We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brynowen Holiday Park
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have no idea where the bad reviews have come from. This place was lovely.

We booked a BRONZE caravan for a 2 night stay & arrived at 9:30pm Friday night. We checked in at the bar & were given information on where to find our caravan & on the facilities available. We stayed in caravan 336 in area 3. It was lovely, clean, warm & there were no problems at all. This was the cheapest option of accommodation yet we had a tv, decent heating, a comfy bed & all pots & pans.

Our van had a lovely view of the sea & was far away enough from the amenities to ensure it was quiet, but was close enough to mean we didn't have to walk too far for a drink.

We could have done with a couple of extra days to be honest.

Lovely & relaxing.

Little tip, take a trip to Devil's Bridge Waterfalls. They're stunning!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    365
    206
    154
    165
See reviews for
814
220
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

arrived at brynowen feeling anxious after reading reviews on trip advisor and i have to say... what a load of crap those reviews were, arrived in reception ready to check in and was greeted by extremely friendly staff who showed me where the check in spot was, after checking in we went upto our caravan, which was SPOTLESS! so i cant understand the unclean comments of some people. probably the grumpy people that have the £9.50 holidays which want a perfect caravan so they dont have to go out and spend any money. club and swimming pool were ok, the staff there were a bit rude and not as friendly as the welcome we had from the lovely staff at reception on arrival, all in all i found my stay wonderful, lovely clean caravan, friendly welcome, my young son loved it, i will recommend this site and be coming back again myself. thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stopped in a silver caravan(I dread to think what bronze are like).it was dirty and smelly ,the heated towel rail was hanging off, the cutlery draw was missing,the cutlery was put under the sink and all the other implements were thrown on the floor underneath with what I hope was ketchup smeared all over floor,handle was completely Broken of fridge,too many other Broken and missing things to list.£3.75 for pint of flat fosters and over £5 for glass of wine £4.40 for a bottle of newky brown,just a rip off.telly in patio bar wich me and my son watched footy on had been bought from cash converters for about a fiver .brynowen was probably a nice place to go about 40 years ago.no chance of competing with the likes of parkedean or haven.you would think withh how much they charge they would re invest some back into the place.in short dirty dated and overpriced.sept 2012.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just had 3 night stay at Brynowen . We had to stay in a Bronze caravan because we have a dog. i would rate the site adverage and the caravan poor.
Caravan very poor.
1.The window in the childrens room had a gap you could feel the cold blowing through.
2. Toilet door did not shut properly.
3. Shower room had no lock on the door.
4. Double room , you could feel the springs in the matress.
5. Living area. Fire very rusty. Seating area very worn .

on the positive side of the caravan

1. Old rusty fire gave out a good heat.
2. Caravan was clean.
3. Caravan kitchen was well equiped

Facilities on the site
1. Arcade very good with nice little bowling alley.
2. Shop . small has all your essentials
3. park and swimming pool i can not comment as we did not use them.

entertainment. VERY GOOD
We enjoyed the entertainment at night the staff all work very hard the compair got everybody interested. The children loved all the games and dances .
The staff worked very hard . expecially the blond male dancer he really enjoys his job and puts everything into it.
Reception staff helpful
Bar staff ok
Arcade lady very helpful
shop staff ok
Entertainment great worked hard .compair great and blond male dancer great. both enjoyed the job

ITS A SHAME THAT THE CARAVAN LET THIS SHORT BREAK DOWN . WHY THEY DON'T HAVE A FEW CARAVANS SILVER AND GOLD THAT ARE PET FRIENDLY.

Room Tip: if you don't have a dog then upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Previously stayed at a park resort on the isle of wight, in a lovely silver caravan and really nice park so had high hopes for this visit. We booked a gold caravan and asked to be placed on the slopes as we heard the views were really nice. We were told there were only 3 caravans left at the time of booking but were assured that we would be placed in a caravan 'up the hill'. Upon checking in we found that our caravan (229) was not on the slopes as promised, but at the bottom of the site where the caravans were really packed in together. On the other hand, we were close to the entrance of the park and the facilities so decided to check it out. I was really disappointed with the caravan unfortunately. Having booked for a gold plus I was expecting a really nice interior, the website states 'luxury fixtures and fittings' instead it just seemed to be more of a bronze standard. It was really basic, nothing like the pictures on the website suggested. It had the central heating and microwave and was big, but other than that it just seemed quite scruffy, perhaps an old model? but not what we were expecting at all. Granted, we paid mostly with clubcard vouchers, but just because we didn't hand over much 'actual' money it doesn't seem right to warrant a disappointing standard of accommodation. The carpets were stained, there were crumbs on the toaster and top of the fridge. We had no t.v remote and very limited channels, and no frying pan - we called reception on discovery of both missing items. The handyman took an hour to come out regarding the television - no apology, told us that people must have stolen the remote and there was no replacement, and he actually chuckled at the fact we were only able to get 6 freeview channels, telling us thats the best we were going to get?! The caravan was designed for 8 people but only 3 mugs and 4 dinner plates. The bathroom was clean and had a nice shower, but the main bedroom was very small and we noticed mould and mildew on all of the curtains. Curtains in the living room were hanging of the railings. We had unpacked mostly by the time we discovered all these things, and as my partner pointed out there were only 2 other caravans available at the time of booking and these were bronze, so would have been no improvement. We stayed put and found the heating to work fine, the caravan functioned OK but we had to do quite a clean of the kitchen and crockery/cutlery before we felt able to use it.

The views further up the park are really stunning, and some of the other caravans looked amazing (though I think these may have been private) did not really use the facilities so can't comment, we found the staff to to have quite a bad attitude, both the handyman and reception staff seemed to just not care very much.
We used the local shop Nisa a couple of times, well priced and stocked, had a little stroll along borth seafront one evening very nice views of sunset as you're right on the west coast. We had a car though so mostly exploring further afield. Devils bridge waterfalls worth a visit and also some lovely drives and views to be had (elan valley in particular). Also went on tallylyn steam railway, again lovely views waterfalls to stop off at really good day out.

Absolutely love Wales and we have visited many times, and will do in the future, but never again to stay at this park.

Room Tip: ask for a on the slopes! more space between caravans and chance of a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_Baker05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our third visit to Brynowen because we were doing the newspaper deals. We had a silver plus caravan on the hill. I always ask for the hill because the space between the pitches and can't be doing with being too close to the Entertainment Centre.

We were really happy with our caravan and this one had decking. The weather wasn't too kind for us however it was a pleasure to watch our children play on the grassed area with the other children.

I believe some customers who were on lower pitches at the bottom of the hill were flooded during a storm. An advantage of being on the hill.

Caravan was comfy, warm and we didn't have any problems with it.

Swimming pool was ok however I do think it is due for modernisation. The changing rooms need a rethink however our children are always happy in the pool.

As we had been to Aberystwyth many times we went across to the estuary to Aberdovey. Well worth a visit however be prepare for traffic delays near Macunleth (sorry spelt incorrectly).

Entertainment is fine although we had seen the format 3 times over. I think something had happened to some of the entertainment staff (dodgy) as the staff seemed very cagey as why they weren't at work and the story changed 3 times within a night. Having said that the staff work very hard to keep customers entertained and many of them work during the day as well as the night.

Would we go back again.. well maybe however this was our third visit and we would like to explore a little further.

Accommodation was fine, entertainment was fine, pool ok, didn't eat in the restaurant (never do), staff are friendly in reception.

Room Tip: Always, always upgrade. Go for pitches on the hill if you are fit and able as it seems quieter up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southycomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I loved this place when I was a child so have returned with my family what a disappointment caravan at first appearance la lovely pity not been cleaned issues of blown bulbs and equipment reported but not dealt with then to top it off door lock broke on the only night we wanted to go out no reply on security no reply on reception having to go round site at 9 pm to be told it was knackered and surprise they couldn't do it so no night out be aware standards are not good at all

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1966sadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve m, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
This doesn't make for good reading!

Sorry - it appears we have let things slip here.

I have had the caravan checked and all is now fine - but that doesn't make it better for you.

Not our usual standard - hope your affection for the area means that you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.6 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
11.1 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynowen Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynowen Holiday Park

Property: Brynowen Holiday Park
Address: Brynowen Lane | Borth, Aberystwyth SY24 5LS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Brynowen Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynowen Holiday Park - Park Hotel Aberystwyth
Brynowen Holiday Park Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing