We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 days of happy memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“3 days of happy memories”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I visited [from Australia] for a well-attended family wedding and reception. In every respect, from checkin, our acommodation, meals and then throughout the function itself to checkout was handled beautifully. Our room was quiet, at a comfortable temperature, with a good bathroom and appropriate furniture. Abundant parking space was available immediately adjoining the building. A well laid-out bar provided a good spot for socialising for small or larger groups.
Overall the Pear Tree combines the facilities of a modern venue with a good deal of the charm of an old country house. Special mention must be made of the staff; constantly attentive, never intrusive and always good-humoured. We would recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny6642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post those nice comments on Tripadvisor which I have passed on to the Team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in your next visit.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    161
    85
    55
    33
See reviews for
78
207
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on a Groupon offer. The rooms where nice, staff was friendly and the food was great! It was great value for money and we will definitely be back for another stay. The cute Parrot in the bar was an extra little bonus! Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summergal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you very much for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor.
Please contact us again to check on our special deals.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice,friendly and professional receptionist who made checkig in easy and made us feel welcome.Room on 1st floor at the front,first thing I noticed on entering the room was a stain on one of the chairs and a valance that didn't go to the floor therefore revealing a well worn ripped in places divan bed base,but the room was very clean and had most things except,as my wife pointed out, a full length mirror,a must for most women.
Bathroom was very clean but again a niggle,the shower knob came off in my hand and the ceiling was peeling and dropping paint flakes in to the bath.15 minutes minutes work would have sorted the bathroom out which shouts a lack of attention to detail which is a shame.

Though the weather was cold we like fresh air whilst sleeping so opened the window a few inches but the proximity of the M5 meant a steady hum of traffic all night so ask for a room at the back!

At Breakfast we received a friendly welcome and informed of the choices, we selected our table and I ordered coffee assuming that a pot would arrive whereas the waiter poured it which led to having to catch his eye for a refill and as he spent a lot of time sorting out the detrious of a party held the night before there were few opportunities to catch his or the waitresses eye,the result of the ever present problem of lack of enough staff to do the job.
Another niggle is we don't want "Match of the Day" intruding into our breakfast,I can put up wth the verbose African Grey Parrot that resides close by but not the over excited diatribe of a football commentary!
I ordered a full English which when it arrived was freshly cooked and very nice but again a niggle,it took 25 minutes from ordering to arrival and yet another niggle no sauces,mustard etc. so had to catch waiters eye,request,wait and eventually start a rapidly cooling meal and there were only 3 other guests in the room so it wasn't inordinately busy.Breakfast was included in our room rate which worked out at £10 pp for breakfast as against the £12 if it is not, both sums are over priced for the experience you receive.

Overall a nice stay in a friendly,comfortable,average hotel slightly spoiled by easy to rectify niggles resulting mostly from the usual lack of attention to detail and lack of adequate staff numbers.

Oh and the public area carpet is stomach churningly naff,I know I was in the Pear Tree but I don't need reminding of it at every step!!

Room Tip: Request a room at the back to escape noise from the M5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plodus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are constantly working on improving our customer service and I thank you for letting me know about your experience with us and my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. We have now redecorated our bathrooms.
We will be delighted to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset uk
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was a bit worried about the weather conditions and access but all was well. We found the good route for the snow/ice on the way home, through Droitwich. Not many people were venturing out, so the hotel was quiet and on 'tick-over', I think.

The staff were helpful and there were just enough of them. We did not book an evening meal (and I think they were relieved at that). The room was Ok, not as good as previously; it looked a bit bashed about and 'home-made' but it was nice and WARM, which was good. The 'snug' had been rearranged as a dining area which was a bit of a disappointment as we really liked sitting next to the fire there, in the comfy sofas, last year.
Breakfast was good but did not offer the range of last year. I was looking forward to salmon and scarmbled egg, and I was offered 'cooked breakfast'. It was fine. Joey, the parrot was in fine form, very chatty, and probably a bit bored because of the lack of visitors?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I was surprised to read that you were not offered the Smoked Salmon and Scrambled egg for Breakfast as it is on our menu.
Like you rightly said the hotel was quiet due to the poor weather conditions.
Thank you again for staying with us.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Staffed very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, this hotel is about a twenty minute drive from worcester and is situated in a rural location. The bedroom were of a decent size and so was the bathroom, tea and coffee facilities in the rooms. We had a evening meal which was fairly priced and also breakfast with two options continental or cooked .we were a party of five and we all said we would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor.
I am looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was attending a friends wedding, and came across this hotel on Laterooms.

Perfectly situated in the countryside but close to motorway links.

Although the hotel decor is a little dated, it is spotlessly clean throughout. The bedrooms are comfortable and spacious.

The staff are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We had a lovely greeting by the gentleman who was on the reception on Saturday (12th) afternoon. They were also very flexible in extending our check out time.

Breakfast was great - a good range and a plated full English breakfast.

Although just for one night, we really enjoyed our stay here and if ever in the area again I would stay here again. I strongly recommend this hotel.

Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your nice comments on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your friend's wedding with us.
Please contact us directly to book your room on your next visit and we will offer you a competitive rate.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have nothing but praise for this hotel. The location, staff, food and service were fantastic throughout the time we were there - they could not have done more. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for an overnight stay, a restaurant outing or indeed for a wedding to remember! The happy couple have now returned to Australia but will never forget their wonderful wedding day. Thanks to all the team at The Pear Tree who made it such a success.

Room Tip: Some of the beds we were told were a little hard, but that is really a personal thing. The motorway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingonbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to hear that The Pear Tree has delivered” A Wedding to Remember”.
I am looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
4.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
3.9 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester (M5,Jct6) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel

Property: Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Address: Smite Hill, Worcester WR3 8SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing