We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Henwick House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 28 Worcester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Accomodation set in lovely area overlooking the Malverns. Very casual and friendly staff, who were very helpful. Did not have breakfast as had a early start but the smell from the kitchen, when I passed, made me very hungry.

Room Tip: Although travelling on my own, had a twin bedded room. This would have been small for two people...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyj_morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Henwick House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

The house is very nice and the room we had was fine, but as you can see in other reviews here, your stay can be tainted by the attitude of the landlady. My son booked this for me as a treat, and it isn't the easiest place to find; something saying 'Henwick House' on the main road rather than just 'B&B' would be helpful.
I didn't know whether my son had already paid, so I asked and had to pay myself. It later turned out that he had paid. He rang to explain when we were all out the next evening, and then at breakfast next day, nothing was mentioned and we were leaving early, so I said that there seemed to be an error and we had paid twice...."No you didn't" was the response with any apology totally absent in words or tone. The argument was that they had not immediately charged his card so it was fine to take cash from me! I did get my cash already prepared in an envelope but I did get it think that it was all my fault.
When we first arrived we asked about times for breakfast the next day. It didn't start until 8:30am and so we said that we would have to miss it as we needed to leave by that time. Kindly, the landlady offered to start breakfast at 8am so that we could have breakfast which was great. Unfortunately, the next morning she greeted us by complaining how getting up 30 minutes earlier was ruining her day and how hard it was for her 365 days a year. The gesture of preparing breakfast early for us was undermined further when we said we would have the full English. She knew we had to leave by 8:30 and said that it would take 20 minutes to prepare (she had spent the first 5 minutes since 8am opening up, etc) so we had to have just poached eggs.
The landlady is clearly not suited to the role of the welcoming host, and seems to begrudge guests interfering in her day, even when they have paid £70 for that privlege.

Room Tip: We had Room 5 which was nice only had patio doors on the ground floor and so no window to leave open...
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This B&B is slightly off the main tracks but is worth the extra patience needed to find it particularly if you arrive in the dark as we did! John and his wife are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice, not gourmet, but plentiful and made a good start to the day and is served in a pretty conservatory. The house itself is beautiful too and everything has clearly had a lot of thought put into, from the homemade cake pops in the rooms to the leaflets for your perusal in the sitting room. All around our stay was very good value coming to £27 per person including breakfast.

The only minor things that could have been better in our opinion were: the rooms at the top of the house were a little noisy at night in that we could hear others snoring; 2 of our party stayed in one of the twin bed 'lodges' outside which was very comfortable however a little cold at night. It was a particularly cold (and snowy) weekend however!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ldnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked this B&B via Booking.com at the last minute when we decided to go away for a night over the weekend, so were relying on other reviews. I was slightly hesitant because of some of the negative comments but have to say I'm really glad we went for it and am bemused at why anyone would have anything negative to say about this place? We received a warm welcome from John upon arrival and advised that we had been upgraded to one of their wooden lodges, which we were thrilled with. The lodge was completely detached from the main house so privacy was fantastic. The bed was HUGE and very comfortable, leather sofa, large plasma TV, handy little fridge and tea/coffee making area, plenty of storage and really nicely furnished. Ensuite shower room small but perfectly functional and immaculately clean. It was like a little love-shack for the night and was so cosy and warm and peaceful. Both hosts were very helpful with providing an iron and board when we asked and also gave us some good recommendations for local eating places. We decided to go with Paprika Indian restaurant on main road back to Malvern and were not disappointed. Full English breakfast in the main house/conservatory was plentiful and lovely local produce, perfectly cooked and presented, selection of cereals, yoghurts, juices, fruit, snack bars, etc. Lovely fresh coffee replenished freely by hosts. Really good location for Malvern Hills area and Three Counties Showground. For a B&B it is more than you could wish for. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the wooden lodges if you want that independant feel and privacy of having your own fr...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leabie_Langers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were swayed by the reviews, as business people we travel the country and have never come across such an in welcoming B and B , though B and B is a misnomer really as breakfast is charged at £7.95. On arrival were told, though politely we had to move our car as it was incorrectly parked, Mercedes parked in same spot following evening seemingly fine. There are signs everywhere, do not eat in OUR bedrooms, rooms will be checked and any stolen items charged for, no smoking on balcony, do not take coat hangers, fridge for bottled water not food etc etc. felt like a 1920 ,s guest house. A couple of other bewildering comments too. We were moved from the first twin room as it had no room, chairs, dressing table, window <(patio door only, not great when too warm during night). No where to put on make except in bathroom with hair dryer that didn't reach a mirror anywhere?

New room very nice, still no mirror/shelf arrangement and no wi-fi. We felt like naughty schoolchildren for the entire 4 days and a
We're glad to leave. If you look at our other reviews we do not usually have anything to complain about, but here, ohhh dear never again. Very very clean however.

We were moved

Room Tip: Don't have the twin down the stairs and outside has no wi fi
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank umeboshisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Really nice welcome, room was clean, a bit small, prob only suitable for a couple for one night or a single person for multiple nights.

All was fine. The breakfast was tasty and there was plenty of choice.

They have a deal with the local pub (The Blue Bell). You get 10% off your food bill. The evening meal was reasonably priced and the food was lovely, not to mention the land lady, she is really welcoming.

If I have to return I will book again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachel09York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here on two separate nights whilst travelling on business. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and well specified. Rooms were comfortable and peaceful. Owner was very helpful and welcoming. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worcester hotels
3.6 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
3.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worcester
730 reviews
7.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
592 reviews
3.1 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worcester
557 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henwick House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henwick House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Henwick House Jennett Tree Lane | Callow End, Worcester WR2 4UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Worcester
Price Range: $64 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Getaway. Welcome to Henwick House Bed & Breakfast in Callow End. Nestling on the side of the Old Hills overlooking the Historic town of Worcester and with dramatic views to the Malvern Hills. Henwick House offers a traditional Bed & Breakfast serving both a Full English and Continental Breakfast. All rooms are en-suite with their own televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and centrally heated with some suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Henwick House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henwick House Hotel Worcester
Henwick House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing