We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Glengower
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Queensbridge Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Four Seasons Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gwesty Cymru(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Harry's Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveler rating
170
169
74
22
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
169
74
22
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewspecials boardsea frontcooked breakfastsunday lunchthe publovely locationensuite bathroomthe cliffbiscuitsfriendly hotelthird floorcomfortable bedsstayed one nightparking spaceyogurtenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 457 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Nobody told us the facade is under construction and the whole building is covered by scaffold when we booked the room with sea view. Have to say we were disappointed. Wifi connection is very bad, almost none in the room, and unstable even in reception area. When we mentioned this to the manager (Ian?), he replied it must be the problem with our equipment (FYI, we were using iPhone and iPad!) because he had no problem with wifi at all! What an ignorant and helpless reply! The room was alright, bit dated. No sure we would like to stay there again for our next visit.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank karensunqing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StangeandCompany, Manager at The Glengower, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the Glengower. Unfortunately yes, the lovely sea view that we enjoy is currently interrupted by the scaffolding that is on the exterior of the building whilst the post storm damage is being rectified. We have tried to make guests aware of the ongoing work before their arrival but if we did not manage to get the message to you or you did not see the information on our website prior to your arrival then we are truly sorry.

As we are a pub then we encourage our patrons to leave as quietly as possible. If one or two of our patrons did not adhere to this during your stay then once again I am sorry. The wifi is not something that is usually a problem in the hotel, particularly in the bar area so I am confused as to why it would not work on your Ipad. We will keep an eye on it to make sure that it is not happening on a regular basis.

We do hope that the scaffolding has not put you off from returning to Aberystywth and the Glengower as it really is a truly fantastic view when the weather is on our side! We have our fingers crossed that the scaffolding will be down by the end of the month but again we will put a notice up on the website to say that everything is back to normal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was our second visit to the Glengower ... this time for a Saturday night in October. Having booked a seafront double room (worth doing for the view and sound of the sea!) I was pleasantly surprised with our allocated room. This room was next door to the one we stayed in last time and a definite improvement with regards layout, space and size of en-suite bathroom. As before, the views from our bay window could not be faulted. Room was clean and well presented with usual complimentary tray of tea/coffee/biscuits. We took advantage of the good weather and ordered bar meals from the reasonably priced and varied selection on offer ..... these were served to us at the seated area outside (directly opposite the beach) with a couple of beers ordered from the friendly staff at the well stocked bar. After a comfortable nights sleep we went down for breakfast which is primarily self service with regards tea, coffee, juice, cereals, yoghurts etc. Cooked breakfast orders were taken by a young girl...my partner ordering the standard bacon, eggs, sausage etc and I ordering scrambled eggs and beans with shared toast. Having stayed here before and enjoyed the breakfast I have to record my complete disappointment on this occasion. The scrambled eggs were very runny and the cheap catering tin beans used (more suited to a bad transport cafe) ensured the food was left uneaten. The supply of a freshly made, and therefore hot, pot of tea would be a welcome improvement rather than having to use the warm water supplied in a large communal flask....something I hope the management will consider addressing. May be small points but would make a vast improvement and a difference, in some cases, as to whether guests return or not. In contrast, my partner thoroughly enjoyed his cooked breakfast.

In conclusion, we again enjoyed our stay at this friendly and comfortable establishment and despite my personal disappointment with the quality of my breakfast we will be returning to stay in 2014 for a well earned treat. Hopefully the minor breakfast comments will be noted by management and my next visit will result in a more favourable review in that respect.

We look forward to a other relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms a must to enjoy hotel location fully.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cymro_Cymraeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Where do I start, staff pleasant, otherwise the whole hotel is in a very poor condition, when you walk in it looks like an old pub, the rooms are poorly equipped, the sheets did not fit properly, no mattress protectors, the curtains wouldn't close fully, in the bathroom the toilet faced the shower so that you couldn't sit on it squarely, the shower head would not lock in position, the sink was designed by the borrowers, cheap Lino on the floor, the carpet in the bedroom had burn marks on it, the lamp shade was filthy, only wire hangers in the poor condition wardrobe, no hair drier, sash window hard to open and close, breakfast very average, struggling to be a 2 star, only good point is location

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank StevenJJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Clean, comfortable room, nice location, nothing hugely special but lovely views and a nice bar downstairs. Big, light room with bay window opening onto seafront. Slightly shoddy shower room. Linen a little dated - cold do with a refurbish really, would then be outstanding. Extra touches like biscuits etc not forgotten, pretty good value for area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowri_Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews