We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming inn in the heart of Worcester”
Review of Ye Olde Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ye Olde Talbot
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A charming inn in the heart of Worcester”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Ye Olde Talbot is a charming inn right in the heart of Worcester. While not perfect, this historic inn offers great value and great food for travelers wanting to stay in the heart of Worcester.

On the upside, the Talbot is in a great location – just opposite Worcester’s beautiful cathedral and just beyond the end of the pedestrian center and the end of High Street. The hotel’s small staff was both pleasant and professional. My single room was – for a European hotel – spacious, ditto the bathroom. The food – both dinner and breakfast – was very good – a good selection, well prepared and served efficiently and pleasantly.

On the downside, the Talbot does not have an elevator and the stairs leading up to the upstairs rooms are a bit steep. I was traveling light on this trip, so that wasn’t a serious problem; however, I would not have wanted to tackle them with a suitcase. The other downside is that most visitors are directed to enter through the old carriage entrance on College Street – where the smokers sit. Ugh! After entering this way on several occasions, I discovered there was another entrance by the reception desk on Friar Street.

If you’re traveling to Worcester by train, the Talbot is your best choice – located within walking distance of Worcester’s Foregate Street Station and across from the city’s greatest attraction, its cathedral – the Talbot offers travelers pleasant rooms and good food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripSavvy-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    234
    136
    57
    32
See reviews for
63
246
46
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in Ye Olde Talbot on a Friday and Saturday night, and treated ourselves to the four poster room. However my first impression of the room was that the floor was sloping quite significantly! As the building is very old I guess this is part of the charm, and once I got used to it it was fine, but it made me feel a little dizzy at first. The room itself was nice with a comfortable bed, good lighting and a nice clean bathroom with a good shower. The decor was a little dated but again it fits with the old-fashioned charm. There was all the usual amenities (tea/coffee making facilities, tv etc) although the tv signal wasn't great. The windows have double glazing but we did have them open because it was warm, which meant that we woke early on Saturday morning due to the rubbish collection lorry. Sunday morning was quieter though and we had a lovely sleep!

Considering the emphasis they seem to put on service, the check in experience was not particulary welcoming, but efficient enough. Breakfast was very tasty with plenty of options to choose from, and cooked to order.

One point to note is that reception is not open 24 hours - not a problem for us but worth bearing in mind if you intend to check in late, also you have to keep your keys with you when going out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank br0wn0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I love the idea of this chain of Old English Inns, although the reality wasn't quite as idyllic as I'd imagined. Other than in the breakfast room and courtyard, there was little evidence of genuine period charm. The decor throughout errs towards heavy reliance on BHS, and upkeep was less than meticulous. Having said that, the bed was comfortable, the shower hot and powerful, and everything adequately clean.

The mixed picture continues with everything else. The location was great; on picturesque, historic Friar Street - a hop, skip and a jump away from the cathedral, Guildhall, high street and everything else of interest in this pleasant, but unexciting, city. But if you're staying there on a summer's Saturday night, with the windows open, expect the sounds of late-night revelry to potentially disrupt your sleep. Sunday night is quieter, but that's before you get woken up at 7am on Monday morning by the booming cacophony of binmen emptying the street's refuse.

Foodwise, breakfast was great. Good-quality bacon and sausages, excellent toast, robust filter coffee: a cracking start to the day. We returned to the ground-floor pub later for desserts. These were disappointing. White chocolate and pistachio cheesecake on a cardamom crumb base sounds delicious but just tasted of generic baked vanilla cheesecake, and not a very good one at that. Three scoops of ice cream came with one of the requested flavours missing, substituted for two scoops of the same flavour, while the clotted-cream ice cream was crystalline, a sign of having been thawed and then refrozen (a recurrent problem in Worcester, we later discovered).

Another downside to the hotel was the lack of BBC channels in our room. The TV had Freeview, but all the available channels had some interference and there were no BBC channels at all. And no news channels either, except for one; if you fancy getting your news from the little-known channel Russia Today (in English), then this is the place for you.

Yet for all the criticism above, if I were to go back to Worcester I'd probably stay here again. Partly this is to do with the lack of appealing competition in this, a city of lacklustre eating and sleeping options. But credit where credit's due: the hotel's location is perfect, the room's price represents excellent value for money and finally, the service from all the staff was excellent. They were friendly, hard-working, helpful and eager to please - and this more than makes up for any shortfalls elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acquiescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Great central location in Worcester's historic centre, close to pubs, restaurants, shops and major tourist sites.

Friendly staff, nice pub, Greene King beer, nice restaurant (only used for breakfast which was good and plentiful).

No onsite parking, but staff explained that they give a 50% to the NCP (expensive) car park next door, which would have been nice to know beforehand, maybe they need to put that on their website.

Can be quite noisey due to it's location.

Rooms very out dated and the bathroom required a better clean (bath also had a chip in it, but the shower was excellent). That said the local newspaper reported that the hotel was going to undergo a refrubishment in October, so hopefully the rooms and bathrooms will be improved.

£70 a night for a twin room did feel slightly expensive due to the condition of the room and bathroom, but still reasonable compared to other Worcester city centre hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road if you don't like traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorcesterExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ye Old Talbot or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

What a find! Please ignore all the negative comments there are more positives than minuses. Staff extremely pleasant and hardworking. We were in the new part of the hotel and the rooms were beautiful, bed and linen spotless, towels fab and the power showers excellent with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was delicious with an excellent choice of everything. We had 2 meals for £10.45 in the evening and was exceptional value for money. The hotel was on the edge of town 2 min walk plus the cathedral was opposite. PARKING was 2 mins opposite and cost £6 a day and has cctv. Will definately be comin back when the next race meeting is on. Well done Joe and Staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel i think they are bigger and quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LARKY24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The staff were pleasant, but the main entrance was filthy with fag ends and requires running the gauntlet of people smoking outside the bar - not good for someone with asthma problems like me. This area was not cleaned overnight either - really, this isn't on. And no, it wasn't possible to avoid it, because this is the way into the restaurant. The room we were allocated was right over this entrance, again a problem for us asthma sufferers when windows have to be open because it's sunny & hot. We were moved efficiently and pleasant, although the bathroom of the room we were moved to was fairly grim & needs gutting. No, I wouldn't stay again, nor recommend the place to anyone, until the smoking problem is sorted out. Is this a hotel or a bar with smokers & fag-ends outside? Please make up your mind!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onthou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at Ye Olde Talbot. I am glad you have taken the time to highlight a few issues with our smoking solution. Due to our location and the lay-out of the Hotel there is only one area in which customers may smoke. All guests are invited to smoke in the courtyard area as to not be stood outside the main entrance on the main road. Currently this area is swept every morning by the breakfast staff. Taking your comments into consideration there may be an opportunity for this to be completed first thing, as to eliminate any morning guests seeing the mess that our evening customers sometimes leave. It's nice to hear that the staff handled your requests efficiently during your stay. There is a route from the bedrooms that brings you directly into the restaurant that avoids the courtyard area altogether, which could have been explained to you at the time. We welcome all comments, as it only through constructive comments that we can improve our service going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I stayed here on for 3 nights on Business. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The highlight was the breakfast. This was not the usual mass produced breakfast fare, but actually had flavour. Yes, I know it'll have been purchased in bulk, but to have a breakfast sausage that had taste and wasn't grey inside was a treat!

The pub food was as expected and on the better side of things for chain pub food. However, another positive was that there was no tray charge for room service. I had quite a bit of work to do, so was able to eat in my room with paying a premium.

Wifi was free in the room and very reliable. The Laptop got in very easily. My iPhone was a bit more of a challenge, but more to do with Apple than the WiFi.

I have stayed in bigger, much more expensive chains that could learn from the Green King Chain.

The down sides? Well the decor is a little jaded, to be honest, and there is no on site carpark. There is plenty of parking with a 5 minute walk though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheldonUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ye old Talbot or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#3 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Talbot

Property: Ye Olde Talbot
Address: Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Talbot 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ye Olde Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Talbot Worcester
Ye Olde Talbot Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing