We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great for young family with under 3's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brynowen Holiday Park
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me (26) husband (26) son (2years) daughter(9months) booked our short break with the sun package holidays £9.50 we paid this plus extra to get an upgraded gold caravan. We arrived at 2:30pm receptionist given us all the information. We were on the middle part of the site which seemed a bit odd as there are gold caravans on the lower levels ( there are 2 very steep hills to climb and trying to push 2 buggies what a nightmare) we wanted to not use the car or very little during our 5 day stay but we had to use it all the time ( plan of saving on petrol money went out the window ) the caravan itself was ok nothing overly special but for an extra £80 for the upgrade I felt it was pricey and not worth it. We went to the entertainment everything is outdated felt like we had stepped back 20 years the arcade or lack of wasn't what we expected even my 2 year old asked to leave after 5 mins. The entertainment time table never followed the plan on the booklet given when you arrive we went 4 times each time the sparkys store was closed they start putting on music and little games when it gets to around 8:30-9pm now my children are in bed by this time this clearly hasn't been thought out by the planners near enough everyone with children there were of the age of my children as it was in school time. We bought from the patio bar once all I can say is reheated and microwaved it was absolutely dreadful never tasted anything as bad we even tried again asking for a portion of chips £1.99 for the smallest tray which were like cardboard the texture of reheated chips we asked for refund when they handed them over as we say we were not going to eat them they stunk of stale fat or cooking oil it reeked another elderly couple was heard explaining about their upset stomachs after eating there so stay clear !! There is nothing to do there on site or outside the park if you take a left then a right at the mini round about drive straight on past the gold course you come to a remote drive on beach area perfect for picking shells it's beautiful and so picturesque we stumbled upon this on our daily drive out to get out of the caravan (watching tv was impossible the tv signal was no existent asking for help we got that it was bad weather) there are no other chippys or take aways the cafes were full wall to wall with elderly people and couples not ideal to take lively chatty children as well behaved as they are I doubt they would like to hear my sons versions of if you happy and you know it and row row row your boat :).
We drove into Aberystwyth ( the roads are awful my son was car sick on a daily basis the windy roads just not good at all) again nothing to do stupid one way weird system full of students , cafes and same shops you would get anywhere else. We went to borth animalarium £26 for 2 adults all outside and it started raining all the staff looked so unhappy to be there there were poor animals being soaked big animals in tiny cages I think the animal welfare would have a real field day there so stay clear unless you like ring upset watching bored animals rubbing there heads against their cage out of boredom or lifeless animals mopping about :,( awful. We couldn't wait to leave just 2 weeks before being here we had stayed 7nights at haven in Prestatyn and what a difference. This site needs a transformation down to the stupid awkward useless speed bumps to the children's play area on a steep hill ??? Why ?? It's not for young children even the swimming pool daily was over crowded or quite chilly ! This wasn't out first choice with the sun holiday Unfortunatly you can only accept what your given we are very openminded on different resorts but never again will we be retuning.

Room Tip: If you need to push wheel chairs or prams keep to lower level Possibly go in peak seasons they mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,384 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Pembrokeshire
1
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had booked to Stay at brynowen for 3 nights, it was out of season so double checked all the facilities were still open which we were told they were, however when we got ther the pool was closed, sparky shop was closed, fast food\takeaway area was closed. Only thing open was the bar and the arcade! Not ideal with an 18 month old in tow! Walked into borth....cafe was closed there and literally nothing to do!!! Tried to go to 'animalium' (aka borth zoo) which was hugely disappointing. Fantasy farm and animal range and butterfly house was closed. We stayed in a 3 bed platinum caravan which was nice but no room for travel cot. The caravan was fairly clean but there were loads of crumbs over the floor and all over the chairs in the kitchen so i wonder how thorough the clean were? So so disappointed that we left 24 hours after checking in!!! We also felt people on the site weren't interested in you unless you wanted to buy a caravan!!!! Very very disappointed and glad to get home :(

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have just come back from staying at Brynowen Holiday Park and thought the overall experience was excellent.

We upgraded our caravan to a gold and have thought the standard was excellent. The caravan was a good size, L shaped sofas, flat screen TV, on-suite bathroom, excellent gas hob and oven and extremely clean. We were in section 4 of the site which was up the hill which is where we request to be as were looking for a quiet holiday.

I can't comment too much on the facilities as we didnt use them much as we just used the site as a base to explore the surrounding areas. The Vale of Rhediol railway awas excellent and the water falls and Devils Bridge at the end were brilliant and highly recommended.

I would also highly recommend Gwesty Cymru as a place to eat in Aber, we booked this place about 3 months as heard good reviews in advance as it is only a small place. The food is all locally sourced and is modern welsh cuisine.

I'm not sure why there are so many bad reviews on here but if you are looking to go to this site planning to spend the whole week onsite being entertained and not explore the locals areas, I could imagine you would be bored.

We checked out the evening entertainment on the first night and it was abit dated so we ended up going to a local pub for a few drinks. Would recommend the Railway Inn, friendly locals and only a 5 min walk from the entrance to the park.

I also think you pay for what you get for so upgrade if possible. If you pay for the Bronze Caravan, expect Bronze standards.

Overall, a fantastic stay and would recommend to anyone who is interested in going.

Room Tip: Request a room up the hill for better views, more space and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have no idea where the bad reviews have come from. This place was lovely.

We booked a BRONZE caravan for a 2 night stay & arrived at 9:30pm Friday night. We checked in at the bar & were given information on where to find our caravan & on the facilities available. We stayed in caravan 336 in area 3. It was lovely, clean, warm & there were no problems at all. This was the cheapest option of accommodation yet we had a tv, decent heating, a comfy bed & all pots & pans.

Our van had a lovely view of the sea & was far away enough from the amenities to ensure it was quiet, but was close enough to mean we didn't have to walk too far for a drink.

We could have done with a couple of extra days to be honest.

Lovely & relaxing.

Little tip, take a trip to Devil's Bridge Waterfalls. They're stunning!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank everdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

arrived at brynowen feeling anxious after reading reviews on trip advisor and i have to say... what a load of crap those reviews were, arrived in reception ready to check in and was greeted by extremely friendly staff who showed me where the check in spot was, after checking in we went upto our caravan, which was SPOTLESS! so i cant understand the unclean comments of some people. probably the grumpy people that have the £9.50 holidays which want a perfect caravan so they dont have to go out and spend any money. club and swimming pool were ok, the staff there were a bit rude and not as friendly as the welcome we had from the lovely staff at reception on arrival, all in all i found my stay wonderful, lovely clean caravan, friendly welcome, my young son loved it, i will recommend this site and be coming back again myself. thank you

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stopped in a silver caravan(I dread to think what bronze are like).it was dirty and smelly ,the heated towel rail was hanging off, the cutlery draw was missing,the cutlery was put under the sink and all the other implements were thrown on the floor underneath with what I hope was ketchup smeared all over floor,handle was completely Broken of fridge,too many other Broken and missing things to list.£3.75 for pint of flat fosters and over £5 for glass of wine £4.40 for a bottle of newky brown,just a rip off.telly in patio bar wich me and my son watched footy on had been bought from cash converters for about a fiver .brynowen was probably a nice place to go about 40 years ago.no chance of competing with the likes of parkedean or haven.you would think withh how much they charge they would re invest some back into the place.in short dirty dated and overpriced.sept 2012.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just had 3 night stay at Brynowen . We had to stay in a Bronze caravan because we have a dog. i would rate the site adverage and the caravan poor.
Caravan very poor.
1.The window in the childrens room had a gap you could feel the cold blowing through.
2. Toilet door did not shut properly.
3. Shower room had no lock on the door.
4. Double room , you could feel the springs in the matress.
5. Living area. Fire very rusty. Seating area very worn .

on the positive side of the caravan

1. Old rusty fire gave out a good heat.
2. Caravan was clean.
3. Caravan kitchen was well equiped

Facilities on the site
1. Arcade very good with nice little bowling alley.
2. Shop . small has all your essentials
3. park and swimming pool i can not comment as we did not use them.

entertainment. VERY GOOD
We enjoyed the entertainment at night the staff all work very hard the compair got everybody interested. The children loved all the games and dances .
The staff worked very hard . expecially the blond male dancer he really enjoys his job and puts everything into it.
Reception staff helpful
Bar staff ok
Arcade lady very helpful
shop staff ok
Entertainment great worked hard .compair great and blond male dancer great. both enjoyed the job

ITS A SHAME THAT THE CARAVAN LET THIS SHORT BREAK DOWN . WHY THEY DON'T HAVE A FEW CARAVANS SILVER AND GOLD THAT ARE PET FRIENDLY.

Room Tip: if you don't have a dog then upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberystwyth
5.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
326 reviews
4.6 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
669 reviews
4.5 mi away
Llwynygog Guest House
Llwynygog Guest House
#17 of 36 in Aberystwyth
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Nanteos Mansion
Nanteos Mansion
#8 of 36 in Aberystwyth
361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Llety Ceiro Country Guest House
4.8 mi away
The Garden Cottage Guest House
The Garden Cottage Guest House
#28 of 36 in Aberystwyth
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynowen Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynowen Holiday Park

Address: Brynowen Lane | Borth, Aberystwyth SY24 5LS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $13 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Brynowen Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynowen Holiday Park - Park Hotel Aberystwyth
Brynowen Holiday Park Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing