We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Browns Bar & Dining - CLOSED

Browns Bar & Dining
Price range: $4 - $45
Cuisines: American, Spanish, British, Contemporary, Wine Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Set on the beautiful and tranquil setting of the River Severn's South Quay just a stones throw away froml the hectic city life. This spot is an absolute favourite for families and visitors to Worcester alike. At any time of day enjoy relaxing while the children play in the fountains, or feed the swans on the river. Start your day relaxed. Join us for a morning tea or coffee, or get set for the day with a continental style breakfast 11am - 3pm: Want to escape the city buzz for a relaxed lunch? The Quay offers a modern and multicultured variety of choices for a quality lunch. Italian and flat breads, pastas, tapas, and daily specials. 3Pm - 5pm: The traditional english afternoon tea. A selection of teas, cakes, pastries sandwiches and everything you need to enjoy the beautiful River Severn views. 5Pm: Looking to dine out for the evening? Want to treat friends or a loved one? Then book in with us for our evening service. Make a choice from our fresh fish counter, or select from our menu of specials designed by our top team of chefs. Experience the heighst of fine dining and enjoy an exquisite evening. Late: We take you late while you enjoy the sights and sounds of the South Quay. This is a time for a wide ranging choice of cocktails, wines and champagnes, a perfect finish to the day. The Quay also offers a conference room available for corporate events or private hire. With a variety of options, including cocktail making courses, and wine tasting with a selection of the best wines from across the world. We can tailor the experience to your needs. Contact us to discuss your options.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Dined here for a birthday celebration. Not the first time I have been here but thought the food was much better on this occasion. We had a selection of starters - moules, prawn cocktail, fishcakes, all of which were really good. Most of the table chose the fillet steak for main, which was cooked as we'd all requested - very good. By dessert we were all full, but shared a piece of the amazing peanut butter and nutella cheesecake! Selection of wines and bubbles very good too - especially the pink bubbles!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    62
    33
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, Worcs
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We dined here on a Friday night for our anniversary. Shown to our table and given menus. I chose haddock fish cakes to start which were lovely and other half had prawn cocktail which he said was great. I had a rib eye steak and other half ordered a trio of pork. Not very big portions considering steak cost £19. Please be aware of the salt cellar.....it is pepper and salt in one and I tipped it upside down to have a sprinkle of salt on my steak but it poured out....waiter did say I could get another but I declined wish I had changed it cause it was very salty lol. I asked for medium to well done....was too well done but hey ho. Desserts were lovely. Service was good. It was quite busy for a Friday night and so noisy. Overall nice but can think of other places to have a nice meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suki_meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleshill, Warks UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had lunch here when visiting Worcester. It was a very hot day so most people were dining outside and the inside was fairly empty. Service was still good and our food was very nice. One minor point the sun shone through the windows so much that it blinded us and we had to move around the table to avoid it all the time! Some blinds would be better but then how often is it that hot in the Uk?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bookiebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Went here for the steak & bottle of wine deal in the week & will definitely not be going again. Steak was very thin & stringy, the kind you would expect the in Tesco value section. We actually upgraded the wine to a £37 bottle of red which was ok but clearly only a fiver down the local off licence. We also started with 3 tapas that were very small for £12; that may be ok for some but I'm not a nouveau food man. Lastly, the service was abissmal; only 10 people in the place yet we were told we could sit where we liked & then were asked to move for some 'regulars'. We also waited & watched whilst empty tables were cleared & cleaned around us yet we had clearly finished our courses. Just a bad experience I guess, but won't be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tejenks66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a delightful Sunday lunch, two of us had a very tasty pea and broad bean risotto, two had the gourmet burgers. The wine was reasonably priced, service was attentive. We look forward to a return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanW52_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns Bar & Dining also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing