We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central conference hotel ideal for visiting Worcester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Central conference hotel ideal for visiting Worcester”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed at the Whitehouse with one of my girlfriends on one of our regular 2 day stays for visiting a Christmas market. This is regarded locally as a 4 star hotel. The hotel was ideally situated in the town Centre and very close to the Christmas market and all the shops. Ladies if you haven't been to the Christmas market you must try this one. There are in excess of 100 Stalls of a rich and colourful variety, something for everyone, and some wonderful unique shops, a real shoppers paradise! The Whitehouse hotel caters for weddings, conferences, commercial travellers, and visitors. We had a twin room which was very clean and roomy. All the staff were most helpful, pleasant, and had a good positive attitude and work ethic. There is a bar, and a spacious lobby area with plenty comfortable seating. There is also car parking at the side of the hotel with barrier access and egress. The parking is limited but if you arrive around noon you have a pretty good chance of a space. Parking is at the moment £6.per 24hrs. You can pre book, but beware this will cost you £12.50 per day. I think this is done to protect residents parking from that of day conference users, and this makes good sense. I would certainly use this hotel again, tea coffee and biscuits in the room, plenty of wardrobe space and room for luggage storage, a small occasional table and 2 bucket chairs in our room as well as the 2 beds, double wardrobe and double dressing table facility. There were the usual complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. There is also a television, and hair dryer in the rooms. In addition there are spa facilities, sauna, pool, with towels provided at reception. The breakfast includes full English, in addition to continental.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormaCartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found both the facilities and customer service to a high standard; thank for taking taking the time to comment on your visit. As you say, we are ideally located for the Victorian Fair and for all this historic city has to offer. I look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    391
    183
    70
    38
See reviews for
117
399
35
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel is opposite train Station & therefore really convenient. Room was available on arrival (11am) & receptionist really friendly (recommended great lunch restaurant which we went to twice). Room adequate although not spacious, for £130 per night thought it was a little expensive. Used the gym - small but again adequate - no-one to monitor the facilities. Staff were generally very friendly. Quite & spacious - exterior decor did not do this hotel any favours to be honest - interior far better. Thought there should be a few more facilities in the rooms - basic stuff like glasses? mugs? mini bar? missing, but hey ho, just for one night so was fine. Limited breakfast - didn't cater for gluten free at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieBrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. One of your comments confused me somewhat as the breakfast buffet has a varied selection of hot and cold items that are suitable for gluten free diets as we ensure that we cater for all requirements where practically possible. However I was pleased to read that on the whole you found the service and facilities to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, but in two different rooms. The first room had a problem with the lighting and very noisy pipes and I didn't sleep well at all. The second room was lots better and I slept so well. The rooms are gloomy in my opinion however, the staff are wonderful and can't do enough for you, which makes for a lovely stay. Have re-booked for another stay in December.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanishblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by moving rooms for your second night but I am delighted that you found the levels of customer care to a high standard and will certainly pass your compliments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back later in the month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Disappointing, though everything could be not blamed on the hotel. Arrived at 8.30 and pleasant and efficient check in.

Room was freezing and was unable to get radiator to work. This was followed by the neighbouring room deciding to start a restyling match. Food in the bar was of a good standard and not too over priced. Although been a Monday night the area was empty with the batman more interested in the football on the TV.

Returned to room in darkness with the light switches not following any known formula, could only have a light on in the room if the bathroom light was on at the same time.

Final straw was a mini riot at 3am with drunk end kids running up and down the corridors, a call to reception was unanswered so harsh language sorted it out.

Not a great stay and would probably avoid in the future, but maybe I was just unlucky.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
I am sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations; unfortunately it would seem that your stay was mainly marred by some inconsiderate guests. It is most unfortunate and not a common occurrence so I do hope that you will give us the benefit of the doubt and stay with us should you come to the city on a future occasion. My apologies once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We have never been to Worcester before and were looking forward to staying at this 4 star hotel. The reception was efficient, friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well stocked. The pool was clean, warm and the leisure centre receptionist was very helpful.
However the hotel was let down by the below expectation evening meal. The chicken supreme with provencale sauce should of been described as a chicken breast with chopped tomatoes with a lot of dried basil. The strips of fillet steak in a brandy sauce should of been described as fray Bentos braising steak tipped on your plate. However the vegetables were fresh and cooked well. Apple crumble full of juicy sultanas with a pastry base was more like a strudel

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shellmainwaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
My apologies that the evening meal did not meet with your expectations but having investigated when as per our protocol, every table was checked at the time of service no negative feedback was received. I think there must have been some confusion with the apple crumble as having read the menu the dessert was described as an apple crumble flan, hence the pastry base. I was pleased however to read that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay, finding the hotel's facitilies and service to a high standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My mother and I chose the Whitehouse Hotel for a weekend stay and could not have chosen better. Ideally located close to Foregate Railway Station, we had only a short walk before we could relax in our comfy and quiet room. The friendly staff made our two-night stay very agreeable. We ate in the hotel both nights and found the food better than many hotels. A slight quibble in the lack of shelf, ledge or table space in the bathroom. The hotel is a short stroll along the (mainly pedestrianised) main street from the Cathedral and thence to the Royal Worcester Porcelain Museum - both worth the trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldTownResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and will certainly pass your compliments onto the team. As you say, we are ideally located near to the local train station and close to all this historic city has to offer. I have passed your comment regarding the lack of shelf space onto the Maintenance Engineer to investigate accordingly and hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a nice stay. The room was quite bog and faced the front of the hotel - there was a little road noise but nothing too much. We didn't eat here but did use the pool and gym and that was good. There are lots of local restaurants near by to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
521 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Property: Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Address: 62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier hotel right in the heart of the historic city centre of Worcester, Worcester Whitehouse Hotel offers quintessential English charm with modern convenience. Stay at our hotel and revel in the magnificent sight of the beautiful Worcester Cathedral, as it rises majestically above the River Severn. Guests staying at the Worcester Whitehouse Hotel can also enjoy the University City and also visit the most beautiful sporting venue in England, Worcestershire County Cricket Club. Built in the 16th century, this classic townhouse hotel is adjacent to Foregate Street train station and a short walk from the Worcester City Art Gallery and Museum. Worcester Whitehouse Hotel is situated near Worcestershire County Cricket ground, a stone's thow away from the cathedral and the racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing