We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fownes Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked a one night stay with Groupon and thought fot £39 bed and breakfast it was good value. We didn't pay for car parking, it was free, had a quiet room over looking the courtyard, good central location, even managed the 5 minute walk into the town centre in heels it was that easy! Staff very friendly and helpful even though they were thin on the ground, it was a quiet Thursday evening though.Plus sides for room: plenty of space, good sized bed, possibly kingsized, clean towels and linen, everything in working order and room seemed clean enough, very very dated hairdryer on the wall in the bathroom not quite sure how anyone could actually dry their hair with it! Kettle wasn't the best but it boiled water. Overall...
Decor of room and hotel in need of some TLC
Bathroom very tired looking
I wasnt impressed with the buffet breakfast myself; eggs rubbery and had to ask for fresh,food had obviously been sitting for a while.Although I left my breakfast my boyfriend ate his and thought it ok, guess sometimes its just down to personal choice. Breakfast staff were polite enough.
If we had paid the full rate for this hotel we would have been thoroughly disappointed but for what we paid we couldn't complain. Lots of very good eating and drinking places with good meal deals ( we chose to eat out rather than the hotel restaurant as we prefer to do this so can't comment on the hotel restaurant. We had a couple of drinks in a bar called The conservatory, very nice, serves food till 3pm everyday and althogh we didn't eat there food looked lovely. Also recommend a pub called The Port Talbot, again nice food, good meal deals, nice atomsphere. Evening meal was at a chinese restaurant called Chung Ying Garden thoroughly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 747 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

After the other reviews I was a bit nervous. I was using a groupon voucher which was a gift from a friend. We were given a room on the first floor in the middle overlooking the courtyard. Very clean, comfortable and warm room. No complaints. Breakfast was plentiful, lots of choice. Yes the furnishings are tired and well worn, but I like shabby chic, and you get what you pay for at the end of the day. I feel that as the tea/coffee/biscuits and toiletries mentioned by others are complimentary we should not moan about them really. The staff were very friendly and accomodating.

Room Tip: Front room face dual carriageway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyBWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed one night a gift from a relative. Room clean,though we were on the front and the secondary double glazing did not block out the traffic noise. Had a good meal in the restaurant though lacked any atmosphere. Breakfast buffet was poor,lack of staff and those that were on duty spent time laying tabels not clearing them and failed to replenish food. The £5 carpark charges for 24hrs are excesive, we wont be returning.

Room Tip: Aviod rooms that face on to front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on a quiet Sunday and checked in fine. The car park seems to be run by a professional parking company so it's important to know your exact reg when you check in ( or you could get a 100 pound fine!).

You are also charged for booking with a credit card but you can opt to use a debit card instead.

I think staffing levels must have been quite low as I was unable to raise room service so opted to go out for food locally instead (although they do have a restaurant on site too).

My room was clean and had a nice view of the courtyard but was lacking a safe.

Overall a nice place to stop off if travelling through.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Aesthetically this hotel may look lovely but
The lack of cleanliness proved staff were not doing their job, supervisors or managers were not doing theirs either and customers were left wanting.
We were told 1 pack of biscuits for a couple staying one night and 4 pots of milk (12ml each) was all that was given to everyone when we asked for more teabags given to us reluctantly. No water or glasses provided. A filthy kettle replaced by another broken kettle, pictures were taken of everything and a bath plug hole that rested in for the first night in our week stay in Worcester, NOT having a shower but a wash in the dark as no heavy curtains were in the bathroom! NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCRevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My friend and I stayed on a Groupon deal and was very impressed with the Hotel. The staff very helpfull and friendly. We had a 3 course evening meal which was very good and excellent value includes a free bottle of house wine which was very smooth..The breakfast was excellent especially the bacon. Our room was very clean and quite we had everthing we required. We wanted to check out the town centre which was 5 mins walk or £3.50 in a taxi we had very high heels on !. We had an amazing stay and would reccomend this Hotel to anyone. We did not have to pay anything for the CAR PARK.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking on to the Courtyard they are very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed as a couple on a groupon. Charged five pounds for the car park even though it clearly states parking is free for residents. The room was dated but reasonably clean and tidy, Waited over thirty minutes to be seated for breakfast, but food good and plenty of it. Staff very helpful. Location good for a short walk into the centre of Worcester. Good value for £39.00 groupon but we wouldn't be happy to pay advertised price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 12 in Worcester
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
4 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fownes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fownes Hotel

Address: City Walls Road, Worcester WR1 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: $60 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fownes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fownes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fownes Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing