We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb place”
other travelers have booked this property
Now doesn't that look inviting?
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Now doesn't that look inviting?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
117 reviews
Now doesn't that look inviting?
Privacy blinds
Wolferlow House, the former Victorian rectory
Outside balcony of The Retreat - perfect for afternoon tea
Wolferlow House, The Retreat and grounds - rural bliss in seven acres
View of the Spring Garden from The Retreat bedroom
View to the church from the rose arch
Entry steps to The Retreat
Juliet balcony
View from the entrance through the orchard
Juliet balcony
Garden views
View to the main gardens from the balcony
View of the orchard from the balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Worcester, Worcestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 117 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
123Ali201...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb place”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely place. Very peaceful and private. Kids absolutely adore the private swimming pool. Jill and Stuart superb hosts.

This was our 4th visit and hopefully many more in the future

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhammed...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice relaxing holiday let”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I went as a family (me, wife, 6 years, 3 years and 2 year old). It was a very enjoyable experience which makes this review a bit easier.

On arrival we were greeted by Stuart who was a true gentleman and showed us around the pool room and apartment and then left us alone to explore. Although the owners (Stuart & Jill) live in a estate house next door, this is attached to the holiday apartment with the pool room building in between the two properties which gives you more privacy. Throughout the stay Stuart and Jill made the effort to stay out of our way but they were always accessible when we needed them. They provided a welcome pack with all the usual takeaway numbers etc...this was useful.

Sauna - worked a treat and heats up like the Dubai dessert.

Swimming Pool - this was heated but the shallow end is about 2 metres deep so not for young children without proper supervision. Floaters were provided and my 3 year old loved sitting in one of the floaters and swimming off. I am a swimmer so this was the fun alternative to a session in the gym. It's brill.

Apartment - nice tidy apartment flat above the heated pool/sauna (accessed externally) and it has everything you needed. I advise others to remember to bring food (i.e. bread, milk, butter, etc...) or order from the owners daughter who has a catering business. There are several local farm shops and a couple we visited accepted debit card. There was a sofa bed in the living room, lots of DVD's, free internet, high chair, all the kitchen utensils you need, the apartment has a balcony and towels were provided too.

Activities - There are local horses and a sheep in the field owned. We drove to Hereford/Worcester each day of out visit and visited places like Worcester National Park, West Midland Safari Park, Hereford Waterworks Museum - Hereford HR4 0LJ) and Play Planet Playcentre, 122 Widemarsh St, Hereford HR4 9HN. There are lots of local walkways/fields to have a long walk if you prefer this.

Pets - Stuart does make people aware that he has two dogs and a cat. Both the cat and the young energetic jackrussell like to visit the apartment door and will enter the flat if allowed. This need not be an issue because Stuart/Jill can have the dogs taken indoors if anyone doesn't like dogs (we just let them know when we were out so that the dog could be let out to run in the garden).

Garden - there is part of the garden with a lawned path for children to explore safely. There is a female gardeners that had to visit a couple of times and Jill herself does some gardening in an evening but this is understandable due to the vast size of the garden. There is also a large Caribbean-style straw-roofed hutch which is nice to sit in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The heated pool/saunal
Liked least: Pet dog
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razza D
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Sitting in the pool area reflecting over the last 2 days. Perfect for relaxing and enjoying the beautiful gardens and views. The pool and sauna is a fantastic addition to already wonderful accommodation and facilities. Everything you would need is available on hand and if you need anything else, Stuart and Jill are happy to help. Wouldn't hesitate to book again. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieUk...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden treasure!”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our first holiday with our new baby and it was the perfect escape. Our little one loved the pool and it was great to have so many facilities to ourselves. Obviously having a baby can restrict your holiday somewhat so this place was perfect. The facilities are clean, the pool a good temperature and the bed super comfy! There are 2 friendly dogs on site and lovely bushy cat who will pop and say hello regularly. We really enjoyed our stay.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Martin C
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The Retreat is a Real Treat”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed for a few nights in May, following the directions that were supplied arrived with no problems.
The accommodation was well presented, clean and tidy. The addition of books, games and films made sure we was not bored. The view from the main window is lovely, and with the windows open all you can hear are the birds and the faint sound of the grazing sheep nearby, very relaxing.
The pool area was fabulous, lots of pool toys, ping pong table, spent many hours playing in the pool and using the sauna. It also has a toilet and shower area that you can use before and after using the pool.
Plenty of areas to explore, the gardens, surrounding area has some lovely walks, and some nice places to eat not too far away. Stuart & Jill were away during our stay, though replied to a query we had via email very quickly.
During our stay we were adopted by their cat 'Priscilla', who spent many hours lounging on the patio outside and coming in to see if we were OK, though this did result in her getting lots of cuddles and attention, which was fine.
Great place to stay and the pool/sauna is the icing on the cake. Will stay again if we are ever in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D
Rhondda Cynon Taf, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family weekend away”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights for May Day bank holiday. We took our 2 children (aged 8 &4) therefore the children occupied the main bedroom and us parents took the pull out bed in the living room. The bedroom was perfect for the children with 1 double bed for sharing, as it had blackout blinds so gave them the peaceful rest space they needed. The pull out sofa bed was very comfy and provided a good nights sleep for us parents. Was so lovely to fall asleep to the view of stars through the glass doors and sky windows (although it did not have blinds so was very bright in the early hours, the hosts provided eye masks so did not cause us a problem for sleeping). The accommodation was light & airy and had everything we needed for a self catered stay. Loved all the added extras such as board games, DVDS, books etc so we never got a chance to be bored! The children 'adopted' the playful puppy, crumpet and the older dog, Bramble for the weekend and loved the dogs company. We also saw a cat, sheep, 2 horses and copious birds during our stay. The grounds are amazing and we had the freedom to roam around to explore.

The pool room was truly a delight (and the main reason we booked!), the children spent most of their time in the pool which was warm and inviting. The sauna was a great extra too. There was a shower and toilet within the pool room which was great area to dress and shower before and after swimming. Again the pool room contained lots of extras such as spare goggles, snorkels, floats etc. It was our 1st wedding anniversary and we could not have spent it anywhere nicer than this place - a true find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the dogs, the location. Top tip: take flip flops to walk from house to pool as its down a gravel path.
Liked least: no blackout blinds to living area for sleeping (but we were given eye masks and it was special to fall asleep with the stars!)
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing