We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Training visit”

Ye Olde Talbot Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #77 of 342 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Abingdon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Training visit”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Talbot and I have to admit it is a good location, once you discount the late night revellors which do partake most city centres.
I had a ground floor room but was ok but one night was not good due to circumstances outside of the hotels control.
I only had breakfasts there and the choices and quality was very good even though they ran out fo fruit one morning.
Would I stay there again, yes and the beer isn't bad either although one night they ran out.........is this planning or the result of being popular, I suspect a bit of both.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank midget73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    84
    30
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really cosy”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We visit the Talbot quite a lot and have eaten there a few times. This week we had fish and chips. Exactly what we wanted and it was really rather nice. The Talbot Pub is a friendly place, we have always had good service and good pub food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Golden-Goose-Legend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Thursday night deal”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Popped in here for a bite to eat on a Thursday night. They have a great deal 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £25. Steak was cooked to perfection and the bottle of wine was very nice. Would certainly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDullWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice and warm”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Waiting here to until our film time came up was good. Good food and of course lots to choose from in drinking terms. Handy just opposite the cinema.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food excellent service”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Was a great meal that i had with my sister it was relaxed timely and delicious despite the fully booked restaurant and from speaking to staff members there is a new kitchen team of chefs in place and it shows in the quality of the food and the service improvements a must for any one looking for a relaxed evening without the rush of the need to go to the cinema like many of the demanding customers around us. Just go and enjoy a relaxed evening and enjoy the food its worth any amount of time and waiting

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trickz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Talbot Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Ye Olde Talbot Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing