We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Restaurant with pleasant staff”
Review of Casablanca

Casablanca
Ranked #2 of 148 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Le Casablanca has great, homemade fresh mediterranean cuisine which has never disappointed us in the years we have had meals there. We have have lovely, tasty, and unfussy North African couscous there, as well as Tagines, lovely vegetarian meals as well. You can bring your own wine, so this also makes the evening quite reasonably priced. Jo, the owner and chef, is always attentive to details and makes sure you are happy and having a good time. This personal touch adds to the homely, relaxed atmosphere which has made us go back again and again over the years.You'll eat very well, you'll be welcome, and you will feel that you've had a relaxing time with friendly people around you! Highly recommended.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant with pleasant staff”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife, daughter and I ate at the Casablanca last night 19 February 2013.

Food was delicious and reasonably priced. I had the vine wrapped starter and the Lamb Kebab. My wife had the Mussels as a starter, then the Stewed Lamb. I tried all the dishes and was extremely impressed with all courses. I can also recommend the Tiramisu as a desert.

The owner/manager made us very welcome and the food was served piping hot and very promptly.

Despite managing this trick in the kitchen the owner/manager still had time to check that we were happy a couple of times and treat us with great courtesy as did the other staff member. The owner/manager was so nice that my 5 year old drew him a special little picture to put on his wall, which he accepted with great politeness.

Aberystwyth is a really interesting little town to visit, in a gorgeous part of the world, well served by fabulous roads - so why not enjoy a great restaurant while you are in the area?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review.
Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    86
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class restaurant!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Absolutely wonderful place to eat! The setting is wonderful and homely, service came with a smile and a conversation, the food is cooked to perfection couldn't ask for any more, highly recommended! X

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review.
Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good amount for good price”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Didn't expect for this good amount for the price, I had salmon and it was huge piece of it. And of course, they were really tasty!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hjrshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review.
Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but menu could do with an update.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Been to Casablanca many times over the years and being able to bring your own drinks is brilliant and saves a fare few pennies if you're a wine guzzler with your meal. Atmosphere is always good and you don't have to whisper or feel self conscious if you talk a litte louder. Tagine meals are excellent and the Dolma starter is my favourite. My only niggle is if you've been coming here for years, you could store the menu in your memory as it never changes. Went couple of weeks ago and there were no specials board visible which made me wonder if they are using 'in season' produce when they get the chance. Either way, its generally a good evening and reasonably priced. The waiting staff have also improved from my last visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benbec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review.
Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Reserved a place for a party, but had to re-arrange and went for a romantic meal instead. Turned out it was only us eating there that night and the restaurant was open just for us! Felt like a prince!! Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Embodies all that is best about Aberystwyth - unique, local, friendly and just good! You will not find a comparable place to eat anywhere in the UK.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Osian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review.
Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing