We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Llwynygog Guest House
Ranked #14 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a lovely place. i am a single retired lady visiting Aberystwyth to visit the National Library to trace my family.
I stayed in the 2nd guest house, Ystwyth and it was very clean and comfortable and the hosts were so frendly and helpful.
They helped me find my way around and arranged for taxis and suggested where to eat.
I have to come back to do more work in the library and have already booked to come back.
I would throughly reccomend this B+B to everyone

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    21
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
10
35
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

OMG, I expected something really bad apart from the owners and the breakfast. I was in the 2nd house and was worried when I was being shown across the road.
To my surprise and relief, the house was lovely, the owners had clearly been busy. The shower room had been replaced and they were in the middle of refurbishing the hall/stairs.
The house had a really friendly feeling, the daughter of the owners manages this house (all just to sleep as breaking is in the owners house) she is really sweet and friendly and couldn't have helped me and my wife any more.
Add to this we could bring our dogs, we would never stay anywhere else in Aberystwyth irrespective of which house we would be situated.

Room Tip: Call, don't book through the web and they are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birch Run, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed only for one night with a friend as we are travelling round Wales and only really wanted a bed for a night. We paid £58 for a twin room and even at that it was pretty awful. The bed was worn and the bedding can't have been changed since it was put on when the place opened. I'm quite sure there was a urine stain on the sheets. We didn't mention anything to the very nice and friendly owners. We were only expecting a bed and a breakfast but for £58 it wasn't worth it. There was no hot water in the night but we could have waited till the morning. The springs in the beds were excruciatingly noisy and painful. In the morning we woke up with very sore backs. The sleep quality wasn't brilliant at all. Breakfast was satisfactory but nothing to special. After breakfast we abruptly packed our bags and on a scan of our room we found a used condom, huge amounts of mould, old food and toenail clippings under the bed. In total, only stay here if you are Desparate for a place to stay or if you want a great laugh with a friend!!! But the place is pretty disgusting and needs a good clean and also small amount of money would go far new bedding, and a lick of paint would make all the difference. Ideally a whole and full refurbishment!!! Thanks anyway for letting us stay!!!

Room Tip: Don't go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackkyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

i'll keep this short and straight to point. Nice friendly couple...room quite modern, new paint and doors etc...however , no toilet roll in room, toilet not clean, towels not clean and smelt damp, foot towel was covered in pubic hair and dirt, had definitely been washed, bedding was not fresh and had previous guest hair on it ... The floor was covered and i mean covered in hairs and feathers from bedding, it really needed a good clean. Could all be rectified so easy with just some good old fashioned cleaning, this room was not in the main guest house so i just hope it is better there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here in June and had a nice stay. The owners were away on holiday when we came but we were well looked after by the owners daughter. We had room one, as per a previous review - it was a little odd to have a glass door in the toilet, but otherwise the room was comfortable.
Maybe could do with a new mattress, it was a tad lumpy.
The breakfast was excellient, lots of choice and very nice.
Very good location for the town and sea-front.
The place did the job for our two night stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_Bev216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I booked Llwynygog Guest House, Aberystwyth and they cancelled four days after the booking due to over booking. I'm afraid I would not book with them again as they are unreliable and after 4 days all the hotels that had been booked were full.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan1951n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is our 3rd time at this guest house as our daughter is in university in Aberystwyth .
We have stayed in the main guest house and in the annex,all the rooms are clean and tidy,there is a kettle in the room,free view tv,wi-fi.
Breakfast is in the main house which is lovely,bacon eggs mushrooms,tomatoes,beans fried bread,toast ,oj, croissants,choc au pan,cereal,yogurts enough for large or small appetites.
The owners are so friendly and very helpful.
Will always stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
473 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cardigan Bay Guest House
Cardigan Bay Guest House
#12 of 36 in Aberystwyth
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maes-Y-Mor
Maes-Y-Mor
#6 of 36 in Aberystwyth
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llwynygog Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwynygog Guest House

Property: Llwynygog Guest House
Address: 33 Queens Road, Aberystwyth SY23 2HN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Llwynygog Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llwynygog is a pet friendly 3-star guest house in a lovely part of Aberystwyth, just 2 minutes' walk from the beach and the many amenities of the town centre. The railway and coach stations are just a 5-minute walk away. Shops, clubs, supermarkets, pubs and a cinema are all within walking distance All rooms have central heating, Freeview, tea/coffee facilities and wi fi access. En suite and standard rooms are available. Llwynygog welcome families, singles, couples, pets and group bookings. It is set over 2 buildings opposit each other the annex has family rooms available on request , there is parking close by . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Llwynygog Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llwynygog Guest House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing