We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ye Olde Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ye Olde Talbot
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
poole
Level Contributor
178 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is conveniently situated about a male from foregate station at the end of the high street. It's about 6 mins by taxi around the one way system at £8 if you don't want to walk. First class breakfast served by an very friendly red haired lady chef. Staff as a whole excellent. I stayed in room 30 on ground floor and it was close to the street and noisy at times. Room is perfectly adequate but dated. It has iron and board in room. Breakfast was Included for £60 per night from hotel.com

Room Tip: Street side can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
thank-you for your comments I will pass them onto the breakfast chef who will be glad to hear you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    233
    136
    55
    32
See reviews for
63
245
45
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked in to stay here on a Friday evening and the room was excellent, shower very powerful and nicely decorated and clean. More than just one cup of tea could be made too which was good.

We booked into their restaurant for the grill night and treated ourselves to a rib eye steak and fillet steak both were cooked to medium rare perfection. We also had the trio of puds too but they beat us! Very tasty.

It was very busy so I would advise to book as we did.

We also had a super breakfast in the morning and felt the whole stay had been excellent value for money.

The guy on reception was fun and very cheery - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaLouisePemberleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
than-you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our stay at the Talbot was very good, close to the centre of Worcester, warm cosy room and excellent breakfast. The Staff are friendly and we ate in the bar one night and food was good value. Great place to stay in Worcester.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

our night in Worcester was made all the better for staying at the Talbot comfortable room tea &coffee facility lovely warm room& bathroom on a cool night , next morning the breakfast was a joy me full English the special one had scrambled eggs&smoked salmon we will return .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevortraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank-you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your comments on to th breakfast chef who will be delighted to know you enjoyed your breakfast, we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Have stayed at Ye Olde Talbot several times and would certainly stay again. Being a frequent visitor to Worcester this hotel is always the first one I look up for availability and if there is availability I book. The staff are extremely friendly in the hotel reception and the bar. The bar is a very pleasant place to have a few drinks and food, which is also good. If you stay the breakfasts are more than acceptable, I seem to remember very nice bread being used for the toast for my poached egg. Pleasant, central location just by the wonderful cathedral and attractive Friar Street. The only reason I have given four stars instead of five is that the rooms could do with a bit of an update, bathroom fixtures and all that but this would not stop me staying here as the rooms are clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank-you for your review. We are pleased to know we are your number one choice in Worcester and look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. The room was comfortable although could do with some redecoration. I was a bit worried about the access to the bar and needing to lock the door to the rooms (to stop non-guests from accessing the rooms upstairs) but those fears proved groundless. Was much quieter than I expected and we got a good nights sleep. The next morning breakfast was very busy and we waited too long for our breakfast to arrive. The staff were just a bit overwhelmed and were doing their best to deal with the food and to keep up updated.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank watty-rugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank-you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

staff at the hotel were excellent, helpful and considerate. The food was extremely good as was the service throughout, our room was clean and comfortable, and despite its location we found the traffic noise to be quite minimal.Ideally located for a stroll along the river or the high street. Well worth a visit if you are in the area

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank-you for your comments I will pass them on to all the staff who will be pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Talbot

Property: Ye Olde Talbot
Address: Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Talbot 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ye Olde Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Talbot Worcester
Ye Olde Talbot Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing