We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay for a night out in Worcester.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ye Olde Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ye Olde Talbot
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Overnight stay for a night out in Worcester.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Cannot fault this hotel. Incredibly cheap at £59 for a double room and breakfast on a Saturday night. The room was large and nicely decorated with a good bathroom. The double bed was comfortable, which made a nice change. The location of the hotel was excellent, right across from Nandos and Vue cinema on Friar Street which was perfect for where we wanted to go on our night out. In the morning the breakfast was really good with plenty to choose from. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sage_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    233
    136
    55
    32
See reviews for
63
245
45
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed one night only in a twin room with my brother.room was small but more than met our needs.room and bathroom clean, bed comfortable.room very warm but secondary glazing could be opened.shower exceptionaly powerful.staff very young but able,polite and willing to help.service in dining room was slow but good and unobtrusive.steaks cooked well and as requested.overall for the price, was impressed. Bar was comfortable and busy.good choice and reasonably priced. Breakfast was excellent with cereals,danish pastries and selection of cooked items also.all in all for £49 B&B excellent rate.central location with NCP garage immeidiatly behind hotel.cost £10 for overnight stay from 16:00 until 12:00. Excellent VFM.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldasacoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank-you for your review I will pass your comments on to all the team who love hearing our guests have had a great time. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for the Worcester Beer Festival last August 2012 (sorry for the delay!).
Since my previous stay the whole place has been renovated to a high standard, which was needed!
Still nice friendly staff and a good breakfast.
Pub part is good, good selection of beer although a few local ones would be nice.
Had a twin room overlooking the courtyard, which can be a bit noisy, but couldn't hear the traffic which many complain about.
One minor issue was the room was roasting hot (I think it's located over the cold storage unit), but a fan was supplied and in the Autumn/Winter the room would be nice and toasty.
Still my preferred place to stay in Worcester for price, location and ease.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorcesterExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great hotel for the price, decent sized rooms and a great breakfast to be had. Parking available overnight at the adjacent NCP car park for £6.30 (make sure you get your ticket stamped at reception to get this price)

Lively bar which gets busy at times, good for a couple of drinks before bed. Friendly and helpful staff. Generally a good all round decent little hotel to stay.

OK, about the noise!

The hotel is located on a corner by a busy road, but traffic noise is barely noticeable. The main problem stems from the refuse collection truck that turns up between 6am and 7am each morning to empty large rubbish skips from businesses along the street. They do make a terrible din for about 5 minutes, but then they are gone... Not the hotels fault, they need to address this with Worcester City council!

Can be annoying but did not spoil our stay, this hotel is after all in the middle of the city and not located on a desert island!

If you are visiting Worcester to see the city the location is perfect, only 100 meters from the cathedral and main shopping area.

Room Tip: I hear they have a four poster room! Rooms away from the frontage will be quiter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJohn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
All of us at the Ye olde Talbot are glad you had a good time and we thank you for leaving your feedback the staff love to read reviews like this.
We have contacted the council about the bin lorries and are awaiting a response .
Thank you for leaving your feedback and we hop to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice hotel in the city centre, ideal for the cathedral and all shops. Excellent friendly and efficient service at reception and the pub itself is really inviting and well laid out. Our room was fairly basic but clean and decent size, comfortable bed. Large choice at breakfast, quickly prepared and good quality (and available up to 12.00 which was great) . If you park in the NCP car park next door overnight it costs £10 for up to 24 hours but get your ticket stamped in the hotel reception and it drops to £6.30
Unlike some other reviews our room was very quiet so we got a good night's sleep. It's not the best hotel you'll ever stay at but at £49 (Sunday night) it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunderbird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback about the Ye Olde Talbot Hotel
The staff here work very hard to provide excellent service and look after our guests so they love to read reviews like this.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a 2 night stay, discounted thanks to an online offer. We were made welcome from the beginning, the room was comfortable and clean, with all facilities. We had all drinks and food at the hotel for the duration of our stay and were served well, with lovely food, throughout. The bar we found very comfortable! It's central to the sights and shops of Worcester and parking was made easy. We would recommend this hotel to all and have plans to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback for the Ye olde Talbot Hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from a two night break at The Olde Talbot. This is the second time we have stayed here and this time was just a good as the previous stay a year ago. The check in was very efficient and we we informed about everything we needed to know. We asked for a room with wifi, as the last time the signal wasn't too good in the room. They checked us in to room 29 which is near to the office so the signal was no problem. The bed was comfy and room fine. The bathroom was ok but some people might say it could do with a refurb, but we had no reason to complain. The shower was very powerful and towels thick and fluffy. The breakfast was superb, full english, kippers or other alternatives along with fresh fruit, toast, croissants, with tea or coffee brought to your table. The staff were very attentive and helpful. We only had a snack in the evening in the pub so can't comment on the food there, but it looked a popular place.
The parking was chargeable in the adjoining NCP which the hotel discounted for guests at £7.00 a night, so not too bad for city centre parking.
We got a great deal with Olde English Inns and paid £20 a night for staying two nights bed and breakfast, this is a lot cheaper than the nearby Travelodge who were charging £39.80 per night room only. So no comparison there.
We would thoroughly recommend the Olde Talbot for a short stay on Worcester and will most probably stay again if we can get a similar deal. It is brilliantly situated for the city centre shops and there are restaurants galore to choose from within walking distance, as well as two cinemas closeby. It's so nice to park up the car for a couple of days and walk around for a change.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, then ask for a room close to the office. For less noise from the road, ask for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Ye Olde Talbot
Thank you for taking the time to review us I will pass on your comments to our staff as they love to hear when they are getting it right
we are looking into revamping the bathrooms to update them.
Thank you again for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Talbot

Property: Ye Olde Talbot
Address: Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Talbot 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ye Olde Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Talbot Worcester
Ye Olde Talbot Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing