We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but homely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shelley Guest House
Ranked #27 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week at the end of a long hiking trip from Cardigan. Pleasant atmosphere, you can tell as soon as you enter that you are being welcomed into somebody's home. Very comfortable beds, much appreciated by our aching legs! The house could do with some carpet and some thicker doors though, we were scared of talking too loud and disturbing fellow guests! Not bothered about sharing a bathroom, but maybe a shower could be installed upstairs?- We had to use the shower/sauna downstairs, rather unnerving as there are three different doors opening into it, made me worry that someone was going to walk in whilst I was naked! Nice fresh continental breakfast, location-wise perfect if you have a car, in peaceful surroundings, but unfortunately we didn't, taking 45 mins brisk walk from the town centre.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 71 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great stay
Only stayed for one night, but a warm welcome, lovely interior and a garden view. Breakfast a very nice, proper continental breakfast.
Good location for the Uni and town, but off the beaten track, very quiet at night. Good price. Perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRElliott2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

it was very hard to find and the parking was a nightmare , with no external lights to help. owner was very friendly, but that was the best part. we stayed in the garden room. even though we had booked, the room was freezing and we had to ask for the heating to be put on. the room was clean. i really don't appreciate sleeping in a bed with no mattress and pillow protectors. due to no carpets upstairs, every time someone used the bathroom it sounded like a herd of elephants and the plumbing was really noisy, needs attention ! we were put under a lot of pressure to "share " the sauna, but as we had to pass the sauna to get to the en suite, we refused.
i have to say that the breakfast was the worst i have had and the table inadequately laid. we had to use the one breakfast knife for eating breakfast, butter and scooping out jam, when i found one that wasn't mouldy. .extremely disappointed and despite being offered a further half price stay, would never set foot there again. there are far superior b and b's in town, for less money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank allditsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Found this hotel last minute, although out of the town the taxi company has a deal with the hotel so it's cheap. on the way down to the town it is a nice walk.. Not the same when your walking up it. The room was spacious, however when we went to sleep the room was cold and every time someone went to the toilet the pipes were very loud! Very poor nights sleep despite the comfortable bed. Breakfast the next morning was lovely however seeing the owners backside on show was not pleasant. Won't be staying again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

just back from our second stay at the Shelley guest house. again we had a lovely stay at a really nice quirky guest house. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the guesthouse is lovely and the mattresses have been changed since our last visit which was our only complaint. Disappointed to find the sauna still "Brocken"! After 2 years! Are you sure this isn't just a cost cutting exorcize Julian? Also very, very disappointed to find the wonderful cooked breakfast we were served on our first visit has been replaced by a very, very disappointing continental buffet! Come on Julian lets have the cooked breakfast back!!!! The continental breakfast is ok as a choice but I think most people would like the chance to have a hearty cooked breakfast and the last time we stayed in 2011 it was so good!!!! We are combing back in the spring, can we have a cooked breakfast and a sauna please?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelley-guest-house, Owner at Shelley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and sorry that I missed you both however I will ensure that we have a cooked breakfast available for your next visit. If a guest requests a cooked breakfast we will always do our best to make sure this happens. As for the sauna It is honestly not a means of cutting costs, Our local leisure centre has had their sauna removed as it was constantly out of order and I do have a problem at times with the power supply. The sauna is currently working and I am hoping that my electrician has sorted out the cause of our problems. We very much look forward to seeying you again next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed last week and found this guest house the perfect location to use as my office. There is free unlimited broadband and the house is set in a rural position 1 mile from Aberystwyth. I had to prepare for a business meeting and found the setting was perfect for my needs. The owner was happy to send fax's to me which was an added bonus. The stay really was very pleasent. Immaculate and very clean. Lots of books and a television in the bed room. As fas as I know only the family room has a television. I come to Aberystwyth on a monthly basis and am looking forward to staying again. Breakfast was excellent and the beds incredibly comfortable. See you soon.

Room Tip: Oooops no swimming pool, when I clicked this button it would not let me unclick. The family room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Good:
We stayed in the double room on the ground floor. The room is spacious and interestingly furnished. The room has a sloping glass roof over half its area and a glass wall that gives onto the garden. The room had easy access to a sauna, shower and loo. The breakfast of cereal and toast, tea and coffee was good quality and pleasant. The walls are full of art. The sitting room was full of books, music - including a piano. The garden had plenty of places for reading or loafing - it would be a great place for a group staying for several days!
I had chosen the place as we were on motor bikes and, perhaps wrongly, I was worried they might suffer on a Saturday night in town. So offroad parking was appreciated. Instead we took taxis into town (OW, with whom Julian had a £3.00 per trip deal- worth insisting on this with the driver - one asked for a fiver).
We enjoyed it - luckily we overcame our first impressions.
The Not-so-Good - all remediable.
The guest house is hard to find. The only sign is down on the ground outside. The exterior is so unappealing and ramshackle that we nearly turned round at that point. We never met the well-regarded Julian, but he must be a seven-footer - the few mirrors are still at Gargantuan heights - my GF had to stand on a chair... Echoing a comment in 2011, glasses for water by bed would be good. No bedside light. No light in sauna. The occupants in a room above separated by a window and a sheet were audible. No curtain in shared shower. No window or extractor in shared loo.

Room Tip: Double room on ground floor has garden view, and exceptionally airy feel (as long as you can sleep w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthendEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.6 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cardigan Bay Guest House
Cardigan Bay Guest House
#10 of 36 in Aberystwyth
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
Celtic Bay Guest House
Celtic Bay Guest House
#16 of 36 in Aberystwyth
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Llety Ceiro Country Guest House
8 mi away
Brynarth Country Guest House
8.6 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley Guest House

Address: Lluest, Llanbadarn Fawr, Aberystwyth SY23 3AU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $75 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelley Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aberystwyth. We offer comfortable low cost accommodation within a modern and contemporary environment. The house has 3 bedrooms and all rooms are very different in style and appearance. We are very proud of our downstairs room which has a glazed ceiling whereby you can see stars from the bed at night. We also have a family room and a double room. We also have a sitting room with hundreds of interesting books and a television for guests to enjoy. The sauna is also very popular among our guests. We also have free Wi-Fi throughout the guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Shelley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Guest House Hotel Aberystwyth
Shelley Guest House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing