We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located for Worcester Foregate railway station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We stayed one night, Friday 20 February, in order to attend a concert. The hotel is right opposite one of Worcester's railway stations and on one of its main streets. So ideal for shops, restaurants too. The hotel has a dated look from outside but inside it is relatively modern. We had room 227 in the extension at the back of the hotel reached by a connecting bridge. The room had every equipment, such as iron+board, kettle etc. The two beds were very comfortable, and there were two armchairs. The bathroom had shower over the bath, but the controls were difficult to understand. It was clean and functional but the huge white tiles made it feel dated
The leisure centre is reached down the alleyway under the hotel arch. The pool is just 12m long and was crowded with 4 people in it. The changing facilities were in the process of being updated. It opened at 08.00 on Saturday.
Breakfast was included in the room rate of £75 and was basic. Toast was still sliced bread brought to the table. Very little fresh fruit.
Overall, a fair stay. Nothing to criticise but nothing to rave about either.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2009

The Valentine weekend could have been perfect. Staff were courteous, and efficient and on arrival in our room there were lovely gifts and a beautiful red rose. However, the Valentine dinner did not come up to our expectations. Many orders were being mixed-up and food was not 4-star standard. Use of the pool and jacuzzi were included. Nonetheless, it was value for money, but we will eat elsewhere in future!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller23023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

I stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends in the area.

The hotel is in a great location, in the centre of town, with shops, restaurants and bars all close by. There is a free car park for residents.

Our room was nice, with a large bathroom. The toilet roll holder was broken though, and you were unable to put the bathroom light on without putting the main lights on too (not great at 3am!). There was no bedside light either.

Reception were helpful with suggestions for dinner, and sending up extra pillows quickly.

Breakfast was buffet style, but you are able to order certain items cooked fresh (vegetarain sausages, eggs scrambled/poached/boiled, kippers, porridge). The service was slow as mentioned previously but overall the food was good.

I'd say overall this is more 3.5 than 4 star, due to the few points above. However, I enjoyed staying here, the room was clean, it was quiet, and the staff were pleasant. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ber24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Stayed at the Whitehouse Hotel in Worcester for 2 nights whilst competing in a sporting event.

The Hotel is right in the centre of Worcester and if you are reliant on Public Transport, then the Train Station is nearly opposite the Hotel. The Hotel also had ample Parking spaces, which was FREE to all guests.

Inside the Hotel I was greeted in a friendly manner by reception and was allocated a room on the first floor. This was a double room with plenty of space, clean and an extremely comfortable bed.

Breakfast was provided [buffet style], although I cannot comment on the standard as I never made it down in time - I prefer my sleep!!

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of this Hotel following reading some of the previous mixed reviews on Trip Advisor.

If I'm next visiting Worcester, I would definately consider staying at the Whitehouse Hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank YoungGun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Room was OK but shabby. Despite being on the road side we had no road noise- good double glazing. No bath but very good power shower.

Good central location, within yards of main shopping area and great for the Family History Centre. In easy walking distance of good street of great restaurants. Friar St. Hotel also has own car parking, no charge if staying.

Restaurant in hotel lacked atmosphere and appeared an afterthought.

Breakfast was truly awful: fruit flies like a mist around the cereal and crawling all over the bowls. Cooked food was dried out and had obviously been left under heat lamps too long. There were only 2 croissants and an unpleasant looking Danish pastry. This was 08.00hrs on a Tuesday. Having travelled widely we are not easily put off but on this occasion we decamped to the nearest Starbucks!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curhalios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

A pretty drab exterior gives way to a light airy, quite impressive lobby, and a grand stairway; secure parking which is a plus; modern reasonably-equipped room, with most amenities, and apparently a gym and pool which we did not use - however - on arrival, the wash-basin in the bathroom had not been cleaned, the breakfast service was dire, with completely disinterested, and untrained staff, and most significantly the fire alarm activated during the night, whereupon, as we all left our rooms, we met a headless chicken night manager who told us not to leave the hotel yet, raced off in the other direction to trace the alarm, was never seen again, and no explanation was given, so we all went back to bed and lived to tell the tale. Finally, nobody asked how our stay had been, as we checked out. Get some of the basics right guys and you'll have a decent hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheRoliingMcStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed at the Worcester Whitehouse Hotel two years ago, and on our stay this year we felt that it had gone a little downhill. The reception staff were generally good, and were kind enough to give us a free upgrade to a room with a four poster bed. The room was fine, although there was a nasty brown patch on the ceiling and one wall which could easily been repainted. Our room faced the front, but we had no problems with street or train noise - we could hear the trains but not loud enough to be a problem ( although they did cause the loo to vibrate!).

The bathroom was spacious. There was a bath with a good power shower over, but the shower curtain was so porous that the water seeped through and over the floor. The loo roll holder was at a downward angle causing the loo roll to slide off, and the toiletries were adequate but not as good as I would expect - just bath gel and shampoo, no conditioner or body lotion.

The main area which was a disappointment was on the housekeeping side. On our way to the pool at 0815 we reported to reception that there was an empty pizza box outside the lift. It was still there 1.5 hours later, and we saw two members of staff walk past it. Also, when we ordered wine in the room, the ice bucket and empty bottle were left there until we checked out two mornings later, even though the room had been serviced. On the first night the bedside lamps wouldn't work and when I checked them, both bulbs were blown. Surely these should be checked every time the room is cleaned and made ready for the next guest? Also, at breakfast, the inside of our milk jug was filthy (and I mean black!) but when I mentioned this to the restaurant supervisor ( who was an excellent chap) he dealt with it promptly and spoke to the waitress in charge of our table. We didn't hear what was said, but it was obviously a flea in the ear! Breakfast was very good - fruit, cereal, and a good range of hot items frequently replenished and always hot. If we had forgotten anything, the waitress was happy to fetch it, so generally the service here was of a good standard.

The pool was in a sorry state and I was surprised at how much it had deteriorated in the last 2 years, but it is about to undergo refurbishment and due to be closed soon for this. The jacuzzi was out of order, but the steam room was working. However, the sauna lacked a bucket of water when we went to use it. The pool is small but OK. The changing rooms are now pretty shabby but are presumably also being refurbished. I hope that include a spin drier for wet costumes, as I had to travel home by train with mine soggy and in a plastic bag in my suitcase.

With a little TLC and a bit more enthusiasm from some of the staff, I think that this hotel could easily return to its former higher standard. I would consider staying again as the location was ideal for us and I like to have a pool, but I think that, for the price, it's not as good as it could be.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussexstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 12 in Worcester
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Address: 62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: $67 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 16th century, this former coaching inn is adjacent to Foregate Street train station and located in the heart of this historic and vibrant city. Stay at our hotel and enjoy all that this cosmopolitan city has to offer such as its wealth of independent shops and restaurants, walk along the River Severn and view the Swan Sanctuary or choose to visit the tourist attractions which are all within walking distance such as Worcester Cathedral, Tudor House, The Commandery, Worcester Porcelain Museum and Worcester Museum and Art Gallery. It is also situated near Worcestershire County Cricket ground, a stone's throw away from the cathedral and the racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing