We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, peaceful stay, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Henwick House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 31 Worcester B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful stay, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for a weekend as part of a wedding we attended at Stanbrook Abbey, it's really a perfect location for the Abbey, just 10 minutes walk down a quiet lane, but take a torch as it gets very dark!

The B&B had another booking for the wedding and thoughtfully put us next to each other, in the little log cabins round the back. Us girls had a great time painting our nails together sat outside!

The room itself was very well furnished and comfortable. It was a scorching hot weekend but the windows were open on our arrival, and there was an electric fan in the room, so we weren't too hot. The only minor gripe with the room was that there was only a shower and no bath. As we'd paid for a superior room a bath would have been nice.

I'd been quite apprehensive of the owners after reading other reviews, but need not have worried. They were polite, friendly, and very hospitable.

My other minor gripe is that as a B&B breakfast should really be included in the price - for 2 adults across the weekend this was £30 extra, which is a fair whack on top of our weekend. But breakfast was great - plenty of choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurts, toast, and an amazing full English cooked to order, and cooked so perfectly - not dripping with grease like so many other places!

If we were back in the area again I would not hesitate to come back and stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    27
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
48
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were a party of 4 couples going to a wedding at the nearby Stanbrook Abbey, just a stones throw from Henwick House. We arrived around 4.45 on the Friday and were shown to a selection of really comfortable rooms, which were all pristine with lovely white towels and bed clothes, we were all very pleased.Next morning we arrived in the dinning room to breakfast which would accommodate everyone's taste, with more if required. There is a very pleasant large garden with a summerhouse and patio areas to sit and drink. All in all we spent a really pleasant couple of days. We hope to return.

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet, and have views across the countryside. all rooms come complete with corkscrew!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaphneWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a case of better marketing (website) than the place deserves. Looking at their material, one is led to expect rooms in a pleasant country house. Instead, we were placed in what can best be described as a prefab garage. In fairness, we told the host we would prefer not to climb a lot of stairs, but we would have had better accommodation in the local equivalent of a Motel 6. It also seemed to us that they had built another strip of 4 or 5 garage-like rooms across the road, filled with more permanent guests, and we were warned not to venture over there because of the dogs.

This would have been tolerable except for a hostess who was either too tired, stressed out by B&B ownership, or just disinterested to provide anything resembling hospitality. A minimal (and miniscule) common lounge added to the feeling that they would have been happier without us.

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise, served hot and quickly by the husband (or male half of the couple), who seemed much more interested in the B&B business than the lady.

I would neither repeat nor recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a warm welcome on arrival on 30th May 2013, owners could not be more helpful. However, thing drastically changed for breakfast. My mother and partner were both served mouldy bread with their breakfast. The bread what changed and was abruptly told that this is now fresh bread. It was bread that had been taken from the freezer and microwaved to thaw. Due to the debacle with breakfast my partner's breakfast was late, she is diabetic which caused her sugars to be out all day and we had a wedding to attend that day and my partner was not well due to poor service. When myself and partner and parents arrived back from the wedding, my dad parked in an available space (after being told on arrival to park anywhere). Myself and partner were rudely awoken by female owner asking if the car was ours, I said it was my dad's, so she went to wake them. She proceeded to wake my dad asking him to move the car (this is at about 11pm). My dad agreed to move car and got dressed. Whilst walking out to the car my dad asked the owner why he needed to move as had be told to park anywhere, the female owner did not respond but a load of abuse was shouted from a balcony by the male owner shouting "[--] guests think they own the [--] place". My dad is 78 years young and disabled, this affected him so he did not sleep all night, and we all left early in the morning whilst being blanked by the owners without breakfast (not that we would want to try that again). Such a lovely place a real shame about the owners, not suited to this trade. Don't go unless you like off food and to be shouted at for no reason!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mark1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were going to the beef expo 2013 at Malvern show ground. What an exquisite place. We had the superior log cabin in the garden, it was spotlessly clean & very, very comfortable. We loved that it was so quiet. The other 2 people had 2 single rooms in the house & their opinion was the same as ours. Breakfast was very filling & very tasty. Our hosts were very friendly & hospitable. Ideal location if you are visiting the show ground. The pub in the village is very good, with great food & a lovely landlady (Sue). Would thoroghly recommend & will be definately coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nixnsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

A little off the beaten track just outside Worcester at the start of Callow End, but quite easy to find, just be aware there is no signpost marking the property, just a discreet brown sign with B&B written on it hidden behind lots of greenery. The lady of the house is a female 'Basil Fawlty, in the making, but her husband does make up for her dour character with a friendly smile and a great breakfast, very attentive gentleman. Rooms are clean and well equipped with TV, complimentary tea and coffee. Yes she has put lots of 'DO NOT' signs up and manages the parking with an Iron fist, but I can not really say it bothered us, after all we can't all be happy, some of us have B&B's to run after all! Would stay here again and whilst not the cheapest not bad for the price. Cybil, Cybil.... Where zee bill? :))

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrJohn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I can't quite put my finger on what was wrong here for me.

The room was in a log cabin in the garden, had I been alone, which I frequently am, I would have felt uncomfortable staying there. The room was clean, the tea and coffee making facilities had an excellent choice, there was a fridge in the room, there was a sofa to relax on. The bed wasn't terribly comfortable, the bedding was not of particularly good quality and the shower room was tiny though adequate.

The room was littered with notices saying "don't do this and don't do that", breakfast - which was excellent and cooked to order - was only available from 7.30 to 8.30; it kind of left me feeling that this doesn't really fit with my idea of "hospitality business" and that I was a necessary inconvenience.

I thought it was expensive for what was on offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awayagainDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
3.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.6 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
3.1 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.4 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henwick House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henwick House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Henwick House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Henwick House Jennett Tree Lane | Callow End, Worcester WR2 4UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Getaway. Welcome to Henwick House Bed & Breakfast in Callow End. Nestling on the side of the Old Hills overlooking the Historic town of Worcester and with dramatic views to the Malvern Hills. Henwick House offers a traditional Bed & Breakfast serving both a Full English and Continental Breakfast. All rooms are en-suite with their own televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and centrally heated with some suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Henwick House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henwick House Hotel Worcester
Henwick House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing