10.3 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
311 reviews
3.2 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
143 reviews
10.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
302 reviews
10.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hafod Hotel
The Hafod Hotel
#2 of 2 in Devil's Bridge (Pontarfynach)
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Caravan Park

Property: The Woodlands Caravan Park
Address: Devil's Bridge, Aberystwyth SY23 3JW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands Caravan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Caravan Park is a family run site with a friendly atmosphere. The site is situated 300 yards from the spectacular Devils Bridge Waterfalls and has beautiful views of the Welsh mountains and valleys. The site adjoins the family run farm and guests are welcome to walk on the farm lane to enjoy the fresh air and scenic views. There is a camp shop and tea room on site with home baked cakes and bread. This is an ideal base for birdwatching, walking, biking and fishing. Sorry no pets allowed in the self catering bungalow but dogs are allowed on the camping and caravan park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your The Woodlands Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Caravan Park Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing