We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday meal”
Review of Massalla Lounge

Massalla Lounge
Ranked #8 of 347 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Worcester's favourite Indian restaurant.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went to massalla lounge for my boyfriends 23rd as a group of 18. Prior to our visit I'd dropped off balloons banners and a cake and chosen where to sit. The manager was very accommodating and the staff did an amazing job of decorating our area.
On the night, there was confusion as to what the vouchers I'd printed off included and the waiter who was serving us was very rude and made us feel a nuisance. Once we'd finally ordered we were asked how many popadoms we wanted without being told of the extra charge which we thought was a tad cheeky but resolvable as only 50p per extra dom.
However, a meat main was given to a vegetarian and three mains took at least 10 mins to arrive after the majority of the group had theirs and several mistakes were made but resolved adequately. The food quality was excellent though and cannot fault the meal itself.
As we'd all done the Massalla meal we were expecting to pay around £13 each however were presented with a bill with several extras which were not mentioned by the rude waiter at the beginning of the meal which again caused annoyance. The manager was very helpful throughout trying to sort the bill however it did result in the organiser (me) having to pick up the rest of the bill. Overall, I'd thoroughly recommend massalla lounge but be sure to clarify exactly what extra charges their are and if you get the waiter we did, good luck.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SAB2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    103
    26
    20
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Indian in town, best Indian ever”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

They always greet you sincerely at the door. Service is quick and efficient. Food is gorgeous. I was never fan of Indian food until I had Malibu Corma at Massalla. That is heavenly dish. If you are about in Worcester it is one of these things you should try in your life ... But be careful you will want to try it again! And I must not forget the glass of Baileys that is served at the end of your meal ... It compliments the dinner and the establishment perfectly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elleamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best curry house ever”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was the first time i had ever been to Worcester and it was through asking a local person that we were recommended the Massalla lounge.
What a great recommendation it was. The food was brilliant and for the price of it we couldn't believe our luck. I live in the south east and a comparative meal would have easily cost twice as much but for the same quality food.
What really topped it off for us was the service.
We were served by Kamran and he gave such natural service it was like we were regulars. He went the extra mile for us even knowing we were only in Worcester for the night.
Overall great food and great service made for one of the best eating experiences I've ever had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodrow606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Valentines Meal!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I took my girlfriend here on valentines day, and the place was brilliant! The place was packed, I didn't see a free table and it's not hard to see why!

As it was so busy we entered and got escorted to the lounge area to wait with a menu until our table was ready, and the staff on the bar came straight over to see what drinks we wanted whilst we waited. A very nice touch on such a busy night. Being valentines day they had made extra effort, with decorative balloons and a very appropriate playlist on in the backgorund.

The food was brilliant, great portion sizes, quality and we were never left wondering where our next course was, even though it was busy the waiting staff were excellent. We opted for a sharing tandoori platter to start, which was wonderfully cooked and tender, followed by a main of red mullet and a jalfrezi, both of which got wonderful reviews from both of us. The naan and rice was excelletly cooked and presented and there were absolutely no faults with the dishes.

The staff are very attentive, and are both incredibly professional and polite.

As is the norm with Massalla lounge, they provided a election of sweets and liquors once we had finished which was a lovely touch! And to top the night off they gave all the women a red rose to leave with to mark the occasion which was truly great customer service.

HUGE THANKS TO ALL THE STAFF
thoroughly deserving of the £10 tip!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Went here for the first time for a work 'do' on a quiet Monday night. Waiters were lovely, very casual and friendly but really efficient. Perfect relaxed yet happy atmosphere and very reasonably priced yet great food (and the wine was lovely too). Nothing more to add, really- they did everything right!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NamieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massalla Lounge also viewed

 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Massalla Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing