We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel for the races!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a great hotel for the races!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were a group of four staying in two rooms for one night whilst we had a day at the races! Checking in and out was easy, we had lunch, which was a sandwich and frys and a drink, this was good value, looked appetising and tasted good! The entertainment came from the parrot in the bar who was very funny and kept us all entertained. Dinner was very tasty and once again entertained by Joey the parrot! The rooms were clean and and adequete. Staff are first class and looked after us well. This is our second stay at this hotel and we will all be back when visiting Worcester! Thanks go to everyone who looked after us!

Room Tip: Our rooms were near reception and were fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write on here and for your 4 star rating. I hope you have won the race ?
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    166
    89
    61
    40
See reviews for
85
218
14
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We celebrated my father's 80th birthday with Sunday lunch at the Pear Tree. We went for the Carvery which was very well cooked, with lovely choice of vegetables. Good variety of starters and desserts. We felt the carvery was very reasonably priced. Great service too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martynandjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write on here and for your 5 star rating.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pythagorion, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just attended the wedding of my Step daughter at this venue, everything was perfect that the hotel arranged. The room we had ( Executive suite ) was a bit more expensive but worth every penny, the food was amazing, the staff were experienced & the customer service was well received.
My dealings with Jason on Reception were first class, the wedding Co-ordinator Nick was professional from start to finish & he managed his staff on the day perfectly, everyone knew what they had to do and when.

Well done to The Pear Tree for making this a very memorable day!!

Room Tip: We booked an Executive Room which was a little more expensive but worth it, spacious & light ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llamedos312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write on here and for your 5 star rating.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had our wedding reception here on Sunday the 11th and it was absolutely incredible. Nick, the hotel manager, ran the day like clockwork and made sure we were happy throughout. He managed his team wonderfully well and even returned on his day off to make sure we had a great breakfast the next morning. The wedding was amazing with all our needs met - access for disabled relatives, food alternatives for pregnant guests and any issues with quickly dealt with, with complementary wine given to one guest and champagne to another when things didn't go completely to plan. We would recommend this venue to everyone. We had beautiful weather so were able to use the grounds. The rooms were wonderful for our guests and our bridal suite was amazing. The advice Nick gave us in the lead up and his experience resulted in the day being everything we had wanted and more. A huge thank you to Nick and the team.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teacher402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write on here and for your 5 star rating. I am delighted to read that Nick made your day wonderful.
I wish you both all the best for the future and hope to see you back for your fist anniversary !

Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed for one night early August.The first room we were given was a conference room with a double bed, close enough to reception to be able to hear what people were saying.We asked to be moved and without any fuss were given a lovely twin room. Very clean, great shower. We ate in the hotel and have to say we thought the food was excellent.Nice bottle of wine too and the service was good.Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel and couldn't hear the M5 at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write on here and for your 5 star rating.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratalla
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for two nights here for a wedding reception and were not impressed.

No offer to carry our bags to our room. Air conditioning not working at all. Could not find any bar staff on first afternoon and were eventually served by a guy who told us he did not work for the Hotel. Hard to work out who were staff as there were no uniforms or name badges. We only had breakfasts (included in our deal), but would not have done otherwise as a full English breakfast was 12 pounds!
Seemed to be woefully understaffed. Asked for reduction due to lack of working air conditioning and were given 10%.
Would not stay there again

Room Tip: Try the nearby Premier Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.
I am sorry to read that we have failed to meet your expectations and my sincere apologies for this. As a 3 star Hotel we do not have a porter on duty however a member of our team should had been available to assist you, if requested, with your luggage. I hope you were pleased with the 10% off for the functionality of the air conditioning (we have since had them fully serviced). The gentleman who served you at the bar was actually a team member who was off duty at the time.
I hope you had a good time at your friend's wedding which you forgot to mention.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Worcester hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I don't usually review hotels, but feel compelled to on this occasion. The hotel is woefully understaffed and there is little attention to detail. There were dirty glasses and plates of wedding cake left out overnight in the garden adjoining the restaurant at the front of the hotel. The cake had been there since 4pm the previous day. Also, the wedding breakfast plates, empty bottles and glasses were still visible in the room opposite the restaurant at 10pm. This is totally unacceptable. They were not ready for breakfast at 8am, not a big problem for us but still a little odd. No toast offered to us and bizarrely milk was placed on empty tables in preference to ours when we were the only people in there. A bottle of red wine ordered at dinner was already uncorked when presented at our table, no red wine glasses were offered, no salt and pepper on the table. Not huge problems, but all together it comes across as very slapdash. The guys working in the bar are also waiting the tables in the restaurant. There needs to be at least another member of staff devoted to the restaurant and someone constantly clearing glasses from tables outside. Having said this, everyone was friendly and reception staff were good. I feel the hotel is overpriced for what is offered and I am afraid that I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
You are absolutely correct ! the outside patio should had been cleared straight after the event. However we had another wedding on that evening in the room next door which probably can justify the glasses outside etc... A staff member should have been allocated to do so and I have raised my concerns to the relevant Manager.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
3.9 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
501 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
586 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
St Andrews Town Hotel
St Andrews Town Hotel
#2 of 4 in Droitwich
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel

Property: Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Address: Smite Hill, Worcester WR3 8SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing