We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but shocking service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Stayed here one night with clients. The rooms were average, a bit hot and noisy at front of hotel, but clean and spacious.
Food pretty basic. What really let this hotel down was the level of service from staff. Abrupt receptionist and hopeless staff at breakfast and at the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed here while attending Cheltenham. The hotel is really just average. The rooms were extremely hot and didn't seem to cool off regardless of what temperature you selected. The windows did not open either so you felt stifled. The beds were average and the bar staff was plain rude. I didn't like that. Check in staff were courteous and helpful. It took on average 5 minutes to get hot water to the shower. All in all, just an average hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJamjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We stayed one night, Friday 20 February, in order to attend a concert. The hotel is right opposite one of Worcester's railway stations and on one of its main streets. So ideal for shops, restaurants too. The hotel has a dated look from outside but inside it is relatively modern. We had room 227 in the extension at the back of the hotel reached by a connecting bridge. The room had every equipment, such as iron+board, kettle etc. The two beds were very comfortable, and there were two armchairs. The bathroom had shower over the bath, but the controls were difficult to understand. It was clean and functional but the huge white tiles made it feel dated
The leisure centre is reached down the alleyway under the hotel arch. The pool is just 12m long and was crowded with 4 people in it. The changing facilities were in the process of being updated. It opened at 08.00 on Saturday.
Breakfast was included in the room rate of £75 and was basic. Toast was still sliced bread brought to the table. Very little fresh fruit.
Overall, a fair stay. Nothing to criticise but nothing to rave about either.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

The Valentine weekend could have been perfect. Staff were courteous, and efficient and on arrival in our room there were lovely gifts and a beautiful red rose. However, the Valentine dinner did not come up to our expectations. Many orders were being mixed-up and food was not 4-star standard. Use of the pool and jacuzzi were included. Nonetheless, it was value for money, but we will eat elsewhere in future!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller23023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

I stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends in the area.

The hotel is in a great location, in the centre of town, with shops, restaurants and bars all close by. There is a free car park for residents.

Our room was nice, with a large bathroom. The toilet roll holder was broken though, and you were unable to put the bathroom light on without putting the main lights on too (not great at 3am!). There was no bedside light either.

Reception were helpful with suggestions for dinner, and sending up extra pillows quickly.

Breakfast was buffet style, but you are able to order certain items cooked fresh (vegetarain sausages, eggs scrambled/poached/boiled, kippers, porridge). The service was slow as mentioned previously but overall the food was good.

I'd say overall this is more 3.5 than 4 star, due to the few points above. However, I enjoyed staying here, the room was clean, it was quiet, and the staff were pleasant. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ber24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Stayed at the Whitehouse Hotel in Worcester for 2 nights whilst competing in a sporting event.

The Hotel is right in the centre of Worcester and if you are reliant on Public Transport, then the Train Station is nearly opposite the Hotel. The Hotel also had ample Parking spaces, which was FREE to all guests.

Inside the Hotel I was greeted in a friendly manner by reception and was allocated a room on the first floor. This was a double room with plenty of space, clean and an extremely comfortable bed.

Breakfast was provided [buffet style], although I cannot comment on the standard as I never made it down in time - I prefer my sleep!!

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of this Hotel following reading some of the previous mixed reviews on Trip Advisor.

If I'm next visiting Worcester, I would definately consider staying at the Whitehouse Hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank YoungGun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Room was OK but shabby. Despite being on the road side we had no road noise- good double glazing. No bath but very good power shower.

Good central location, within yards of main shopping area and great for the Family History Centre. In easy walking distance of good street of great restaurants. Friar St. Hotel also has own car parking, no charge if staying.

Restaurant in hotel lacked atmosphere and appeared an afterthought.

Breakfast was truly awful: fruit flies like a mist around the cereal and crawling all over the bowls. Cooked food was dried out and had obviously been left under heat lamps too long. There were only 2 croissants and an unpleasant looking Danish pastry. This was 08.00hrs on a Tuesday. Having travelled widely we are not easily put off but on this occasion we decamped to the nearest Starbucks!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curhalios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worcester
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worcester
564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
524 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Address: 62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: $73 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier hotel right in the heart of the historic city centre of Worcester, Worcester Whitehouse Hotel offers quintessential English charm with modern convenience. Stay at our hotel and revel in the magnificent sight of the beautiful Worcester Cathedral, as it rises majestically above the River Severn. Guests staying at the Worcester Whitehouse Hotel can also enjoy the University City and also visit the most beautiful sporting venue in England, Worcestershire County Cricket Club. Built in the 16th century, this classic townhouse hotel is adjacent to Foregate Street train station and a short walk from the Worcester City Art Gallery and Museum. Worcester Whitehouse Hotel is situated near Worcestershire County Cricket ground, a stone's thow away from the cathedral and the racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing