We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic of Life Butterfly House

Magic of Life Butterfly House
Ranked #9 of 32 things to do in Aberystwyth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk among free-flying butterflies in a luxuriant tropical display. Hundreds of butterflies as well as giant caterpillars, beetles and leaf insects. Outside there is a well-established native butterfly garden. Free guided tours are available. Run by biologists.
Swanwick, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went here as our little girl found a leaflet and really wanted to go....

Now its small yes...expensive to get in yes....but if we was the only ones that day it wouldn't cover the wagers....

Would I go again....no...once you have been you have been...

But lovely for a hour or so...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    38
    25
    17
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very small and extremely expensive - Some dangers too”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Firstly I was concerned there were stinging nettles present (my toddler nearly grabbed one) and a loose small glass cabinet. Secondly this butterfly farm is a very small polytunnel - maximum 15m long. Family of 2 adults and one paying child cost more than £17. i was prepared to forgive the high cost as I assumed it would cost a lot to keep the place heated etc. Then I noticed a sign saying Statkraft donate the electricity and water! Other (bigger) farms charge the same without this subsidy, and are much better organised. The kids did enjoy it, but it still didn't even nearly justify the huge price - if our youngest was a year older it would have cleared £20!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trumptonfireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

i have visited a few butterfly houses in my time,but this was a rip off.£6.50 each to get in to a little poly tunnel,and not many different species,We will not be visiting again,we had more enjoyment in the Statkraft Visitor Centre next door for free

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

It's only a little place & it's well out of the way, its a little shabby but there are some wonderful butterflies inside.
It is expensive @ £6.50 but when you consider the heating costs even when the weather is good you can understand it.
As I am a photographer I had a whale of a time & thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good but small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

It is just a poly tunnel and it costs £6.50 to go in but there are lots of butterflies and tropical plants and the young lady was very enthusiastic and informative. We spent about half an hour in there and got some super photos - some of them were as big as small birds! I can understand the price as it is so hot in there it must cost a fortune to heat. Children would love it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic of Life Butterfly House also viewed

 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Magic of Life Butterfly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing