We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Llwynygog Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Conrah Hotel(Aberystwyth)(Great Value!)
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harry's Hotel(Aberystwyth)
$82
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Richmond Hotel(Aberystwyth)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel(Aberystwyth)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Starling Cloud(Aberystwyth)(Great Value!)
$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Nanteos Mansion(Aberystwyth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Glengower(Aberystwyth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Castle Hotel(Aberystwyth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
60
24
19
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
24
19
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly ownershighly recommend this guesthouseshared toilet and showerwash hand basininstant coffeelight sleepertrain stationsingle bedstayed here for two nightsvisit aberystwythsea frontnight staycerealuniversitypubsseasidelock
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 122 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Having stayed here previously, we wanted to come back to Llwynygog on our return to Aberystwyth. Unfortunately there had been a problem with the booking (partly our mistake, partly the online system) so that when we arrived there was no record of our booking. Louise was very helpful and set us up in a room across the street in the annexe. The accommodation was very basic compared to the main house, but welcome. Based on our very enjoyable first stay and the helpfulness shown to us on our second stay, we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aus_in_Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The location is very good, with parking nearby as there are no parking wardens in Aber, so you can park where you want. Near the beach and shops. Owners very helpful and polite giving us lots of info about the area. However, the room! We had a twin room in another house (over the road from the B&B main building), with shared toilet facilities. Good bits - wifi, freeview flat screen TV that worked, clean sink in the room, teamaking facilities, two chairs and table to sit at. Decor a bit brown but not too bad. Cooked breakfast (had to walk over the road to the other house) was good and fast service. Bad bits - mold on the bedroom windows, old worn ripped net curtains, main curtains coming off their hooks, all bed linen old, worn and mismatched, towels old and mismatched colours. The double bed however was quite comfortable. The croissants at breakfast appeared ancient and had started to grow mold!
For £56 was not expecting 5*, however if they had spend that money on some new sheets and net curtains and give the windows a bit of a clean, our stay would have been value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sophiarichards10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Refused to stay here. At £56 without en suite all we expected was clean sheets and a basic room. The room was dirty, tea stained thin blanket, brown worn sheets, pillowcases and brown musty wallpaper, no heating on even though it was freezing. Lumpy old mattress, tv not working AND not even situated in the guest house we thought we had booked! We did complain and found another place to stay.
We are not overly fussy, and the main house looked appealing enough just BEWARE when they tell you that you're staying across the road. Honestly, this is worse than student digs!!

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank 2004ajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed here for one night and was given a room in annexe - single non en-suite. Room was very drab to say the least. Nothing matched - green pillow cases, lumpy pillows stained, orange flower duver cover and I lifted up sheet and mattress was very old and worn and springs were quite clearly visable. No colour scheme in room and very basic. No table lamp, chest of drawers, glass, chair. Room contained a bed, bedside table - no use as no lamp! glass table with kettle, tea making stuff.

Check in was joke!!! owners not present - kids give me wrong room and were swearing as one could not find the keys. It does look like a student house and the shower and toilet were in dire need of an update.

Breakfast was appalling and quality and quantity was lacking if not absent to say the least. No service as such and a hot water urm to make yourself tea or coffee. Breakfast arrived on a side plate and consisted of 1 slice of bacon, spoon full of beans, 1 mushroom chopped into pieces, 1 well done egg, quarter of a tomatoe and fried bread, plus 2 small toast. Left to my own devices after owners dissappeared upstairs for a cuppa and chat in living room.

The best moment was CHECKING OUT but not parting with £34.00 over priced and everything lacking. Hotel Inspector would have a whole series devoted to sorting out this place. Very poor in terms ofcustomer service. Was none.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank debsfarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The owners were very pleasant and accommodating and the location was great.

Just a couple of minor things brought a smile to our faces :) We stayed in Room 1 - the toilet door had glass panels in it. Now that's fine for the couple who are quite comfortable with each other (luckily, we are) but if it was your first trip away with someone, could potentially be a tad awkward! The only mirror was in the bathroom which made drying your hair a tad tricky. Aside from that, it was great for a couple of days in Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Missy_Lady2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews