We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Hotel”
Review of Fownes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fownes Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Worcester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I dont always leave reviews, but I think after eading reviews about this Hotel, I thought I'd let off a bit of steam.
There are some really nasty reviews regarding this Hotel. Its not 5 star so why are people rating it as if it was? If you want a 5 star modern contempory hotel then go and find one! The staff here are very friendly and HAPPY which is more than I can say about some places that I have stayed in! Its people like the ones giving this hotel bad reviews that makes others not stay. Its a Traditional Hotel with traditional features. The bedrooms are comfortable and clean, with large wardrobes, flat screen TV, table and chairs, bedside tables with large lamps, tea/coffee making facilities and a large clean bathroom.... what more do customers need? Yes it has a few flaws, so what? We are in the middle of a recession and these places cannot afford to constantly refurbish rooms! People who leave awful reviews via Trip advisor are slowing ruining these businesses.
My Mother is currently staying here with her friend and they love it here. The food is very good and the Hotel is positioned right next to the Town Centre, The Cathedral and the River Severn.
So my advise is... ignore bad reviews - make your own opinion, You cant please eveyone all of the time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guesty64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    202
    153
    115
    98
See reviews for
72
261
33
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Used the Fownes hotel for a business stay in the city of Worcester. Location and parking are great. On arrival the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. My room was spacious, clean and welcoming though as for the whole hotel a bit dated.
Had an evening meal the first night, was fairly awful, over cooked and lacked taste. The wine selection is a joke, chardonnay and a warm sauvignon (staff literally got the bottle out a box).
Breakfast was fine, though staff serving particulalrly seemed unhappy and were very unhelpful. we were not offered hot drinks, no glasses for the juice etc..
meal better on the 2nd night and the evening waitress was helpful and friendly in her approach.

Shower height could be an issue if you were of any height, and the hairdryer is a laugh - an old fashioned swimming pool wall mounted type - ladies - you MUST take a travel dryer..

Overall an average hotel to stay in, rooms are large and accomodarting, reception staff are very friendly as are some of the waitressing staff. Drink selection limited and hotel as a whole tired and in definate need of a re-vamp.

Room Tip: I stayed in a standard room, and this was absolutley fine. The suites appear noce and have extra spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen19675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, the hotel is friendly, clean but the rooms are very dated and I didn't feel the price was very reasonable. The food wad good, there is a nice bar which is very quiet (no music or atmosphere) great location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jumping55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked into this hotel for two nights on our way from Manchester to Cornwall. If we hadn't of prepaid I woundn;t have stayed the second night. We went to dinner on the Sunday night ordered the fish and chips only to find the fish was rancid and definately well and truly off. The room was small and dated, the television didn't work properly and the internet, which we had to pay for, went down. Would not reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Worcester hotels

Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed over the whole bank holiday weekend...room was very clean with ample tea/coffee etc..breakfast was as others have said plenty to choose from and all well prepared..dinner was excellent...staff very pleasant..surrounding grounds were very clean and tidy..free parking was a great feature as the cathedral and shopping only a 5 min walk..really glad i wasnt put off by other feedback and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed at the fownes hotel for just the one night during the very busy bank holiday weekend, and I must say after reading some of the previous comments on here that I was a little worried about the stay. The hotel however proved the comments wrong! The room that I stayed in was comfortable, clean and wasn't as dated as I assumed from other comments, quite the opposite with what appeared to be new carpets and a large flat screened television with a small comfortable seating area. The bed was very comfortable with proper duvets and extra blankets were available if required. My only criticism was that due to a wedding reception the noise from the disco was very loud, but this did finish before midnight.

The buffet breakfast provided was also very good with lots of choice, both continental and full english options were available. The staff at the hotel seemed friendly, especially the receptionist who checked us in on the Saturday afternoon.

The location of the hotel is ideal with free parking for guests and just a few minutes walk into the centre of Worcester. I would recommend this hotel for anyone requiring a city centre stay and can honestly say I'm glad I didn't ignore staying at this hotel just because of reading some of the reviews on here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

just spent the last two nights at fownes and found it a very good hotel ideally situated near to the city centre. The room was large and well appointed though the tv was a little out of date and only received 5 channels, though we were not there to watch tv. The breakfast was nice on the Sunday morning however on Monday morning it was poor. There was no juice of any sorts left and there were just remnants of the buffet. The waitress informed us that the kitchen staff were about to restock the dishes, however that took about 5minutes and even then there were no fried eggs my wife had to wait an extra 5 minutes for them to arrive! We didn't have evening meal there so we cannot comment on it but overall a nice stay and i would go there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fownes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fownes Hotel

Property: Fownes Hotel
Address: City Walls Road, Worcester WR1 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fownes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Fownes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fownes Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing