We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it was ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“it was ok”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel in general was fair, the room was comfortable and spacious. the down point to the hotel is the attitude and surlyness off the staff. when we arrived it took a while to get the receptionists attention due to her being distraced by two other members of staff behind the desk, 1 young male and a female. they were to busy laughing and joking to realise we were actualy there to check in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil190764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
I am sorry that the level of customer care you received from the reception team was not welcoming or accommodating. Having discussed this with the Head Receptionist, she has asked to be associated with my apologies and has spoken to the empolyees concerned to ensure that this situation is not repeated. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    387
    180
    68
    37
See reviews for
116
393
34
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here. Our room and ensuite were spacious and very clean.
the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Nothing to complain about there.
Breakfast was also quite good, although the first evening meal was not - very tough lumps of pork which definitely were not "Pork Medallions", Very disappointing, so we ate out on our other evenings, which was not always convenient after a tiring day sightseeing in the area.
Grateful for room near lift as I disabled.
Seemed to be a business hotel, so don't expect any Entertainment !!

Room Tip: Top floor had creaking floorboards in passage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessamine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
I was pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay and that you intend to stay with us on a future occasion. I was sorry however to read your comment regarding your evening meal and have spoken to the Head Chef in order to prevent a recurrence of this nature. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

A lovely hotel in an ideal location but our stay was spoilt by the temperature in the four bedrooms - from uncomfortable to unbearably hot. The windows in two of our rooms were deliberately sealed shut so no way to get any fresh air. The staff said that the air conditioining was due to be fixed in 'a month' - surely for the comfort of your guests this needs to be more of a priority or at least allow them to open thier windows!

Room Tip: Choose the ones with windows that open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieSue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to 'post' your feedback. I am sorry that your stay was marred by the lack of airconditioning; please be assured that it is most certainly our priority to recify this issue but unfortunately, the problem is not as straight forward as we had been led to believe and is taking longer than we had anticipated,. We have contacted several carpenters in the area in order to resolve the issue with the limited number of rooms with restricted windows so this will be resolved shortly. Once again, I apologise for our shortcomings on this occasion and do hope that I will have the opportunity to welcoming you back for a return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Right next door to Worcester Foregate station this is a basic but comfortable business travel destination. Rooms were larger than expected and breakfast and service were very good. While I had no issues with noise a colleague said her room had traffic noise as it was at the front of the hotel. Bathrooms were a little tired. Overall the convenience of the location far outweighs any minor quibbles

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I was pleased to read that on the whole you had an enjoyable experience but am sorry that your colleague was disturbed by noise. I noted your comment with regards to the bathroom and am pleased to say that we are in the midst of a programme of redecoration of these areas. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and I hope that I have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Travelling alone is not easy when you have lost a partener and the Whitehouse staff were was so friendly and efficient it made the stay very pleasant and certainly made me think about staying there and exploring the wonderful country side or the town, rather than going abroad. I did have a problem in the room I wasallocated and I was moved and upgraded without a problem. The dinning staff were great and service efficient despite the fact they had several parties of people there, It was suggested that I sat a little way away from the tables in case of the noise. Breakfast was great, no greasy soggy bacon it was hot and well coked and plenty of buffet type choices.. Evening meal was fine and the cost would compare favourable with local hotels in Kent perhaps they could add a couple more modern choices to the menu. The rooms are very well eqiped Being in central Worcster it is easy to visit places of interest in the city on foot. I didn't hear any seagulls and although the hotel is near the station you don't hear trains.
The leisure staff are very helpful but the leisure centre could do with some paint and a face lift. Please coould a spinner for wet costumes be installed ? Charges for car parking are being introduced, being disabled it was good to have a sapce reserved, but that will also carry a charge but I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank just0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
I was delighted to read your review of the hotel and to see that you enjoyed your stay; I will certainly pass your comments onto the team. I note your feedback about the leisure club and am pleased to advise you that it is on our maintenance schedule for redecoration within the next two months. I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on your next visit to Worcester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Had a lovely weekend with two friends. Enjoyed the sauna and Pool but would be nice to have dressing gown available and more towels. Staff very helpful and friendly. great location just a step away from shops and restaurants. If I go again I will take a catapult to kill those .......seagulls, they were really awful so noisy all night and I am not a light sleeper. Apart from that room comfortable and delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollybank235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I was sorry to read however, that your sleep was marred by the noise of the seagulls. I have been assured by the local authority that there are plans in place to erradicate this issue. Thank you for taking the time to 'post' your feedback and I hope that I have the opportunity of welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This is the seventth time I have stayed in this hotel, paid for by my business. Rooms are clean and well equipped and breakfast copious. However, I am always told the air conditioning is waiting to be fixed. As the windows cannot be opened, the electric fan provided is not really efficient enough to remedy the airless feel of the rooms. It is worse in summer when the heat is very uncomfortable.
Another problem is the noise guests make in the bar past the hour of 11 pm (by law, the premises should be quiet during night time hours of 11 pm to 7 am). A rowdy party stayed in the bar well past 1 am during my overnight stay and continued to show complete disregard towards hotel guests in spite of being asked to keep the noise down by staff. My room overlooked the foyer area with the consequence that I could only get to sleep WHEN the revellers decided to go up to their rooms. I had to attend an important business meeting the next morning and felt very tired and unwell as a result. Staff need to be trained in being more assertive to tackle this kind of anti social behaviour. Not the standard of a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the foyer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poudreuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to respond with your feedback. I apologise for the lack of air conditioning in the bedrooms and I can assure you that the problem is being investigated with a view to rectifying the situation. Unfortunately, this is not as straightforward as it would seem and is taking longer than originally anticipated. I am also sorry that you were inconvenienced by some of our other residents and had a disturbed sleep. I note that you have stayed with us on several occasions and do hope that you will give us the opportunity of a return visit when we will endeavour to ensure that your stay is not disturbed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Property: Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Address: 62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier hotel right in the heart of the historic city centre of Worcester, Worcester Whitehouse Hotel offers quintessential English charm with modern convenience. Stay at our hotel and revel in the magnificent sight of the beautiful Worcester Cathedral, as it rises majestically above the River Severn. Guests staying at the Worcester Whitehouse Hotel can also enjoy the University City and also visit the most beautiful sporting venue in England, Worcestershire County Cricket Club. Built in the 16th century, this classic townhouse hotel is adjacent to Foregate Street train station and a short walk from the Worcester City Art Gallery and Museum. Worcester Whitehouse Hotel is situated near Worcestershire County Cricket ground, a stone's thow away from the cathedral and the racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing