We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LAST MINUTE WEEKEND AWAY”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Worcester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“GREAT LAST MINUTE WEEKEND AWAY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Good location, 10 mins walk into town centre. Good parking facilities and we were allowed to leave the car on the Sunday after we had checked out as we wanted to go back into Worcester for a few hours. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean and spacious room. Lovely bathroom with hot water when we needed it. Bed very comfy. Big TV on the wall. Breakfast was good, plenty of cereals and toast and a cooked breakfast freshly made to requirements. As previous comment stated this is not a 4* but excellent value for money, we would recommend to anyone and we will definately stay again when in Worcester.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimo756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
20
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Saw some of the previous "iffy" reviews this made us a bit wary, then looking closer realized they were from years ago , the hotel was easy to find, parking was simple, staff very helpful, rooms different sizes so bit of pot luck but all our 3 rooms were clean tidy, nice bathrooms and comfy beds. The hotel is an easy stroll from town. so close to lovely town pubs shops and plenty places to eat.
Would recommend to anyone, Its a good place to stay for the money, its not 4 star so don't expect that level for the money you are paying !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanCLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed a couple of times and apart from poor showers, frayed towels, no coat hangers in the shabby wardrobes, bar closing at 6pm, 15 to 20 minutes for hot water in the mornings, noisy roads at night, £7.50 for breakfast when it eventually arrived, only 4 channels on the TV in the rooms, creaky floorboards and lack of decent heating on the top floor, it would be nearly 2 stars. Always deal with Patricia as she is very efficient and friendly compared to the new manager. Last checking was at 7pm and no staff on the premises after that.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DevonianDruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Worcester hotels

Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

Spent a couple of wet days in Worcester but this hotel was a ray of sunshine. Trish (who apparently does everything from cleaning rooms, manning reception and bar and cooking/serving breakfast) was fanstastic and could not do enough for us. Our room was clean and well equipped, breakfast, excellent value and we were made to feel so welcome. Only a 10 min walk to town centre and probably the cheapest hotel in Worcester. Should you not want to walk back after a meal or drinks in the town a taxi is only £3.20. No problem parking in a free carpark with video surveillance. Well worth it!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian87_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Scarborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

A really friendly lady greeted us, showed us to our room, served us in the bar later (and was really accommodating, letting our family use the facilities even though they were not staying) and also made us a fantastic full english the following morning - it turned out that she had been running it herself that week as her business partner was ill - she did a fantastic job. The room had recently been refurbished and was clean & tidy with a very comfy bed. The hotel, which is really easy to find, is a 10min walk from the city centre with a private car park. It has some beautiful features, wood paneling and very heavy solid wooden doors, the bar is a relaxing area with sofas. We will definitely stay there again if in the area - oh, and it's great value too!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gee-eff-bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

On arrival we recieved a very warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The room was freshly referbished, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the service was excellent. Good value for money. Will definatly visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janieg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is THE Great Worcester find.

A 10 minute stroll to the centre of Worcester and a lovely greeting from Trish the attentive and humerous Irish Receptionist/Cook/Housekeeper/Barperson etc on return. Although I was staying here on my own to attend a funeral, the warmth I received on arrival and throughout my 2 day stay was tremendous. It was like staying at a long-lost friends home.

Lovely bright double room - bathroom re-fitted and very clean - shower cubicle perfectly closed and no wet bathmat after a shower which is unusual. Tea/coffee making facilities; 2 packs of cookies; hairdryer; TV; shower and hair products - not bad for an AA 2 star...

First class full English breakfast with plenty of everything - make as much of your own toast as you wished, enjoy a peaceful well appointed breakfast room and read the Metro newspaper at leisure.

If I am ever in Worcester in the future this is the place I will be staying. Thank you 'The Great Western' for a memorable visit. £35 via Booking.com was the best price and I paid an extra £7.50 for breakfast. Superb value after research into similar hotels or inns.

WGC Beaumont Traveller

Room Tip: I stayed in No 16 on the side of the Hotel overlooking the back of a small warehouse - with sight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Piggletpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: 8 Shrub Hill Road, Worcester WR4 9EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Hotel Class:2 star — Great Western Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing