We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
Review of St. Lawrence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Lawrence Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Rhyl, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The room was large with a lovely queen sized bed, the room was rather warm though so we had to have the window open but as it isn't on the main road it didn't really bother us too much. The parking is limited but plenty of on road parking so we didn't really struggle to park at all. The room was a bit shabby, the wallpaper was coming off the walls a bit and the furniture looked quite old but other than that I can't fault it.

It's close to the City and there's a shop/garage just down the road, we arranged what time we would check in at and they were waiting for us, this is a family run B&B though and the reception desk is not always open so you get given a key for the front door and there's a notice on reception with a mobile number to call.

The shower we had was lovely, very powerful and a good tempature although the water didn't drain away very well so had to wait a few minutes before I could open the door to get out but I didn't find it an issues as such.

The place was quiet even though there were workmen staying there at the same time and we had no problems with outside noise either.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    32
    16
    20
See reviews for
7
43
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
preston, uk
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is on the Bath road about 10 minutes walk south of the city centre. A garage/ SPAR shop is even closer. Between the SPAR and the centre are about half a dozen good bars and restaurants. Bindles is very good.
The hotel itself is small and well run. The staff are friendly and efficient.
Breakfast is very good.
The rooms are old fashioned but clean and comfortable. You get tea and coffee and a large flat screen freeview TV.
All in all very good value. If you arrive late there may be insufficent parking on site, but you can park on the road in this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a group of friends, arriving a little early we were able to leave our bags in our room. On walking downstairs to the lounge another guest told us to be quiet as 'her son was sleeping' this was at 1.30 in the afternoon.
The hotel was dated and in need of some modernisation, the bathroom althoug huge had a tiny shower cubicle and the water was luke warm at best, and when my partner went to have a shower it was stone cold, there was no one about to complain to.
Breakfast was ok.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Worcester hotels

Alloa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Due to the races on in Worcester, this was the only hotel I could get into. I was a bit thoughtful on the price and what would it be like. Well I was pleasantly surprised, In room 5 so facing the main Bath road out of the town centre, it was not to noisy the decor a bit tired but clean tidy. The breakfast was excellent so no complaints at all for £35.00. The staff were very nice and pleasant as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We wanted a small hotel or B & B near Worcester so that we could go to the Malvern Flower Show May 2012. We chose the St. Lawrence - small hotel offering bed and breakfast at reasonable rates.
The hotel was on the main Bath Road but despite being on a main road it was quiet at night. It was only a ten minute walk into the town centre for an evening meal (we recommend Bindles - £12 for two courses - lovely food. Breakfast at the hotel was good and service pleasant.
Our room was spacious (on 1st floor) and the bed was comfortable. I do agree with some other reviewers that some of the decor is tired/dated - the furniture didn't match and a lick of paint is needed in places, but overall I would say that this hotel gives very good value for money and we would stay there again if travelling to the same area in future.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side of the hotel - quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstherSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Very welcoming and friendly. Staff very helpful. Rooms (6 & 7) comfortable and clean, didn't spot any of the problems mentioned in an earlier review, apart from the slightly temperamental bathroom light. Pleasant bright dining room, comprehensive breakfast, overall excellent value for money. Stayed overnight for a family wedding, very conveniently situated for central Worcester. Not a lot of room in the car park, but managed to find a space. Would definately return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rb004d2169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Lovely and warm large double room with a very comfortable large bed, decour a little tired. Comprehensive breakfast with friendly helpful staff, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room 6 is large
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve191159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
4.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lawrence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lawrence Hotel

Property: St. Lawrence Hotel
Address: Bath Road, Worcester WR5 2JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Lawrence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Lawrence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Lawrence Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing