We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying purely for location”
Review of Diglis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diglis House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paying purely for location”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

If I wanted to be ripped off I would have gone to a place near a Paris attraction, not Worcester. The hotel only charges the prices they do because of the riverside location. The food was appalling. High prices for microwave meal standards. Not good enough considering how lovely the place looks from outside. The grounds become very busy in good weather so if you stay you may have to consider a large amount of people who aren't staying, sharing with you. I shall not consider this place again when I come back to Worcester.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wingedwithguns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, however you felt the cost was to high but our charges are less than some city centre budget hotels and we provide complimentary parking and wi-fi, which costs £5 and hour in budget hotels and a freshly cooked full English breakfast. I fail to understand your comments regarding the food, all of the food is freshly cooked using local produce. With regard to the location and the busy gardens, we do have part of the gardens reserved for guests if they don't wish to mix with the public most hotels do not offer exclusive use of the hotel to guests with weddings, conferences and meetings being held and we are only to pleased that we are busy which provides local employment and helps the local economy
It would be more helpful to the hotel and guests if you had made your feelings known at the time when the matter could have been addressed instead of making vague comments from a distance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    154
    66
    43
    29
See reviews for
100
234
25
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our 3rd visit here and each time we have not been diappointed. Again our room was in the annexe. It was a good size, clean and very comfortable. We arrived before the check in time but our room was ready for us. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice both hot and cold. One new addition to breakfast is you now cook your own toast, this enabled you to have as much or as little as you wanted.
The main bar area has been upgraded and extended and looked very nice.
This hotel is in a lovely setting right on the river but only 5 minute walk into the town centre. There is plenty os car parking spaces at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
As regular visitors you know that there is always a warm welcome at the Diglis. With the bar extension and more refurbishment planned you should see even more improvements next time you visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at this riverside hotel in Worcester. Our 'Junior Suite' was excellent and the dinner in the hotel restaurant first class. We had the rack of lamb.

The suite was very hot during the night - this was really the only downside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments, We are sorry the room was a little warm but with the exceptionally warm weather this year it has been a problem which we hope to resolve by next summer.Our chef appreciated your comments about the food and we have just moved to our new winter menu with some new and exciting dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is a few minutes stroll from the centre of Worcester, it is in a beautiful setting. All staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast over looking the river was very pleasant. I Booked a superior room at £120 and I do not believe that it was superior in any way!!!! I'm still baffled as to how it was superior other than the reproduction bed matched the wardrobe. None of the trappings that one assumes with this price tag. I came away feeling that I didn't get value for money. I was in room 6 and the bathroom was so out of keeping with the room and hotel (bad taste). I would stay here again due to it's location but only at a more favorable tariff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happiness098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreciate all feedback, however I would like to clarify a couple of points. The bed is not reproduction but the bed and the wardrobe are a matching antique set. The bathroom is modern as most guests prefer this. We looked at the option of period reproductions when refurbishing the room but felt that it would be in bad taste. Room 6 overlooks the gardens and the river and is in the Georgian house. It conforms to hotel standards for a superior room. We have noted your comments and will be looking at ways to improve the guest experience in our superior rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Amazing place to stay massive room which overlooked the river really comfy bed! Staff were fantastic friendly and very helpful! Especially the receptionist. Breakfast was nice great deal of choice something for everyone!!! Ideal place we walked to the train station from the hotel and took us 10 mins ideal location cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolliipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we have passed on your comments to the relevant staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-wye
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A spacious room in the annex, with a lovely view over the river, was completely spoiled by the state of the carpet. It was disgusting! Filthy dirty, with stains and marks all over it. If you can't afford to replace the carpet in room 19 please, please at least clean it! As it stands, I wouldn't put it in a dog kennel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 360Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for your comments, I have inspected the carpet this morning and although it is vacumed every day and cleaned on a regular basis there are a couple of marks that cannot be removed. One is a iron mark made by a previous guest. We do have a renovation programme and changing the carpets in all the ground floor annexe is a priority, however I do feel your comments about the state of the carpet very unfair, most people remember the views from the room, the home cooked English Breakfast, the complimentary parking and wi-fi and our proximity to the town centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed one night as husband had business meetings in the area. Had Room 21 which was good location, quiet and lovely view of the river. Breakfast was adequate but not brilliant. Staff were friendly and helpful and location is wonderful - and the sun was shining which added to the general ambiance. Would stay here again due to pleasant situation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19lucy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
0.6 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
709 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
489 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diglis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diglis House Hotel

Property: Diglis House Hotel
Address: Severn Street, Worcester WR1 2NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Diglis House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diglis House Hotel has the best location in Worcester it is on the Riverside yet has easy access on foot to shopping,tourist attractions and the riverside walkIt is a Grade II listed building. We have superb junior suites overlooking the river in the main house where all the rooms have been recently refurbished There is a new annex with many rooms having a river view. Food is available in the Conservatory Restaurant, bar or there is the option of eating in the gardens on warm days. The extended bar and new William Leader room provides ample space to enjoy a relaxing drink or snack. As Worcester's premier wedding venue, we have three rooms licenced for civil ceremonies and the magnificent backdrop of the Malvern hills for those special photographs. We have a selection of meeting rooms that can accommodate meetings up to 100 people. The only hotel in Worcester with complimentary parking and W-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Diglis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diglis Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing