We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”
Review of Gwesty Cymru

Gwesty Cymru
Ranked #3 of 152 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Award winning seafront restaurant
cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I had not heard of this restaurant until my friend recommended. It was excellent in every way. Lovely setting, beautiful food, welsh produce and so unexpected from my Aberystwyth stay. I wish we had something like this in Cardiff.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dotty1cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    78
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Five us ate here on 13/8 everything was excellent. Small cosy restaurant. Staff very friendly and accommodating. I can't eat Spinach and the chicken dish I wanted was stuffed with cheese and spinach, so I asked if I could have it without the stuffing as I can't eat Spinach! When it came it was stuffed with cheese but no Spinach, it was gorgeous. Everything everyone I our group had was delicious. Everything is home cooked and clearly not pre prepared as my request proved! Would definitely recommend and would return again if in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenC8998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bwyd Cymraeg arbennig”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a lovely meal for four here last night, the menu was focused on local seasonal ingedients and well presented. Diolch i'r merched gweini am noswaith hyfryd.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc_Conpassionata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious food watching beautiful sunset”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were very lucky as the weather was perfect and we were able to sit outside and watch a beautiful sunset. The food was delicious. Well cooked with fresh ingredients and good portion sizes. I had chicken breast, wrapped in pancetta and stuffed with spinach and Welsh cheese with a Marsala sauce and it was moist as well as very tasty.
It’s not cheap for an evening meal but competition is limited in Aber. The waitress deserves a mention, as she was absolutely lovely and very impressively kept her heels on during the whole service!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmuffin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“An oasis in the desert..............”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

After much researching and consulting TA reviews, we picked the Gwestry Cymru restaurant and called in late afternoon to book a table. Many of the eating establishments in Aberystwyth looked quite scruffy and seemed to cater mainly for the student population and day trippers but this place stood out as a comfortable restaurant with a great location on the seafront and a good menu.
We started with a drink outside (tables cannot be booked here unlike inside) and then took our table indoors. Whilst waiting for the starters we had some delicious bread with a tasty balsamic glaze and olive oil dip.
For starter I ordered the scotch egg wrapped in sausage, bacon and a black pudding coating and served on a potato rosti, which was tasty, whilst my wife had the local scallops, that were cooked to perfection. She chose the cod special for main and I picked the salmon which had a delicious whisky, soy, maple and sesame marinade. Both plates were beautifully presented. The coffee, chocolate and marsala torte was deliciously stodgy and calorie laden and ended the meal very nicely.
The location, quality of the food and excellent service all contributed to a very enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwesty Cymru also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Gwesty Cymru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing