We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food”

Elgars Coffee Shop & Licensed Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 363 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Elgars coffee shop and licensed restaurant sits in the historical part of Worcester City Centre in Reindeer Court. Elgars is housed in a traditional beamed 16th century building, the coffee shop blends traditional English decor with Mediterranean influences.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We quite often eat here when we are shopping in Worcester, the food is always delicious and comes piping hot and quickly.
The owner and his staff always go out of their way to accommodate our pushchair and are very child friendly.
We started using this restaurant just over a year ago when we had a newborn needing milk feeds while we were out. We were always made to feel very welcome, on one occasion last winter our newborn started to cry so we relocated to sit outside as not to disturb others but the owner came out to fetch us back inside, he said "Don't worry, she's a baby and babies cry, come inside where it's warm" This attitude is so rare to find and encouraged us to keep returning.
Now our baby is eating solids they will adapt food if we request it eg) softer garlic bread.
The only downside is there are baby changing facilities and you have to pay by cash.
We hope to make it to one of their themed evenings at some stage.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kay8758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustafa G, Owner at Elgars Coffee Shop & Licensed Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for you kind comments they are very much appriecated. We look forward to seeing you again when your are in Worcester and we would like to advise you that we now take credit/debit cards.
We would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your family a Happy Christmas.

Kind Regards

Musty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 158 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Visited with my wife and quite frankly, although the service was good, ( waitress needs to learn to smile however ), the prices are just to high. £7 for a jacket potato ? Generally, had worse, but their are so many other options in Worcester at far better prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stumbled upon this place by chance after wondering around looking for somewhere for lunch. The staff were welcoming and let us choose where we wanted to sit. There was a large menu, lots of choice and the food looked great. We chose toasties - a ham, cheese and pickle one and a chicken, mushroom and brie which we shared. Both were delicious and were huge portions for a lunch. The prices were reasonable and the overall feel of the place is small, quaint and welcoming. I will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SarahLouChengdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustafa G, Owner at Elgars Coffee Shop & Licensed Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and in taking the time to write.

Regards

Musty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Meeting up in Worcester with some friends, we spotted this restaurant while walking through a super little arcade of shops. We went back later for lunch. Very attentive service without being intrusive. Lovely food - we all had something different and it was all very good. Super atmosphere and decor. We ate downstairs but there was an even bigger surprise upstairs - a beautiful old building left just as it should be whilst also looking like a great as a restaurant. We shall definitely be going there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ysggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustafa G, Owner at Elgars Coffee Shop & Licensed Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments, they are very much appreciated.

Regards
Musty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Called in during a brief visit to the superb city that is Worcester. It is situated in a covered area, just off one of the main shopping streets, but is light and very attractive. Amazing number of waitresses, all very polite and courteous. Prices typical for a city, but great value, as the food is excellent. My tuna baked potato was obviously created with care, as the salad and herbs used were fresh and tasty. Fascinating place, as it is named after the most British of people, Elgar, yet the restaurant is run by Fenerbache supporting people [a Turkish flag adorns a window]. Only one unfavourable comment. They didn't accept cards when we went and this wasn't made explicit. Otherwise very enjoyable, and will go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HealerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustafa G, Owner at Elgars Coffee Shop & Licensed Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you

Kind Regards
Musty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elgars Coffee Shop & Licensed Restaurant also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Elgars Coffee Shop & Licensed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing