We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreary and shabby!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberystwyth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brynowen Holiday Park
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dreary and shabby!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Me and my 2 kids (3&6) stayed in one of the apartments for a weekend. My first impression of the place was that it just looks depressingly dreary and neglected. Upon booking-in we were told that the swimming pool "had a fault" and would be shut until next year. The Apartment had mould growing from areas of the ceiling in two of the three bedrooms, the shower curtain was being held up by string and duct-tape, planks were swinging dangerously from below the gutters outside and the botched job on the cooker hood placement was aweful!

The only plus to the holiday was the short period of kids entertainment in the evening (unfortunately broken up by bingo which is definately NOT kids friendly)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent holiday at Brynowen Holiday Park.

I am sorry you were disappointed with aspects of your holiday and I have taken on board your comments. Please be advised that the apartments on the park have had a “face lift” with all the cladding work to the exterior now being completed.

I am sorry that during your stay, the swimming pool was closed - unfortunately this was due to an electrical problem and was beyond the parks control. The park had unfortunately been experiencing electrical problems and due to this, Park Resorts have invested considerably in this area, whilst working alongside the electric company by installing a new substation. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that was caused during your stay.

I am pleased that your children enjoyed the entertainment – our Team Stars work hard to ensure that all our guests have a great holiday experience!
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Resorts in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    369
    208
    155
    167
See reviews for
822
227
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not one of the best sites we have visited but certainly not the worst. We will however not likely to return to Brynowen again.

The caravans set out for rental are probably the shabbiest and smallest we have ever been in.
They are clean and all the equipment you need is available, however we upgraded to Silver as we were a family of 4 adults and 2 teenage girls and we finished up in a 2 bed caravan that was probably just the right size for a family of 3.

We paid to have the beds made up on arrival however this was done on the double bed and the other beds and sofa covers were not made up so that was a waste of money. The site tries hard to accommodate all ages but does tend to string out the kids entertainment a little too long, so if you have small children then the entertainment is fine.

Food is expensive as it always is on the camp sites and not a lot available when we were there. We decided to go to the local Nica shop and bought a whole weeks shop for the same price we paid for one evening meal for the group so this is probably more advisable

All in all a break and we made the most of the site and weather, but do not get excited about Borth, there is one shop a couple of Café's and a pub. You do have to make your own entertainment.

Take a torch as the electric kept tripping all over the site while we were there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simmys66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent holiday at Brynowen Holiday Park.

I was disappointed to hear that you felt the holiday accommodation was not up to our usual high standard. The holiday homes on the park are of various size and classifications to suit all our guests.

I am sorry you were disheartened that all the beds were not made up on your arrival to the holiday home – please be advised that it is not our normal practice to make the bed in the lounge area, as by doing this, it reduces the living space for our guests when they first arrive.

The park had unfortunately been experiencing electrical problems and due to this, Park Resorts have invested considerably in this area, whilst working alongside the electric company by installing a new substation. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that was caused during your stay.

There are a variety of place to explore close to Brynowen and the village of Borth, and I apologise that you did not enjoy the area during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

the place was lovely to look at when we got there,until we wer told are caravan was right at the top it was 20min walk to get down to reception and bar and arcade area also i took two teenage boys which was ashame because even the swimming was not on so they had nothing to do. i asked a couple of staff about this and they said it's because it's last days there's nothing left to do or buy because they were closing for season on the sunday we were leaving. i was very angry at this because it should of stated on are holiday that the time we were to travel a 4hr drive just to be told nothings on is very unfair. such a lovely place to we holiday at park resorts often and it's the first time i've had to complain it was very unfair on us though as we had been really looking forward to the break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent holiday at Brynowen Holiday Park. The park is set on a hill side with lovely views from the top of the park. Wherever possible we will accommodate our guests towards this area or on the lower levels.

I am sorry that during your stay, the swimming pool was closed - unfortunately this was due to an electrical problem and was beyond the parks control. Please be advised that the issues have now been resolved and there will not be a recurrence of the problem.

As you have holidayed with us before, you are aware of our ability to provide holidays of a high standard, I do hope this will not deter you from holidaying with Park Resorts again and therefore we do look forward to welcoming you back to one of our parks in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

just come back from a stay at this park we went with the sun holidays caravan we had was good there were 6 adults and 2 dogs .we arrived on the monday and was no problem booking in on the tuesday night we had a power cut and half of the park were out the power cut lasted 2 hours .I would not pay £200-300 pounds to stop at this park the beach is pebbled we paid for entertainment pass but entertainment had finished on the sat as we arrived monday we could,nt use the pool as there was something wrong with it and the pool area is not as nice as you see on the pics i know we went with the sun holiday and it was out of season but this park is not worth the money there was a lot of complaints of other people about the state of the caravans if i had paid £200 to stay hear for a week i would want my money back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post your review. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed the caravan, however I must apologise for the two hours that you suffered power problems. The electrical problem also damaged the swimming pool boiler which unfortunately led to the pool being closed for two days so again I apologise for the inconvenience this caused. We are confident that when the electricity board build their new substation this winter, such things will be a thing of the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in a Silver apartment.We called the approach road cardiac hill as it was that steep.
First thing that hit us as we reached the apartment was the amount of litter outside the apartment which was situated in the woods.There was loads of empty plastic milk bottles and paper everywhere.As soon as we entered 29th Oct this was we could smell damp.There was alight bar in the lounge with one bulb missing and the low energy lighting was bad enough. 3 bulbs missing in the kitchen and one in the master bedroom number 3 had no light bulb and a heater which did not work.The bathroom which consisted of a WC and show and sink had an extractor fan which did not work and a heater which did not work..It was cold smelly and damp.Also in the lounge there was a loud clicking noise every few seconds from the meter box which was annoying.We had been told the club drinks where extortionate prices and the entertainment was poor.they shop was very poorly stocked We used Morrison,s in Aberystwyth
We paid with the Sun £150 otherwise it would have been nearly £300 according to the brochure.I felt we had been let down badly by Park resorts and it was our first and last time with them.The beach is stony as well.I would not recommend it to anyone.I see there are a few that like it but they are in the minority.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello David and thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that our Woodland apartments fell short of your expectations on this occasion. I am shocked to hear that your accommodation had so many missing light bulbs, and I agree that this is far from acceptable and hope that we were able to rectify this issue for you during your stay. The electrical heating in these apartments is usually efficient but appears to have struggled against the wet and windy Welsh weather encountered during your stay. This is something that we will be looking at for next year. I am sorry that you felt that the facilities on park were expensive and poorly stocked. We endeavour to provide a comprehensive range of essential holiday items, as well as food and drink at a convenient location at the centre of the park. We are always happy to give holidaymakers directions to the large supermarkets in the local town however. We are fortunate to have the beach located only 50 metres from the park, however it is somewhat stony but popular with surfers, fishermen and generations of holiday makers who visit the village of Borth. I hope that where ever you decide to holiday next year you have a fantastic time and I thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We got this holiday for 60 pounds, 2 adults 2 children mon to Friday. Had a 3 bedroom caravan near he reception area. Caravan was clean and tidy enough. Perfectly functional, nice and warm, we constantly had a window open, no problems with the heating. The evenings in the clubhouse were great fun for he kids. Fantastic team of childrens entertainers!
Kept them entertained whilst we had a drink...
Overall, as long as you don't go thinking your on a five star hotel! Wouldent want to pay full whack for it as a main summer holiday, but good fun for the kids and a relaxing break for the parents!
Will definatly return for a few days with friends!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fallowfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Did not like the caravan accommodation at Brynowen. Arrived at 18:00 approx
The carpet in the lounge was dirty, loose and lifted. The gas fire did not ignite with the switch, had to use a lit taper. The kitchen work top was damaged, greasy and sticky, we had to clean it down with hot soapy water. There was no toilet roll in the loo on arrival so we had to go to reception in the rain to get some, there was black mould around all the windows and doors, my daughters bedroom had at least a 4mm gap in the window frame (not very secure was it, had to lock our valuables in the car boot) and the one window lock was broken/loose and our bedroom had mould around the bottom of the wall by the window

Basically the caravan had not been cleaned and was in a disgusting state with a constant smell of damp

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NT149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.6 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
11.1 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynowen Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynowen Holiday Park

Property: Brynowen Holiday Park
Address: Brynowen Lane | Borth, Aberystwyth SY24 5LS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Aberystwyth
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Brynowen Holiday Park - Park Hotel Aberystwyth
Brynowen Holiday Park Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing