We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looked too much into bad reviews”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberystwyth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brynowen Holiday Park
Holyhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“looked too much into bad reviews”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We have just returned from bryn owen and after reading all the bad reviews and being put off i was very impressed when we arrived.Brand new caravan very friendly staff.People expect too much from these parks and now i believe a caravan holiday is what you make of it.My children loved it and the entertainment was very good for them.Will definately be going again pitty about the weather but we still had a brilliant relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glenn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    369
    208
    155
    167
See reviews for
822
227
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Me and my partner stayed in a standard caravan for a week and thougherly enjoyed it! We had lovely views of the sea to the left and rolling hills to the right. We experienced friendly staff, a good onsite shop/ resturant & entertainment. As it was just the two of us with no children we used the campsite as a base for an outdoors holiday and a cosy den for when it rained. The sea is 5 mins away with spectacualr sunsets and make for lovely evening walks.
The area is quiet, with alot of holiday homes, very few shops and places to eat.
A short drive away you have Aberystwyth, RSPB sites, Devils bridge and Dolphin spotting to name a few.

The only negatives i have is the flucuating shower tempurature and the local animalarium.

Room Tip: For better views and to avoid too many neighbours go higher up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We're family of five, 6 year old, twin 3 year olds.
Stayed in a silver caravan, looked fairly new,
Was spacious, and very comfortable, don't know what difference with gold would be.
A huge caravan park, biggest I've been to yet, don't know what some people expect.
happiness and satisfaction is down to your own attitude and expectations, you have to expect hiccups when running a park on this huge scale,
+ i expected the worst from all the reviews and was presently surprised!
+ not one power cut while we stayed for a week, april 2012
+ gas ran out, power did not automatically switch to spare bottle, we rang reception, had site person come to us and call out local engineer, he arrived and fixed still within the hour!
+ large, spacious, clean caravan
+ some minor cosmetic damages (loose wardrobe door handle, no toilet blind)- to be realistic, has to be expected when the amount of traffic that passes thru these caravans. (attached a hand towel with hair bands to blind fixing)
+ also if you don't want damp, mold our cold then stay in a brick building with insulated walls and pay the price for it!!
+ take extra hand towels for bath mats etc
+ def take extra blankets for warmth
+ ask for caravan 511 for a pleasant stay
+ good play park with variety of climbing equipment, tho not big
+ swimming pool on the small side, only had half hour on busy rainy day before they booted us out
+ however good variety of water sports offered, zorbing+kyaking
+ never used evening entertainment, or food as we discovered lovely family run cafe in borth village.
+ borth beach lovely all amenities needed, toilets, butchers, nisa, cafe, beach shop, crazy golf is only thing missing
+ def recc visiting animalrium, tho £12 for adults so is expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beccles1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We loved brynowen 7 years ago & re-visited april 2012 & well what can we say except,,, GONE DOWN HILL OR WHAT !! The park has clearly had no investment. the pool was closed no toddlers sparky club at 6.00pm. staff had nothing good to say, only that the manager is an idiot & cant be bothered. We will not be staying there ever again. The only good thing was that we rented a private caravan on the upper slopes. A sad & miserable holiday as a whole & went home 3 days early.

Room Tip: dont stay at brynowen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

oxfordshire
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

well after the reviews i was dreading this sun...fri to mon hol but i must say was pleasantly surprised!!!!If we looked around, yes we would have found fault, but i do believe a holiday is what you make of it!It was a family holiday and my boys of 6 and 4 had a wonderful time and when they happy we are happy if you know what i mean.The caravan was basic, we were a bit cold until we figured out how to work the bedroom heaters but otherwise we werent expecting anything more and the boys thought it was great fun!We did take alot of our own food as we know how expensive they can be and glad we did.The park was very clean, the kids entertainment was fantastic and even kept the adults amused.The pool was very clean and warm and the pool manager(who org for my son to go on the flume the morning we left 23rd which was closed due to the weather)the s.african guy and the girl were all friendly and helpful...my only gripe was the local convenience store although well stocked was run by a lady that was so miserable and rude, that we stopped going in.The staff in the kiosk at the bottom amusement centre where bowling is werent too friendly either.All in all a great family holiday and alot to do just outside of Borth.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My mate & I booked a Gold static caravan, for our base for a long weekend boozing getaway. Upon arrival, it was ready, clean and pretty well appointed. The van was privately owned, but sublet to Park Resorts. It was in a great plot on the site, which is quite steep, so views from the top are great.

We eat in the "restaurant" on the first night, which resembled a 1950's Anderson Shelter, but made from breeze block. The food we had was a soggy pizza each, straight from the freezer. Service was not quick, and from an overworked employee who long since gave two hoots about customer service, if she ever possessed any in the first place.

Drinks at the bar were not cheap and the "entertainment" was more cheesy than you dare imagine. We were not their usual audience to be fair. If you have kids, they'll probably love it. Although, I'm not sure what target audience they had in mind, when they decided to add a couple of camp, half naked male "dancers" to the bill. I suspect that's not suitable for the kids still present during the "adult entertainment".

Needless to say, we didn't return to the complex, preferring to enjoy the peace of the caravan instead. Our stay was incident free and the accommodation was worth 4 stars, but the 2 star food etc, has dragged the whole experience down to average.

From the look of the site, the cheapest vans will be squashed in together on the lower parts of the site, which would have been slumming it a bit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodgergammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I don't know what all the bad reviews were about! we went here with holidays with the sun and stayed in a bronze standard caravan. It was excellent, clean and very good quality. The site itself was fabulous and I couldn't have asked for anymore considering the price we paid however it would be worth full price. The entertainment was fantastic especially for children, we don't even have children and we enjoyed it. The bingo is a really fun additive to the early evening. The patio bar is excellent for a quick drink and bite in the day and the bar in the evening is cheap, fast service and very friendly staff. Borth itself is a very quaint little village with a nice pebble beach front, we had a very nice meal in the Railway Inn one evening. We also got the train from Borth station about 15mins from the site to Aberyswth and it cost a mear 1.70 each way which is fab. We could have a lovely meal in Little Italy and a drink and then get the train back :) All in all a fabulous site, holiday and not one power cut over our 4 days so don't listen to these bad reviews as I'm not quite sure what people expect with a caravan site but this was top notch in my opinion!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danni772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.6 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
11.1 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynowen Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynowen Holiday Park

Property: Brynowen Holiday Park
Address: Brynowen Lane | Borth, Aberystwyth SY24 5LS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Aberystwyth
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Brynowen Holiday Park - Park Hotel Aberystwyth
Brynowen Holiday Park Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing