We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Food”
Review of Detroits - CLOSED

Detroits
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: American, Diner, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Full American dining experience... Book you table or party with us now!
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor Food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Visiting Worcestershire for a few days we passed this American style diner and decided to try it out on one of the evenings we were staying in the area.The staff were very welcoming and handled the service well.
The problem however was the food which was very poor indeed.The steak was the worst steak I have ever tasted and was tough as old boots,was clearly of poor quality and I think the person cooking it needed to be taught to cook.The salad that came with one of the steaks was literally 2 letuce leaves.The coleslaw had been watered down with vinegar and the onion rings were basically just batter.The vegetables that came with the other steak were a couple of pieces of onion and an inedible and uncooked piece of what looked like an aubergine.For Just short of £45 for a one course meal for two without wine this was desperately poor value too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank breakaway57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroits, Public Relations Manager at Detroits, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi there,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I am extremely disappointed that your experience at Detroit's didn't match the excellent ones that so many others experience. Having checked back through our complaints book I cannot find an entry with your type of problem so it's unfortunate we didn't get the chance to rectify the issues during you time with us.

Since your visit we have launched a brand new menu and appointed a new Head Chef and management team, so if you were to visit us again i'm sure this problem wouldn't re-occur.

If you'd like to talk to us in more detail about your experience with us feel free to contact us direct on 01905 619047.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    140
    123
    109
    228
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worst place to eat in Worcester”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I wouldn't even bother! When It first opened, my partner and I were impressed and returned on a number of occasions with other people. Suddenly, this all changed. Now this is one of the worst places to eat in Worcester. We always had Pasta dishes which were nice, however once when we went with a friend, all our meals came at different times...by the time the last meal was on the table the other two were cold. It was dreadful. We thought it was just a one off that it was this terrible so we returned at a later date. We ordered our usual Pasta dishes, however the waitress returned to say that they only serve pasta at lunchtimes. 1) Who eats a pasta dish of that size at lunch time? 2) Must of been one of the most popular dishes on the menu. 3) Why the sudden change?! We left and ate somewhere else. Returning again, (god knows why we even bothered!!) We were told that we still could not have pasta, the rest of the menu was rubbish. There was a selection of burgers (which are crap, dont even bother) and a few salads, what a terrible choice! The amount of staff that are in and out of that place is astonishing! I don't think i've ever seen the same waitress working there more than twice. That would suggest high labor turnover due to bad management!!

The only praise I can give this place is that it is decorated to a high standard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Make up your own mind”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Visited Detroits last night with my daughter and her boyfriend. Having read the reviews on here i was a bit dubious about our visit but was determined to go with an open mind. We were greeted and seated. Drinks were ordered and delivered while we looked at the menu. We went for the Thursday burger deal with side orders. Staff were very friendly and attentive asking several times if all was ok (reading other reviews i feel maybe some training has gone on)
Service not like American diner speed but not to slow either. We didnt want to be in and out in half an hour so that was fine with us. The food was cooked ok and the burgers large (cajun could do with a bit more spice). I was pleasantly suprised. Cheesy nanchos not the best though. I ordered a Vanilla milk shake and was served a banana one. I did not mention it because i like banana as well. All in all we had a good time and the food was fine. A few mistakes but we are all human.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brigade40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, great decor”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We saw this eye-catching place on our way into Worcester and decided we had to try it for breakfast. There weren't many other people eating at that time but we loved the retro decor and music. The food was good - between 7 us we had the Michigan State breakfast, pancakes, milkshakes, scrambled egg & bacon and a few side orders including the very tasty sausages. The service was friendly although erratic. We liked it so much we went back again the next day for breakfast and would like to try it in the evening on our next trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BanoffiePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sloth-Like Service”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our dining experience on Thursday 4th July (American Independance Day) was disappointing, a great let-down!!! A shame as it was my birthday......... Can you believe the biggest day in the American calender was not even acknowledged - where is their marketing strategy???

The concept and set-up is great, just as you would imagine a diner of the 50's/60's era in America, the furnishings and decor have been done well and the place is very clean. Image is good, the food we had was good and the staff were pleasant & polite, however not efficient!!

The diner, menu & food may have the American feel but the service is not done the American way - they would all be sacked if it was the States. Having been to the States 10 times in the last 12 years (from New York to California & quite a few States in between) the restaurant/bar & diner service you receive is fantastic and second to none. This was none of those....... it was totally abysmal.

It took one and a half hours to be served 1 starter, 2 mains & 1 round of drinks!! We were sat waiting for 20 minutes for our order to be taken (we nearly got up to go elsewhere), our starter arrived (another 10-15 minutes), our drinks didn't - nearly 45 minutes before a first drink, we were gasping with thirst and they lasted less than 10 minutes. Upon delivery of our main course we ordered a second drink (pint cider & a cocktail), main course eaten and much waiting still no 2nd drink, after 35 minutes from ordering the 2nd drink, we got the attention of a waitress, cancelled the drinks & asked for the bill. The excuse for a 35 minute wait was the barrel had run out on the cider & had to be changed - pubs would go out of business if that was the case. For god's sake cider is a keg, you unhook the connection and connect it to a fresh barrel unlike a draught that needs tapping, tipping & whatever other expertise is required.

We couldn't wait to leave, get home and get a drink. Even a jug or glasses of iced water as they do in the States would have helped.

We saw one young girl on the bar & it appeared she was preparing the drinks for all the diner orders. If we had been served drinks quickly whilst pondering our choice from the menu (for which we were not even given the Thursday burger night specials menu) the wait would not have seemed so long. We didn't bother with burger specials menu as we had waited so long for somebody to come to take our order so to look & decide from their other menu would have just delayed things further.

If they could get the service running efficiently then the rating would increase. The diner wasn't even full and not overly busy, about half full with diners at a guess. They are either under staffed, not very well trained or they need a better system to ensure diners are not kept waiting.

They need a good diner/restaurant manager who is on the ball and has got eyes scanning the room and checking the diner experience is good. If a waitress is overloaded with diners in one section send another one over to help............ it's not rocket science. Customer service is important. Even if all the other aspects are good if the customer service is bad you lose customers - having worked in various aspects of the hospitality industry for years (actually decades) I know from experience.

We enjoyed the look & feel of this place, we enjoyed the food we had but due to the service we will never go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroits, Public Relations Manager at Detroits, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write this review and also the kind words about the restaurant, menu & food. However, I am deeply concerned about the service you received at Detroit's. Upon speaking to the duty manager on Friday it was clear that we did have a few problems on Thursday and if you'd like to contact me direct on 01905 619047 i'd be more than happy to discuss this matter with you personally. Just to mention we've taken action since Thursday and made some big changes to ensure this kind of issue does not happen again. I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards

Detroit's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Detroits also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing