We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Quality Chinese Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chung Ying Garden

Chung Ying Garden
Ranked #19 of 335 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $46
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top Quality Chinese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I can't say anything bad about this restaurant. The staff are lovely, smiling and happy, the food is wonderful. In fact on several occasions when I have been staying alone in Worcester I have just had to get a takeaway from the Chung Ying Garden. The portions are generous, the food is delicious. Even the fish in the tank by the door are friendly! I will return to the Chung Ying Garden time and time again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzyB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    53
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst experience in a restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

After walking into the restaurant and waiting for 10 minutes to be seated despite being seen, and ignored, by several members of staff my mood was not good.
After being seated and given menus we were left for a further 20 minutes with no drinks or food order taken.
A couple were seated next to us and served drinks and their food order was taken while we were still not acknowledged by anyone.
After a further 10 minutes waiting to be served we finally gave up and walked out.
No one stopped us leave.
Overall a terrible experience and one which has caused me to rate this place the worst I have ever rated a restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service to match the always excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Chung Ying Gardens a couple of times and always had an excellent meal but our latest one definitely surpassed the rest. The staff were excellent and really attentive. They seemed to take a genuine interest in their customers & took pleasure in serving them. We had a lovely selection of starters (would definitely recommend the prawn & chive dim sum) and the quality of the beef and duck we had for our main courses was excellent. Presentation was lovely too. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleScampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fab Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Surprisingly as locals, this was the first time we have visited this restaurant and we will definitely return. The crispy duck and fillet steak dishes were superb. The wine wasn't cheap but there was a good list and the one we chose was nice (Malbec). We visited over the bank holiday weekend and the restaurant was busy with a good atmosphere - slightly ruined by a table who loudly decided to argue with the waitress over their bill, she was visibly upset and as their behaviour was so rude she threatened to call the police. Thankfully they quickly left and they didn't seem the type who would eat out often! I would recommend this restaurant to all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VFWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good honest food at a decent price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I cant believe I`ve not been before, however several friends have now said how good it is.
Great sea bass and the sizzling steak was well received too.
Good size portions and I thought good value
A large selection to chose from and we`ll be back to sample more.
Staff are attentive but not pushy

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davey_G505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chung Ying Garden also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Chung Ying Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing