We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value”

Shilam Indian Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 152 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very good value”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

food very good value, above average indian food but excellent for price. also 'take your own wine' system, so is very cheap. the owner was very pleasant and we would revisit. recommend for a cheap and pleasant night.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jgrierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    49
    33
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Made a special order”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I really like butter chicken but it was not on the menu. Guess what ? I asked if they could/would make it and they sure did. Yummy. Right next to Witherspoons and very good. One of two Indian restaurants in Aber. Reasonable prices as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P598738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Indian food.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We use the takeaway service regularly. The staff are always polite and accommodating, and the place is always clean. The food is excellent, and by far the best Ive had. We will miss it greatly when we move.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karven1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWENT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

went to dinner here on a Friday night without reservations, not much atmosphere, no warmth, conversation or smiles from staff. Not the sort of place you would choose to linger in after eating.
I had chicken tikka with vegetable pilau rice & my husband had the tandoori mixed grill with keema nan - both pleasant enough- my daughters korma however did not resemble in looks or flavour any korma she had had before (it included a whole hardboiled egg in the sauce) needless to say she didn't enjoy her meal because it was not what she had anticipated-we didn't say anything just chalked it down to experience, can't imagine returning when there are so many other interesting places to eat in Aberystwyth.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CareyGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is one of the best Indians in Mid Wales- definitely the best in Aberystwyth.

Large, warm and friendly restaurant, which also does a take away service. The waiters are always very nice and never rush you, and the kitchen is always very clean when I peak through the window.

If you love Indian cuisine, then this is the right place for you!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shilam Indian Restaurant also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Shilam Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing