We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS FOOD, ATTENTIVE SERVICE AND COSY ATMOSPHERE”
Review of Casablanca

Casablanca
Ranked #2 of 150 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Le Casablanca has great, homemade fresh mediterranean cuisine which has never disappointed us in the years we have had meals there. We have have lovely, tasty, and unfussy North African couscous there, as well as Tagines, lovely vegetarian meals as well. You can bring your own wine, so this also makes the evening quite reasonably priced. Jo, the owner and chef, is always attentive to details and makes sure you are happy and having a good time. This personal touch adds to the homely, relaxed atmosphere which has made us go back again and again over the years.You'll eat very well, you'll be welcome, and you will feel that you've had a relaxing time with friendly people around you! Highly recommended.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS FOOD, ATTENTIVE SERVICE AND COSY ATMOSPHERE”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Casablanca in Aberystwyth is a real gem! Three of us decided to give it a go and we were not disappointed. The food is truly tasty - very distinct flavours served up in traditional North African cookware. A delight. There are excellent vegetarian options as well as really good quality meats eg; lamb and chicken on the whole which are so tender and flavoursome. The delicious fare is added to by an authentic atmosphere with lovely music, warm colours and evocative lighting! I really enjoyed the evening and will definitely be visiting this marvellous restaurant again and again, I am sure! It is best to book as every dish is freshly prepared and some particular items need to be "pre-ordered" eg; cous cous. I had the Chicken tagine (served traditionally) - absolutely wonderful and served with freshly prepared vegetables/salad - very healthy too. This restaurant is highly recommended, but DO book ahead.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ALISONSIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you have enjoyed your experience with us. Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    86
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a surprise”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Amazing, I have been meaning to check this place out for years, but never got round to it. Boy am I glad I did - best meal in a restaurant for years. The food was tasty, well cooked, warming and spicy and a real surprise, why have we not heard more about this fantastic little place

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Branston419876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you have enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again. Kind regards. Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another lovely visit”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

As ever, friendly, efficient, tasty and value for money. The only thing that could be improved is a bit more variety or some specials as I've tried everything now¬

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent - as always!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Each time we plan a visit to Aberystwyth to see our daughter, who is studying at the university, organising a reservation at Casablanca is always a priority. We last went there on 30th May and have already secured a table for September when we need to take her back to Uni after the Summer.
The food is excellent, atmosphere good and staff and owner are friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious healthy food and warm friendly welcome at Casablanca”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We hadn't found this wonderful Aberystwyth restaurant tucked away just behind the seafront area until recently and can't believe we missed it! Delicious wholesome Mediterranean style food freshly prepared in the kitchen by the owner. Never seen it advertised - he relies on personal recommendation. Book ahead, bring your own wine and be prepared to pay cash. So good - not to be missed. We'll be regulars.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glynandtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing