We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Conrah Hotel(Aberystwyth)(Great Value!)
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harry's Hotel(Aberystwyth)
$82
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Plas Antaron Hotel(Aberystwyth)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond Hotel(Aberystwyth)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel(Aberystwyth)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
48
44
24
12
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
44
24
12
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastpub with roomsbring earplugstop floornoisy at nighteaster breakreal aleb bslarge rooma lovely staycomfortable bedcentral locationtea and coffeesea viewcouple of nightsbooked this hotelpremier inn
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 148 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in the Castle Hotel in one of their "sea view rooms." Check in was in the bar and we were shown to our room by the very friendly barman who also helped with our bags. The room was excellent and very clean. The bed was a comfortable king size and the room was decorated nicely in a modern style. It was also nice to find the powerful drench shower which was wonderful with plenty of space. The bar was nice and the friendly locals and the barman helped us find a very good pub to eat in that evening. The hotel guest rooms have a separate entrance so you are free to come and go as you wish without going through the bar. The bar and hotel rooms both have good free WiFi which I find to be essential these days. Free parking is on the street and we were able to leave our car just outside the hotel. We had a great stay in the Castle and we will definitely be going back to this highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room if you might be sensitive to the little noise that comes from the late night bar.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaineCoonStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We went to the Castle Hotel Aberystwyth to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. The location was excellent near the sea front, castle, St Michaels church and old college buildings, Parking was easy on the street virtually outside the hotel. Check in was at the bar below the hotel rooms, we were then shown to our room which really was excellent a real home from home with a comfortable super king size bed and an ensuite bathroom with a proper full size shower which was actually powerful,(not like the usual dribbling watering can found in most hotels). There was some noise from the bar below which did'nt bother us as we don't sleep early. All in all it was a thouroughly enjoyable experience, I should also add that the room and bathroom were cleaned to the highest standard.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraint D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed here recently for one night, it is stated in the info pack that the rooms are "acoustically protected", not so!, the rooms are excellently appointed, good bed & a great drench shower, there was a desk to work from with plenty of light, but on the downside I found the room quite claustrophobic, you're unable to open the windows which by the way are covered in frosted vinyl, but the noise is the real killer, I don't if it came from the bar downstairs or from outside / neighbours ( hotel is in a student area ), I was woken by shouting & laughing voices, what sounded like wooden chairs being dragged across stone floors, toilets being flushed / lids being dropped etc, however the topper was being treated to War Pigs by Black Sabbath closely followed by Peachs from The Stranglers at this stage I resorted to tissues in the ears just to deaden the noise a bit, such a pity because they're good rooms & my colleague who was staying on the other side of the hotel was not disturbed at all.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 4,
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed 1 night for a business trip, and was given room 8 on the top floor. The room was well furnished, and very clean, with a great shower.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Central location for a stroll along the waterfront, but far enough away to be able to park easily.

The only tiny complaint was there were no blinds/shutters on the dorma/roof windows which were over the bed. Take an eye mask and I'm sure it would be no problem at all.

I'd stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We booked an overnight stay at the Castle Hotel. We were given a warm reception by Richard, one of the bar staff who showed us to our room and at our request, said he would arrange a late check out for us the next day. Our room was spotlessly clean with superior shower bathroom. toiletries, dressing gowns and luxurious towels. The bed was very comfortable with good quality bedding.
On arrival the room was warm and the bathroom had an additional heated towel rail. There was a large wardrobe cupboard with generous hanging space plus tv, electric kettle and good choice of beverages to make drinks.

Although there is a pub below there was no noise disturbance whatsoever. It was very quiet and the excellent decor of the rooms has additional soundproofing. There is a side entrance for hotel users access so the pub is no problem whatsoever

We went for a walk the next morning and when we arrived back , Maureen, the manager, had tidied the room, made the bed and brought clean towels and coffee et as she was aware we had requested a late checkout.

Thank you Maureen and Richard for your kind attention. We were visiting Wales to attend a sad occassion but received a warm welcome in Aberystwyth. We hope to return..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews