We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evening out with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of King Charles II

King Charles II
Ranked #3 of 339 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Evening out with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lively pub with friendly atmosphere and welcoming staff.
Good choice of beers and ciders, which can be sampled prior to buying.
Limited food choices but what they have got is good, the Ploughmans is particularly tasty with home cooked ham, chutney etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    95
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sadness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was looking forward to a superb meal at the King Charles as I had not been there for a couple of years and thought that I would treat my wife and myself to a cosy night out and very good food but thought to check opening times before booking, I found that King Charles had changed hands and has become a real ale pub and is no longer the top quality eating house that I remember "very sad". I would however wish the new owners very good luck in the future with their venture and the old owners a good retirement and a big thank you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EDWIN123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First visit, will return, but do staff need more training?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Would concur with previous reviewer. We popped in here last night for a quick drink after having a meal elsewhere. Decor lovely, reasonably busy, and staff friendly and served us quickly. Lots of Craddocks and Sadlers Ales. Hubby asked for recommendations for a dark ale, went with the recommendation, and found it was far from dark!!! I was also served a fruit beer in a pint glass - the half pint of beer looked a bit pitiful in a pint glass! To be fair, hubby was asked if he wanted to try any of the ales before he bought one, but he was happy to go with the recommendation.

Would return as there is such a great selection of ales and bottled beers/ciders, but do think staff need to be more informed and knowledgeable about the beers/ales they are selling.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcesterTabby8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They don't know the difference between cider and perry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I got a very mediocre cider but I ordered Perry! The staff don't seem to know the difference which is quite sad!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank beerseekeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, excellent food, excellent drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I try to go back here regularly. The staff are always friendly, the food (i've had the pie and mash, and the breakfast so far) is superb! Very high quality, at a decent price. The drink selection is very good, with a good supply of Craddocks and Sadlers ales, as well as a large stock of bottled beers/ciders (my favourite being Willy Sippit Cider).
Great atmosphere on top of it all, makes this a first class place to visit! Highly recommended for locals and for those visiting Worcester!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gormo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Charles II also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to King Charles II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing