We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is the second time I have been to the hotel for afternoon tea and found the service excellent, different personnel served us each time and I could not rate them highly enough. Michael Lappin served us this time, do not have the name of the two gentlemen who served me previously, but I did complement them at the desk. I have had ocassion also to ring the hotel a few times and again found the staff incredibly helpful and friendly. Equally I found the desk staff extremely helpful and welcoming. I live relatively local and do not need to use the rooms but would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends. Well done everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment onyour recent experience at the hotel; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable afternoon tea and find the staff to be pleasant when you speak with them. I will certainly pass your compliments ontot he team, specifically Michael who is always pleased when his name is mentioned in the public domaine. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    387
    180
    68
    37
See reviews for
116
393
34
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 2 days and we had such a lovely time, the staff we very good, the food was excellent,the room was well furbished to a high standard. we would stay at the whitehouse again. thank you for making our stay a pleasent one. Lisa

Room Tip: try the executive rooms they are quite large.we had a room at the front of the hotel, top floor not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
I was delighted to read the review of your recent stay and to see that you had an enjoyable time. I will certainly pass your compliments onto the team and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have stayed in the Worcester White House Hotel several times and usually enjoy our visits. The majority of staff are helpful, courteous and efficient. This time however the Assistant Restaurant/Brasserie Manager was away during our stay and his high standards were not adhered to. Staff were surly and uncooperative and the Breakfast food and service were not acceptable. The hotel no longer cooks Breakfast to order and food is put on a hotplate counter.
There was a small fire at the hotel, early one morning, which apparently necessitated two Fire Engines and Crews to crowd into the Car Park. Our car suffered nudge dents as a result. We were returning to our home in Spain; very handy to take up with the boys in blue and red. The Hotel management could / would not act. For the Car Park there is a £6 per night charge, fire alarm and dents thrown in gratis.
(In the Select Hotels Brochure in the rooms the Hotel claims Free Parking, page 17 if someone wants to argue).
Our usual room was, as ever, acceptable though Housekeeping was slipping.
Previous Reviews have complained about the Seagulls, no sight nor sound of them - they must have been driven off by the Pigeons.
We have talked with the Duty Manager and the General Manager and discussed these and other points. We appreciated their concern and courtesy but are disappointed that apparently further up the Corporate Chain the Whitehouse Hotels group are not interested in Public Service Vehicle assaults on correctly parked guests cars. We stayed 1st to 4th September 2012. Whether we stay again depends.

Room Tip: The newer part at the rear has Juliet balconies overlooking the CarPark (see your vehicle nudged by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guestwithstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations nor indeed with your previous visit and that you found the staff to be surly. As you can see from many of our reviews, this is most uncommon and in fact we are often complimented on the quality of our customer care and attentiveness. We had already discussed the other points you raised prior to your departure which were dealt with in the appropriate manner. I reiterate my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived at half 1 and was able to check in. We booked a standard room but when we got to the hotel had been upgraded to a superior room. Room very spacious and clean! Staff very friendly will always make conversation with you if they were passing. Was unable to use the sauna ect as was closed. Added dinner to the room. Fantastic dinner 3 course meal. Restruant staff very efficient especially the young blonde lady! Breakfast was a buffet all fresh and hot. Excellent hotel enjoyed out break away!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gupwell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
It was a pleasure to read the review of your recent stay with us - I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time. I will certainly pass your compliments onto the team and in particular to Rusne who looked after you in our Brasserie and as a result of being specifically mentioned will receive a box of chocolates. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Booked to stay at the hotel last minute as we needed to be in worcester on family business. We chose this hotel as it had a private carpark and was close to restuarants etc. On arrival the car park was full so we then had to go to reception to get out of it and go to the public park around the corner. Checkin was swift and the receptionist was helpful. We had Room 204 , small but had everything we needed . the bathroom was large and the usual toiletries although no shower cap . My husband had an accident in the shower where he slipped and got a good shiner from the shower taps. Our greatest disappointment was the un relenting noise from the revellers outside which went on most of the night , needless to say , a very sleepless night.
On the up side the staff in the restaurant , bar and reception were all very friendly . curteous and helpful.

Breakfast was average , cooked was not that hot and the juices were watered down, but plenty to eat.

won;t book again as the worry of our car in a public car park was something we could do without

Room Tip: Don;t have a room on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I was pleased to read that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. I was most concerned however, to read about your husband and have checked the accident book, spoken to the team on duty but unfortunately can find no report of the incident. Our baths do have a non slip coating and special mats are available from reception upon request should they be required. The noise can sometimes be a downside of our excellent city centre location but this is somewhat out of my control. I hope that these issues will not deter you from returning and that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Spent one night at the Whitehouse on the 28th Sept. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel in general. We were warmly greeted by the reception staff and quickly checked in. We had asked for a quiet room, having read about the problem with traffic noise,
and were given one at the back of the hotel. The room was well laid out and spacious. All the usual extras - tea/coffee, shampoo etc. Evening meal was excellent as was breakfast, which was a help yourself buffet. Can't comment on the spa as we didn't have time to use it. I have one small criticism - a larger bathroom mirror would be appreciated. It was quite small and high up. As I am only 5' 2" using this mirror was difficult and as the bedroom lighting was not very bright applying my make up in the evening was a challenge. Overall we had an excellent stay and would use the Whitehouse again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peakwalker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and will certainly pass your comments onto the team. I've also noted your comment regarding the height of the mirror and have advised the Maintenance Engineer accordingly. I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotel has ample parking, great service great rooms but the location gets top marks, right in the centre of Worcester near the bars & shops just a short stroll to the Cathedral. Stayed here a couple of times now & would recommend to anyone. Lovely hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seashimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay - I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Property: Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Address: 62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier hotel right in the heart of the historic city centre of Worcester, Worcester Whitehouse Hotel offers quintessential English charm with modern convenience. Stay at our hotel and revel in the magnificent sight of the beautiful Worcester Cathedral, as it rises majestically above the River Severn. Guests staying at the Worcester Whitehouse Hotel can also enjoy the University City and also visit the most beautiful sporting venue in England, Worcestershire County Cricket Club. Built in the 16th century, this classic townhouse hotel is adjacent to Foregate Street train station and a short walk from the Worcester City Art Gallery and Museum. Worcester Whitehouse Hotel is situated near Worcestershire County Cricket ground, a stone's thow away from the cathedral and the racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing