We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, good value B&B, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penybont Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent, good value B&B, highly recommended”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a delightful, good value, small B&B. Two rooms set slightly apart from the owners accommodation, with a lovely welcoming sitting/ dining room for guest use. We had the double en suite room (there is also a twin) which was very pleasantly decorated and furnished, warm, comfortable and clean . A tea/coffee tray provided and TV/ wifi. The owner is very welcoming and served a delicious freshly prepared breakfast, with as much coffee and tea as we could drink, which more than set us up for the day. He was happy to offer advice and suggested somewhere to eat on the evening and a good place to take the dog for a long walk the next day. Our short stay was lovely and we will certainly return when in the area. The added bonus for us is that we can bring our dog, who was welcomed and even given her own sausage for breakfast! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Simple choice, twin or double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeenBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
29
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Quiet location, spotless room, comfy bed and first rate breakfast, better than I have eaten in some 5* hotels. All you could ask for from a B&B. John the host is a mine of useful information and goes out of his way to be helpful.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Penybont to anyone visiting the area and this certainly will not be our last visit

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tourer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My partner and I booked a room at the Penybont at the last minute as it was conveniently on the route to an activity which we were headed to the next day. John, our host, was very friendly and welcoming and prepares an excellent cooked breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ESDougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this lovely B&B. The owner was interesting and very nice and the rooms were clean and pretty. We liked its location between Aberystwyth and Borth so one could enjoy the best of the city and also be near a lovely beach and small village. We would highly recommend this lovely place.

Room Tip: All the rooms here would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We received a great welcome from John, our host and enjoyed his delightful sense of humour and willingness to entertain us with stories and helpful information. Max, the family dog, was welcomed by us and so was allowed to show us some tricks for a short time. The downstairs lounge was comfortable and perfect for us to eat our own snacks, use wifi, read and relax. Up the stairs to to tiny but comfortable bedroom and bathroom ensuite had all that we needed and more with kettle, cups and a variety of drinks. Beautiful views of the surrounding countryside from our window. Breakfast was delicious and gluten free was no trouble to John.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicanago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Penybont is an excellent B&B with the extra facility of a seperate self catering property. My partner and I stayed in a double room with en suite. The furnishings the shower etc and the size of the room were of a very high standard in a quiet location but a very few minutes from the busy beach at Clarach or the bustling holiday town of Aberystwyth. John the owner was very welcoming and provided an excellent breakfast. The ideal place for a weekend away from the 'rat race'.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I would recommend very clean, tidy, and John the owner was very helpful, the breakfast was great setting us up for the day. We got a cancellation so the price was good but I would not have paid the full price. Location not bad,peace and quiet about 10 minutes away from Aberystwyth. All in all lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondi41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
5.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
1.7 mi away
Maes-Y-Mor
Maes-Y-Mor
#6 of 36 in Aberystwyth
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Glyn Garth Guest House
Glyn Garth Guest House
#3 of 36 in Aberystwyth
134 reviews
9.8 mi away
Brynarth Country Guest House
1.6 mi away
The Glengower
The Glengower
#4 of 36 in Aberystwyth
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penybont Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penybont Bed & Breakfast

Property: Penybont Bed & Breakfast
Address: Llangorwen, Aberystwyth SY23 3DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Penybont Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penybont Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penybont Bed & Breakfast Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing