We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night”
Review of Ye Olde Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ye Olde Talbot
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here as it was all that was available in Worcester for the date we wanted. WE know it is an old building but it is very much like a maze upstairs and lots of steps up and down. Not good if you are disabled in any way or have suitcases. Our room was through several doors and up and down corridors and when we finely found it we felt completely shut off and worried if there was a fire would we remember how we got here. Yes, there is the usual notice on the door telling us how to evacuate but it was so dark in the room we could hardly read it. To be fair the hotel has tried their best to redecorate but it is very dull and depressing. The walls are very thin and we could here the ladies next door talking. Unfortunately for us they talked to 1.00pm in the morning. Also traffic is another problem. The room was very stuffy although the hotel had provided a stand alone cool air machine it was too noisy to keep on. All in all it was a very unsettling night. If you want a good breakfast though come to this hotel. Great selection and the waitress was efficient and cheerful throughout. More than can be said for the girl who checked us in. Perhaps the dowdy ness of the rooms have rubbed off on her.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linjHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank-you for leaving a review we were sorry to here you had an unsetled night. Due to our excellent city centre location some traffic noise can be heard. As Ye Olde Talbot is a 13th century coaching inn and a listed building we are unable to do anything to the structure or layout of the building though we can assure you that we comply with all fire safety regulations. We do have some rooms that are in the newer part of the building and therefore not so maze like, if you do stay with us again we would be happy to allocate you one of these rooms to better suit your needs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
There are newer reviews for Ye Olde Talbot
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 592 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our first time to the talbot,and our first impressions of the reception was that it met us with dismay,this area was not appealing on arrival,shabby and no one there to greet us.Given our keys and room number we made our way to the room via stairways and communal areas of which were badly lit chandeliers and light fittings with bulbs gone and not replaced,this appeared to be a ongoing thing throughout the hotel.on entering our room dark no ceiling lights,only dull lamps,no nets or blinds to give privacy off main high street,so drawer curtains remained closed,during day,making room dark and dismal,furnishings dark and dated.Bathroom poor condition,work top above toilet,bare mdf left unfinished,bath enamel chipped and mould on tiles.First day breakfast ,excellent choice,service good,second day appeared to be short staffed,waiting long time to get breakfast which was cold on arrival not pleasant to eat.
Some good points,location,beds comfy,clean,good pillows,warm rooms,shower and hot water good supply.In our opinion for the price for this was overpriced due to the overall conditions of this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenandgraham_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank-you for taking time to leave a review we are sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations, all bathrooms are undergoing some works and we have taken on board your other comments. We hope that you will give us another try in the near future so we can restore your faith in us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

There was no-one on reception to check in. Having found someone to do this five minutes later, they explained that they were short staffed. Seeing as this was the weekend of the Annual Xmas Fayre in Worcester, I would expect to find this hotel fully prepared for the amount of extra business coming in during this time. The young lady did offer to stow my bags which we did as the rooms were not ready, which was a help having carried them from Foregate St station.

The room was shabby, and was sloped making you feel like like you were walking up hill to the bed! Obviously this is a very old building, and I understand that this is an issue that has to be worked around when constructing a hotel around it but nonetheless, it did feel strange.

The hairdryer fell apart,and looked like it had been stuffed in it's draw for a very long time. No hot water in the morning for a shower, so I had to have a bath via the kettle which took up my morning and left me with no time for breakfast before I had to check out. The toilet made unusual sounds and the box behind the basin rattled loudly when flushing for a while. No light by the door meant I had to keep the bathroom light on unnecessarily.

Noise travelled through from outside, and also from guests walking past at all times.
The bed was very comfy and my extra pillow request was adhered to.

The whole room needs re-generating and the service at the bar needs more attention. It took a while to be served, food arrived 25 mins after ordering from the set Xmas Fayre menu and the staff were very abrupt and unhelpful when ordering. As it was a set menu for the weekend, they would not allow any extra requests to be made, even something as simple as asking for a side salad or garnish.

The Travelodge next door was the same price on this weekend, but I decided to stay here due to the breakfast included. Sadly I was unable to use this, and I am sure that the quality and cleanliness of the Travelodge would have far exceeded the recent experience at the Talbot.

This could be a wonderful hotel with a bit of help restoring the look, and training and recruiting more staff. I'm not sure I would stay here again, but next time I am in Worcester - I hope to pop in to the pub and be pleasantly surprised with expected changes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12,345,717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank-you for taking your time to leave a review, we were sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet up to your expectations. The Christmas Fayre was busier than anyone expected and exceeded all predictions for the number of visitors that arrived we do however take on board your comments regarding extra staff and is something we will look at for next year. Ye Olde Talbot is a 13th century coaching inn located in an excellent position right in the heart of the city centre meaning we are full of character that includes oak beams and sloping floors and that you may occasionally hear external noise we do have rooms that are not as old if we had known you were not happy with the room allocated we would have tried to move you to one that better suited your needs, we are unaware of any issues regarding hot water but will investigate the situation. Once again we are sorry for the issues that you found in the hotel and are sure if you do visit us again you will not have the same problems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Whilst in Worcester recently we decided to eat a the talbot having eaten there on several occasions before and always been very impressed however, our latest visit was to be very disappointing.
Although we were late (9.45pm) arriving for food we were told food was served until 10pm so we located a table and quickly returned to the bar to order, eventually getting served at 9.55pm.
The food arrived approx 10.15 mine was fine but you can hardly go wrong with ham egg and chips but my wife's cod chips and peas was very poor the fish was tasteless and luke warm as were the peas, as it was late and the chef was finished for the night we ate what was offered and I can politely passed on my thoughts to the gentleman who came and took the plates away
The only reply I got was "I will have a word with the chef in the morning" no apology or anything offer of recompense whatsoever.
As is often the case when ordering late but within the timescales offered by pubs/restaurants we got the feeling that the chef was in a rush to get our meal cooked and out so he could go home which is surely not acceptable and if that is the case then the manager should have been informed because this has certainly tainted our view on eating there in the future in fact we avoided eating there on the saturday for this reason.
I would like to think this was a one off and that the management would certainly prevent it happening again, we shall return on our next visit in the hope that is the case.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank blackcountrymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your comments we are sorry that your latest visit was not satisfactory. I have discussed your comments with all members of the kitchen team, to ensure that no-one receives sub standard meals, regardless of when they order. At the time had we known you were unhappy we would have offered to replace the meals immediately. We are pleased that you say this will not put you off returning to the talbot and we are sure we can restore your faith in us on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

First time stay.was impressed with staff and service but disappointed with room quality.although spacious and comfy it was tired and in need of a revamp.it was clean but being dated gives the impression of a dss hotel.being in a prime position in the city it would benefit from a refit .would gladly pay 80 pounds per person if in better condition.not complaining about price of room that was ok.it could be so much better with a lick of paint and new decor.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank-you for your review and your comments regarding the team I will pass them on. Ye Olde Talbot underwent a refurbishment in 2011 and we are looking to freshen up certain areas of the hotel over the next few months, we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I booked in to Ye Olde Talbot for a weekend in mid November. This was to meet up with an old friend and enjoy the locality (more specifically to try out the local real ale pubs!).
Our initial welcome was efficient and friendly. The single rooms were comfortable and reasonably spacious and located in the quieter side of the building away from the main road. The bed was comfy and as it was quiet outside I was able to keep my window open and enjoy fresh air . The room was quite warm in itself. After a few quality local beers a good couple of nights sleep was enjoyed and followed by a very nice breakfast which was chosen from a menu. There are varieties of cereals, yoghurts and croissants etc also available to help oneself to. We found the service to be very nice and the staff appeared as happy and smiling. The location is perfect for exploring the city and not too far from the railway station. The hotel has a public bar and restaurant which looked quite busy and we ventured a couple of pints in there. I/we would definitely come back here and to Worcester which we found to be a welcoming and friendly city and with all the pubs and beers we could have wished for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binny61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank-you for your comments we are pleased you enjoyed our range of traditional ales and breakfast we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

spent a couple of nights here recently and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. ideally situated for the shops and bars and even though they have no parking there is a NCP next door and you only pay half. the rooms are clean but some areas do need a bit of TLC, it can be a little noisy from the kitchens mainly in the mornings but that is a minor gripe. the breakfasts were nice and tasty, the staff very pleasant although Sunday morning was very busy and the poor lad was being run ragged, note to the manager, maybe more staff on a busy Sunday morning? it did not put us off though and i would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank-you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed breakfast and we will look at our staffing levels to ensure we have enough team members on during busy periods

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worcester
730 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worcester
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Talbot

Address: Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: $74 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Talbot 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ye Olde Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Talbot Worcester
Ye Olde Talbot Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing