We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars I dont think so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We were going the Malvern Show so decided to have one night in Worcester, picked this hotel for location and swimming pool and it looked good on the internet . Booked an executive room for £95.00, there was nothing executive about this room. On check in the receptionist was frosty to say the least and abrupt thought we were booking into boot camp. The room was tiny and on the front of the Hotel no heating in the room and the swimming pool was shut, good start. Thankfully we were going out in Worcester so we went out early had a great night out so thought oh well breakfast should be good seeing as everything else in the Hotel as let us down. Wrong how a Chef can’t cook bacon and egg adequately is beyond me even the toast was like cardboard. But the staff in the restaurant were really good they should train the reception staff.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cognacgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2009

The hotel had plenty of parking spaces, I but had to go round the block one more time to access the parking area which I'd missed the first time!

The staff were very courteous at check-in. Our room was classed as Executive; very spacious and pretty well-equipped but the air-conditioning was not working and the windows did not open. Tried to move rooms but the only alternative ones were smoking and standard rather than executive. There was a fan supplied to make up for the lack of a/c, but if it had been a warm night, that wouldn't have helped much. Twin beds were comfortable, but on castors so did have a habit of slipping away from the wall if you were leaning against the headboard to read! The room had a kettle, hairdryer, trouser press, iron, safe (we didn't use the latter three). A small fridge would have been a wonderful addition. There were the usual supplies of tea & coffee etc; we didn't have many sachets of coffee and we mentioned this in passing to one of the staff and by the time we returned to our room, very ample supplies had been left. The TV didn't appear to be able to receive the terrestrial channels, which was rather odd, but did have Sky News.

Bathroom was large - the shower was over the bath & was a very efficient shower but the hot water was running cool mid-morning.

We tried some of the leisure centre facilities (towels obtained from the Hotel Reception) and were the only ones there, so the pool size which has been mentioned before was not a problem. We also tried the steam room, sauna and spa pool (which was very chlorinated). Bags were provided to put your wet swimming costume in which was a nice touch, but it would have been rather nice to have been able to leave the towels there rather than walk across the hotel lobby to return them to Reception.

Breakfast was served in a pleasant room; buffet style with a good selection of different items although the hot food was rather tepid and the plates weren't hot either. The breakfast staff were friendly and efficient.

The check out time is noon; we checked out of our rooms by then but did ask if we could leave our cars in their car park until about 2pm which was fine.

Overall we were pleased with the room; the location was excellent for visiting Worcester & there was a small Tesco across the road for any essentials!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aardvarksheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights on recent business trip. Rooms were clean..not too noisy.
Breakfast was good. Staff OK. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Stayed here one night with clients. The rooms were average, a bit hot and noisy at front of hotel, but clean and spacious.
Food pretty basic. What really let this hotel down was the level of service from staff. Abrupt receptionist and hopeless staff at breakfast and at the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed here while attending Cheltenham. The hotel is really just average. The rooms were extremely hot and didn't seem to cool off regardless of what temperature you selected. The windows did not open either so you felt stifled. The beds were average and the bar staff was plain rude. I didn't like that. Check in staff were courteous and helpful. It took on average 5 minutes to get hot water to the shower. All in all, just an average hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJamjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We stayed one night, Friday 20 February, in order to attend a concert. The hotel is right opposite one of Worcester's railway stations and on one of its main streets. So ideal for shops, restaurants too. The hotel has a dated look from outside but inside it is relatively modern. We had room 227 in the extension at the back of the hotel reached by a connecting bridge. The room had every equipment, such as iron+board, kettle etc. The two beds were very comfortable, and there were two armchairs. The bathroom had shower over the bath, but the controls were difficult to understand. It was clean and functional but the huge white tiles made it feel dated
The leisure centre is reached down the alleyway under the hotel arch. The pool is just 12m long and was crowded with 4 people in it. The changing facilities were in the process of being updated. It opened at 08.00 on Saturday.
Breakfast was included in the room rate of £75 and was basic. Toast was still sliced bread brought to the table. Very little fresh fruit.
Overall, a fair stay. Nothing to criticise but nothing to rave about either.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

The Valentine weekend could have been perfect. Staff were courteous, and efficient and on arrival in our room there were lovely gifts and a beautiful red rose. However, the Valentine dinner did not come up to our expectations. Many orders were being mixed-up and food was not 4-star standard. Use of the pool and jacuzzi were included. Nonetheless, it was value for money, but we will eat elsewhere in future!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller23023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.6 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Address: 62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: $72 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 16th century, this former coaching inn is adjacent to Foregate Street train station and located in the heart of this historic and vibrant city. Stay at our hotel and enjoy all that this cosmopolitan city has to offer such as its wealth of independent shops and restaurants, walk along the River Severn and view the Swan Sanctuary or choose to visit the tourist attractions which are all within walking distance such as Worcester Cathedral, Tudor House, The Commandery, Worcester Porcelain Museum and Worcester Museum and Art Gallery. It is also situated near Worcestershire County Cricket ground, a stone's throw away from the cathedral and the racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing